Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Old Dec 13, 2008, 04:22 PM   #1
xcaliber84
macrumors newbie

MacBook Pro dual monitor options

Here's my dilemma, I am a film student and recently got a new MBP when I started classes. I have been doing a bit of research and am starting to run out of hope for finding a way to run dual monitors with the mini display port. Now i have heard about this matrox box that essentially stretches the desktop out, but I have also heard some not so good things about it as well. I was wondering if anyone here knew of any other way to run dual displays with a MBP? It just seems like Apple would realize that their users could really use this ability since the media industry is a major customer base of theirs. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers
xcaliber84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2008, 06:24 PM   #2
arjen92
macrumors 65816

display link

An article I read says something about displaylink. It's also for mac's. You get a box, on which you can attach a second screen (and mouse and keyboard, but those are optional). You put the other end of the box into your usb. So you use one usb port to attach another screen via displaylink. There is a "sd220v notebook docking station" made by kensington, " dynadock universal usb docking station" by toshiba, "syncmaster 94OUX" (or g40UX, I cant read the difference) from samsung. You probably need the beta driver form displaylink. You can get it from www.displaylink.com/mac

I would say, do your research, this is just a hint.

Good luck.
Old Dec 13, 2008, 10:53 PM   #3
ChemiosMurphy
macrumors 6502

Send a message via AIM to ChemiosMurphy
WAIT!!

First, congrats on getting into film school, I'm a film student at Drexel in Philadelphia.