Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2009, 03:08 AM   #1
801FuNk801
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
!!! Quickpwn 2.2 stuck at "quickpwn is about to run on your 3g"

No matter what i do I can not get quickpwn to get past the step where on the bottom it says "quickpwn is about to run on your iPhone 3g" I left it for 5 hours tonight and it just stayed in the same damn place.. Any ideas guys?? I tried to uninstall/ reinstall, another download, restart my machine (intel iMac) I dont know what to do next. Any help would be awesome. Thanks, Travis
801FuNk801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 04:12 AM   #2
801FuNk801
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Got It!!

I figured it out!!! 10.5.6 wouldnt let the phone go into DFU!
801FuNk801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 04:07 PM   #3
tntitan0504
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
So what did you do to fix the issue, because I am having the exact same problem?

Thanks
tntitan0504 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 04:46 PM   #4
tntitan0504
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
So... I figured it out. You were right. It was the 10.5.6 because I used my friends mac which was running 10.5.4 and it worked perfectly the first time through.

Thanks good luck to everyone else. Hopefully if you have the same issue you will be able to use this info.
tntitan0504 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 04:52 PM   #5
shvartsies
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
All you have to do to fix this is connect the iPhone through a USB hub and voila
shvartsies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 05:05 PM   #6
wingnutt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Or like me re started from another partition with an older version
wingnutt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 07:40 PM   #7
sfaguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shvartsies View Post
All you have to do to fix this is connect the iPhone through a USB hub and voila
can you explain why using a USB hub work? so for people who has 10.5.6 or the new unibody macbook that has the new version of the IOUSBFamily which prevents the phone to go into DFU mode, you are saying by using a USB hub, this bypasses using the IOUSB driver on your Mac?

is this even possible? can anyone validate this?
sfaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 07:43 PM   #8
strikingviking
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I am using a nine month old Macbook with the 10.5.6 and have no other computer available. What should I do?
strikingviking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 07:54 PM   #9
sfaguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by strikingviking View Post
I am using a nine month old Macbook with the 10.5.6 and have no other computer available. What should I do?
if what the other says using a USB hub works, then you are home free. if not, you need to (1) use the IOUSBFamily file from 10.5.5 and follow the instruction posted by odotan to modify the file, or (2) go back to 10.5.5?

anyone else has other suggestions?
sfaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 07:58 PM   #10
strikingviking
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
How can I safely stop the process and disconnect? The system doesn't respond to ejecting.
strikingviking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 02:28 PM   #11
minicoop503
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I had this same problem and connected it through my usb hub. It seems to be working now. Thank you!
__________________
http://minicoop503.deviantart.com/
MBP 15.4"|2.5ghz|250 GB|4 GB|8600 w/512mb
minicoop503 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 03:59 PM   #12
andyblila
macrumors 65816
 
andyblila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On My iPhone, or my iPad?
Send a message via Yahoo to andyblila
Quote:
Originally Posted by tntitan0504 View Post
So what did you do to fix the issue, because I am having the exact same problem?

Thanks
Here's the fix.
__________________
27" iMac
MacBook Air
64GB iPhone 5S⃣
32 GB iPad Air
andyblila is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 04:00 PM   #13
andyblila
macrumors 65816
 
andyblila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On My iPhone, or my iPad?
Send a message via Yahoo to andyblila
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfaguy View Post
if what the other says using a USB hub works, then you are home free. if not, you need to (1) use the IOUSBFamily file from 10.5.5 and follow the instruction posted by odotan to modify the file, or (2) go back to 10.5.5?

anyone else has other suggestions?
Do this.
__________________
27" iMac
MacBook Air
64GB iPhone 5S⃣
32 GB iPad Air
andyblila is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 04:00 PM   #14
andyblila
macrumors 65816
 
andyblila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On My iPhone, or my iPad?
Send a message via Yahoo to andyblila
Quote:
Originally Posted by strikingviking View Post
I am using a nine month old Macbook with the 10.5.6 and have no other computer available. What should I do?
Do this.
__________________
27" iMac
MacBook Air
64GB iPhone 5S⃣
32 GB iPad Air
andyblila is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 11:34 PM   #15
Appler
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
For those who get this through google, just use something to mediate the USB cables. Its surprising nobody addressed this in the guides made available online.
After reading this post, i was able to connect my mac to an external hard drive with a USB slot (although the hard drive is erroneous it wont mount), and connected the iphone to that slot, Quickpwn worked perfectly.
Another issue I have always had problems with, and am sure others do, is the SIM (when to put it in, when to take the original one out). Just keep the original AT&T one until the very last step, i.e. just switch to the one you will be using right before you are ready to unlock through Cydia.
I tried that, and got a "SIM failure" notice on the iphone, only to see the signal strength burst to full a few seconds later.
__________________
MBP 2.6 4GB 200GB HD, Ipods:5.5 gen 80GB, 1GB shuffle, 4th gen 16 GB Nano, 1st gen 8GB iphone, 16 GB 3G iphone
Appler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2009, 06:27 AM   #16
Golf4Pro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
QuicPWN 2.2 and OS X 10.5.6

I had the hardest time using QuickPWN for my 2G iPhone with my 2008 Macbook Pro and OS X 10.5.6
Here is what happened and solution (hope it helps someone because it caused me a full day of searching the internet for solutions!)

FYI: My iPhone was originally jailbroken by ZiPhone and had version 1.1.4

THE PROBLEM:
1: I synced my iPhone in iTunes (version 7.7) for backup my calendar, contacts, photos, etc
2: Installed iTunes 8.0.2
3: Updated iPhone to 2.2
4: Downloaded QuickPWN 2.2
5: All went well until I got to the IPWS (QuickPWN is about to run on your iPhone) and it froze my iPhone and Mac (could not turn off Mac because QuickPWN blocked it...I had to hold down the power button on the Mac to turn it off!).
6: I thought...I BROKE IT!!

THE SOLUTION:
1: For me, the hub on the Mac did not work!...I had to dig out my old PC Windows laptop (running XP)
2: Downloaded iTunes 8.0.2
3: Downloaded QuickPWN 2.2 for Windows
4: Started QuickPWN and it asked for Firmware 2.2 of iPhone (download here http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/0...ownload-links/
5: It asked if I wanted to unlock iPhone (yes!)
6: Then asked for Bootloader v3.9 (download here: http://rapidshare.com/files/175468958/bl-39.bin
7: Asked for Bootloader v4.6 (download here: http://rapidshare.com/files/175469406/bl-46.bin
8: Quickpwn will ask to hold down the home and power keys...just follow the on screen directions (please note: this QuickPWN Windows process is slightly different then the Mac).
9: QuickPWN worked its magic and the iPhone works GREAT!!
10: I went back to the Mac and restored all my old iPhone information through iTunes...perfect!! Contacts, text messages, etc is all there!

That's it! Good luck...the iPhone works great now!! Thanks Dev-Team
Golf4Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 01:06 PM   #17
tom hilton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thumbs up dfu mode

all you need to do is connect ur ipod / iphone through a usb hub
worked for me
tom hilton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2009, 08:14 PM   #18
lukemonster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
hub works

same for me hub worked
lukemonster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Free Dec 18th] A Runner Game That Asks "Why Does He Just Run?" dreambotstudios iPad Apps 0 Dec 17, 2013 03:31 PM
Automator "Set desktop picture" stuck on "Fill Screen" rollandburn Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 23, 2013 05:01 PM
EDIT: I got it to work! Now a "how to run Windows 8 from a USB flash or SD card!" lokiju Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 19 Feb 28, 2013 06:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC