Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2009, 02:24 PM   #1
leez
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
Cellular Data Network settings (3G APN Servers)

While yellowsn0w is out, people gonna start using different SIM cards etc. I was thinking about writing down all the Network settings for 3G in here, so you can get access to internet with all the networks around the globe.

After putting in new SIM, go to Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network

Vodafone UK:
APN: internet
Username: wap
Password: wap


Post your settings, thanks.
leez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2009, 02:51 PM   #2
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Honduras settings

Tigo Honduras
APN: internet.tigo.hn
username: blank
password: blank
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 01:14 AM   #3
penix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
These are the settings I used to get data working on T-Mobile in the California San Francisco Bay Area.

Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network

APN: wap.voicestream.com
Username: (blank)
Password: (blank)

I've also read some people are using internet2.voicestream.com and internet3.voicestream.com depending on what data plan they subscribe to.
penix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 02:20 AM   #4
pkkrusty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Italy
Send a message via AIM to pkkrusty Send a message via Yahoo to pkkrusty
Two things: I live and travel in Europe and have found a great worldwide resource for APN lists. Do a google search for "Ross Barkman APN" and it'll take you to http://www.taniwha.org.uk/gprs.html

He has compiled a thorough list of worldwide APN info and keep it updated, takes submissions, etc. VERY useful.

Second, as a newly unlocked iPhone 3G user (read 20 minutes ago) how do I change the APN settings on the phone so it accesses the right server/IP?

EDIT: Hmm, maybe if I read the FIRST POST of the thread I would have seen it. I'm an idiot. Disregard.
EDIT 2: Maybe I'm not, Cellular Data Network menu doesn't exist. Any ideas?
__________________
MBP 2.0CD/1.5GB/80GB
eMac 800G4/768MB/40GB with a blown fuse
Mini 1.83CD/2GB/80GB
I love Macs. Macy Mac Mac. Down into my belly.

Last edited by pkkrusty; Jan 2, 2009 at 02:39 AM.
pkkrusty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 02:50 PM   #5
Geniusdog254
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkkrusty View Post
Two things: I live and travel in Europe and have found a great worldwide resource for APN lists. Do a google search for "Ross Barkman APN" and it'll take you to http://www.taniwha.org.uk/gprs.html

He has compiled a thorough list of worldwide APN info and keep it updated, takes submissions, etc. VERY useful.

Second, as a newly unlocked iPhone 3G user (read 20 minutes ago) how do I change the APN settings on the phone so it accesses the right server/IP?

EDIT: Hmm, maybe if I read the FIRST POST of the thread I would have seen it. I'm an idiot. Disregard.
EDIT 2: Maybe I'm not, Cellular Data Network menu doesn't exist. Any ideas?
Theres a package in Cydia, I believe it's called something like "Edit APN Settings" that makes the menu appear. Maybe search in cydia for APN and it will show up?
Geniusdog254 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 10:27 PM   #6
yorkman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
hi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geniusdog254 View Post
Theres a package in Cydia, I believe it's called something like "Edit APN Settings" that makes the menu appear. Maybe search in cydia for APN and it will show up?
You are right,on cydia cal it APN Editing
__________________
32g itouch 1generation -16g 3g iphone black Toshiba satellite xp - iphone 3Gs 32g- iPad 64g- Mac Air
yorkman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2009, 04:43 AM   #7
pkkrusty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Italy
Send a message via AIM to pkkrusty Send a message via Yahoo to pkkrusty
thanks much, that was the last hurdle for total awesomeness.
__________________
MBP 2.0CD/1.5GB/80GB
eMac 800G4/768MB/40GB with a blown fuse
Mini 1.83CD/2GB/80GB
I love Macs. Macy Mac Mac. Down into my belly.
pkkrusty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2009, 06:38 AM   #8
sjorge
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Carrier: Proximus (Contract or Pay&Go)
Country: Belgium
APN: internet.proximus.be
User: (blank)
Pass: (blank)

I got a custom carrier bundle with all the settings + some extra stuff like check balance & voice mail not sure if there is interest in this but if there is I'll put it on rapidshare or something.
sjorge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2009, 06:40 AM   #9
sjorge
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkkrusty View Post
Two things: I live and travel in Europe and have found a great worldwide resource for APN lists. Do a google search for "Ross Barkman APN" and it'll take you to http://www.taniwha.org.uk/gprs.html

He has compiled a thorough list of worldwide APN info and keep it updated, takes submissions, etc. VERY useful.

Second, as a newly unlocked iPhone 3G user (read 20 minutes ago) how do I change the APN settings on the phone so it accesses the right server/IP?

EDIT: Hmm, maybe if I read the FIRST POST of the thread I would have seen it. I'm an idiot. Disregard.
EDIT 2: Maybe I'm not, Cellular Data Network menu doesn't exist. Any ideas?
If you unlocked with yellowsn0w the menu will appear unless you've inserted an sim of a supported carrier.

If I stick in my Mobistar (official carrier for .be) SIM all the settings are correctly filled in. (Using swiss unlocked phone).
sjorge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2009, 06:29 PM   #10
wyldeone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Have changed APN settings...how long before it works?

Hi, Thanks for the info below...done that but still not working at the moment, how long before it does?
I spoke to Vodafone UK and they gave me the same info for the Username & Password but a different ANP Address; wap.vodafone.co.uk, that didn't work too....My iPhone is a 3G 16GB from the USA and has been unlocked with the 2.28 yellowsn0w software detailed below. The phone is working fine and I have the 3G Vodafone Internet package, linked to my contract.
Hope you can help....thanks, Nik.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leez View Post
While yellowsn0w is out, people gonna start using different SIM cards etc. I was thinking about writing down all the Network settings for 3G in here, so you can get access to internet with all the networks around the globe.

After putting in new SIM, go to Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network

Vodafone UK:
APN: internet
Username: wap
Password: wap


Post your settings, thanks.
wyldeone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 5 Kills Cellular Data. ChocoMan iOS 5 and earlier 7 Oct 26, 2011 02:21 PM
Using nothing but cellular data for a month? Spectrum Abuser iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 3, 2011 05:34 AM
MyWi network settings reset help funnyent Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jul 15, 2011 05:47 PM
iPhone 4: calls while cellular data turned of so.damn.lost iPhone 3 Jun 27, 2011 09:40 PM
cellular data network gone from my settings Falcone Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Dec 4, 2009 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC