Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:53 PM   #1
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
If you want to jailbreak, don't update to OSX 10.5.6

I read about this on TUAW. iPhone Ally is reporting that if you place the iPhone in DFU mode (similar to a restore mode), your iPhone will be unrecognized by a Mac running 10.5.6.

From TUAW:
"DFU mode is required to jailbreak your iPhone using many of the popular tools such as Pwnage or QuickPwn. So far there is no word from the iPhone Dev group on this finding. In doing our own research, we discovered that the problem does, in fact, exist. So, if you need to jailbreak your iPhone/iPod touch, you might want to hold off on updating your Mac."

This is the same problem that is being experienced by new aluminum MacBook and MBP owners that have tried to jailbreak.

I didn't see any thread about this, so I thought I'd pass along this info.

I know I'll be waiting a little while before I update.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:56 PM   #2
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
I read about this on TUAW. iPhone Ally is reporting that if you place the iPhone in DFU mode (similar to a restore mode), your iPhone will be unrecognized by a Mac running 10.5.6.

From TUAW:
"DFU mode is required to jailbreak your iPhone using many of the popular tools such as Pwnage or QuickPwn. So far there is no word from the iPhone Dev group on this finding. In doing our own research, we discovered that the problem does, in fact, exist. So, if you need to jailbreak your iPhone/iPod touch, you might want to hold off on updating your Mac."

This is the same problem that is being experienced by new aluminum MacBook and MBP owners that have tried to jailbreak.

I didn't see any thread about this, so I thought I'd pass along this info.

I know I'll be waiting a little while before I update.
Wonder what happens if someone backs up their Mobile.kext and updates then restores...
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:57 PM   #3
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
I read about this on TUAW. iPhone Ally is reporting that if you place the iPhone in DFU mode (similar to a restore mode), your iPhone will be unrecognized by a Mac running 10.5.6.

From TUAW:
"DFU mode is required to jailbreak your iPhone using many of the popular tools such as Pwnage or QuickPwn. So far there is no word from the iPhone Dev group on this finding. In doing our own research, we discovered that the problem does, in fact, exist. So, if you need to jailbreak your iPhone/iPod touch, you might want to hold off on updating your Mac."

This is the same problem that is being experienced by new aluminum MacBook and MBP owners that have tried to jailbreak.

I didn't see any thread about this, so I thought I'd pass along this info.

I know I'll be waiting a little while before I update.
Crap - I just updated. My phone is already jailbroken though so hopefully this will not be a problem when the next update is available.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:58 PM   #4
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
I just used QuickPwn on 10.5.6 with my girlfriend's iPhone 2G. It went into DFU mode fine and it was able to easily QuickPwn.

Then for fun, I put my iPod touch into DFU mode. iTunes detected it and it restored properly. I don't understand what people are crying about.

I have a Mac Pro by the way.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:59 PM   #5
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
Crap - I just updated. My phone is already jailbroken though so hopefully this will not be a problem when the next update is available.
More so, I hope that this doesn't affecting running the unlock tool that the dev team will eventually release.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:04 PM   #6
Surely
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpaz View Post
I just used QuickPwn on 10.5.6 with my girlfriend's iPhone 2G. It went into DFU mode fine and it was able to easily QuickPwn.

Then for fun, I put my iPod touch into DFU mode. iTunes detected it and it restored properly. I don't understand what people are crying about.

I have a Mac Pro by the way.
Well that's good to hear. Hopefully this was only experienced by people that aren't able to count and hold buttons down at the same time.

I hope your experience is more the norm than what the article is reporting.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:06 PM   #7
NT1440
macrumors G3
 
NT1440's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hartford, CT
If DFU mode does not work, its merely a glitch, apple would not remove the one sure fire way to restore an ipod from the system. If they did theyd get ALOT of lawsuits from people with bricked ipods (legitamite ones).

DFU exsists purely as a last resort, removing it doesnt make sense.
NT1440 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:27 PM   #8
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
Well that's good to hear. Hopefully this was only experienced by people that aren't able to count and hold buttons down at the same time.

I hope your experience is more the norm than what the article is reporting.
I haven't tried it with my iPhone 3G yet. I've done both iPhone 2G and iPod touch and both worked. I had no idea that 10.5.6 was supposed to screw DFU mode up until after I did both of them. Then I read this and I was like... what?.. but, I just jailbroke 2 devices on 10.5.6. Sure enough, for the fun of it, I put my iPod touch back into DFU mode and it worked just fine. Heh, whatever.

Can anyone else confirm?
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:31 PM   #9
drichards
macrumors 6502a
 
drichards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
The quickpwn team are a pretty resourceful bunch, I'm sure they'll figure out whatever Apple can throw at them.
__________________
New MBP 2.53 ● Apple TV ● iPod Touch ● BlackBerry Pearl ● XM Radio
Be Green
drichards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 10:05 PM   #10
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
I figured out a fix! Don't plug it directly into the computer's USB port to put your iPhone into DFU. Plug it into a hub. I had mine plugged into my Apple Cinema Display... that's why it was able to work! Plug it into a Keyboard, a Display or a powered USB hub and it should go into DFU mode just fine. Sweet. Crisis averted!
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 10:13 PM   #11
Surely
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpaz View Post
I figured out a fix! Don't plug it directly into the computer's USB port to put your iPhone into DFU. Plug it into a hub. I had mine plugged into my Apple Cinema Display... that's why it was able to work! Plug it into a Keyboard, a Display or a powered USB hub and it should go into DFU mode just fine. Sweet. Crisis averted!
That's not a fix, it's a workaround. Maybe a temporary one.
It was already discovered if you read the comments section of the TUAW article (Chuck @ 8:18PM EST)
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 11:55 PM   #12
bradenwh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
This "fix" has been around for soooo long. It's amazing that people are just now catching on.
bradenwh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 12:25 AM   #13
Surely
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradenwh View Post
This "fix" has been around for soooo long. It's amazing that people are just now catching on.
How could it have "been around for soooo long"? 10.5.6 just came out today.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 12:31 AM   #14
QuarterSwede
macrumors 604
 
QuarterSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
How could it have "been around for soooo long"? 10.5.6 just came out today.
This was the workaround on the alum MBs which have always had this issue.
__________________
“In a world of idiots, the average man is king."

"Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world." -- Martin Luther
QuarterSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 07:35 AM   #15
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
So does anyone have the 10.5.5 kexts...it seems having to use a USB hub isn't the ideal solution...especially for laptops
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:35 AM   #16
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
So does anyone have the 10.5.5 kexts...it seems having to use a USB hub isn't the ideal solution...especially for laptops
I do! I just do not know what kext files to get. I looked in Extensions and there was only about 5 files that were modified yesterday. They all looked like Graphics files... not USB or MobileDevice files.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:43 AM   #17
Pimptastic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Up North, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
So does anyone have the 10.5.5 kexts...it seems having to use a USB hub isn't the ideal solution...especially for laptops
Downloads here - http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
Pimptastic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:48 AM   #18
1rottenapple
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Damn does this mean the pwntool to unlock the 2g iphone will not work? I just upgraded yesterday. Damn it. I should have waiting.
__________________
13 retina haswell 8gb 512 ssd, iPhone 5c blue, ipad mini retina 16gb tmobile
1rottenapple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:58 AM   #19
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pimptastic View Post
That seems to only tell you how to replace it not give you the actual files
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:24 AM   #20
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
From another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by odotan View Post
I found a solution. It's not necessary to copy the whole IOUSBFamily.kext file. If you open the file, inside it are more kext files. You need to replace the following with a version from an old macbook:

/System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleUSBHub.kext

and

/System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOUSBCompositeDriver.kext

Simply replacing them won't work. You have to copy the whole IOUSBFamily.kext folder to your desktop (for example), replace the above files(/folders) and then replace the whole folder in its original location like this:

open terminal, type
sudo -s
enter the password
then enter the following (replace "User" with your username):

rm -r /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext
mv /Users/User/Desktop/IOUSBFamily.kext /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext
rm /System/Library/Extensions.mkext

Wait a few seconds for the Extensions file to rebuild itself and reboot the machine and you should be good to go.

My computer can now detect DFU and go to sleep normally

Ps. I'm still checking to see if this method can be further simplified and I will update accordingly.
I just did it... but, I'm not at home to check to see if it worked. (I did it over VNC)
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:02 PM   #21
1rottenapple
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Does the usb hub need to be powered or unpowered?
__________________
13 retina haswell 8gb 512 ssd, iPhone 5c blue, ipad mini retina 16gb tmobile
1rottenapple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:04 PM   #22
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsupetran View Post
Does the usb hub need to be powered or unpowered?
It probably should be powered.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 04:45 AM   #23
guerrillaradio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I used a hub that was powered and it worked. I'm running 10.5.6 AND I'm on a unibody Macbook.
guerrillaradio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 09:22 AM   #24
integragsr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by guerrillaradio View Post
I used a hub that was powered and it worked. I'm running 10.5.6 AND I'm on a unibody Macbook.
Could you tell me what USB hub model did you use? Because I been trying to jailbreak my iPhone but I get stuck in a white screen and I been using a USB hub thAt conects straight to the port.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 2.8 GHz, 2 GB RAM,320 GB HDD ; 4 GB ipod nano; 16GB Iphone 3G black, 13 inch 2.26 ghz macbook pro.
integragsr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2008, 05:31 AM   #25
dZp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
In the post linked to below, you'll find an Automator workflow that replaces the .kext file.

Re-enable DFU mode in Mac OS X 10.5.6

__________________
ɹɐǝddɐ ʎǝɥʇ uɐɥʇ ɹǝsolɔ ǝɹɐ ɹoɹɹıɯ uı sʇɔǝɾqo
dZp is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[OSX 10.8.5] Software update won't open & Mavericks update issue MacDude21 Mac Basics and Help 7 Jan 22, 2014 08:15 AM
Why don't Java OSX Updates appear under Mac App Store/Software Update? sick z33 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 2, 2013 02:23 PM
Don't like Windows, not confident in OSX - what are my options? tekno OS X 5 Jan 19, 2013 08:15 AM
iPhone: Don’t Get Your Hopes Up, There Is No Jailbreak For iOS 6 sagar4995 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 27 Oct 5, 2012 04:55 AM
OSX is going to fail like Corel or NeXT if they don't wake up. VinegarTasters Wasteland 0 Jul 23, 2012 10:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC