Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:05 PM   #1
Esulatell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Esulatell
Windows 7 Beta 7000 (Boot Camp) NO SOUND.....?

I just installed Windows 7 Beta Build 7000 onto my Alu' iMac via Boot Camp, its all fine except I have no sound, do I need to download a driver or something?

If anyone can help can you please link me to the driver
Thank you
__________________
 iMac24 Alu, 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD, 512 MB GRAM
 MBP13 Alu, 2.66 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 25B MB GRAM
 iPhone 4, 32 GB, Vodafone UK
Esulatell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:08 PM   #2
nigrunze
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Have you tried installing the drivers included on the Mac OS X Leopard disc? If not, give it a shot.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD - Mac OS X v10.5 "Leopard"
nigrunze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:10 PM   #3
Esulatell
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Esulatell
Yep there all installed and they all work fine
But they did nothing for sound
__________________
 iMac24 Alu, 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD, 512 MB GRAM
 MBP13 Alu, 2.66 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 25B MB GRAM
 iPhone 4, 32 GB, Vodafone UK
Esulatell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:14 PM   #4
PowerFullMac
macrumors 68040
 
PowerFullMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Someones been using BitTorrent naughty naughty

Try installing it through VirtualBox, it's like Paralells but free and just as good. Windows 7 won't work on Q at the moment unfortunatly.
PowerFullMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:17 PM   #5
Esulatell
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Esulatell
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerFullMac View Post
Someones been using BitTorrent naughty naughty

Try installing it through VirtualBox, it's like Paralells but free and just as good. Windows 7 won't work on Q at the moment unfortunatly.
Ah I'm a rebel me
But I don't want to use Parallels or anything like that, I want to run it natively.
__________________
 iMac24 Alu, 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD, 512 MB GRAM
 MBP13 Alu, 2.66 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 25B MB GRAM
 iPhone 4, 32 GB, Vodafone UK
Esulatell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 04:21 PM   #6
PowerFullMac
macrumors 68040
 
PowerFullMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
OK well look up drivers for the sound card in your Mac but you may not have any luck getting it to work on Windows 7, it's only a beta and a early one at that, remember.
PowerFullMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 05:54 PM   #7
nigrunze
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
If the 2nd gen Aluminum iMac uses the same sound drivers as the first gen Aluminum iMac, then the drivers are on this page.

Hopefully they work for you. Try the Vista driver first, then the XP one.

On our PC, the driver that the Windows 7 beta chose produced bad sound output. I looked for a driver on Creative's website and found the XP driver but there wasn't a Vista driver. Surprisingly, the Windows XP driver works just fine.

... I guess my point is that if the Vista driver doesn't work, try the XP one.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 Ghz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD - Mac OS X v10.5 "Leopard"
nigrunze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2009, 05:57 PM   #8
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
It's a known problem with the 7 beta.
Just try to find the driver I guess.
This didn't happen to me when I installed it though. Yay uTorrent.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / Verizon / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.2
- Mac mini C2D 1.83GHz / 4GB ram / 120GB HD / 10.8.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 02:30 AM   #9
speedfreek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigrunze View Post
If the 2nd gen Aluminum iMac uses the same sound drivers as the first gen Aluminum iMac, then the drivers are on this page.

Hopefully they work for you. Try the Vista driver first, then the XP one.

On our PC, the driver that the Windows 7 beta chose produced bad sound output. I looked for a driver on Creative's website and found the XP driver but there wasn't a Vista driver. Surprisingly, the Windows XP driver works just fine.

... I guess my point is that if the Vista driver doesn't work, try the XP one.
Downloaded the XP one first and wouldn't even install as it wasnt compatible or couldn't find anything or something so no dice on that.
Downloaded the Vista one and everything is all gravy now =D Now to get some music going, kekeke.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.66ghz Core 2 Duo, 320gb HD, 2gb RAM
speedfreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 04:36 AM   #10
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
I downloaded the Realtek drivers straight from Realtek (the High Definition Audio one) and it works perfectly on my early 08 MBP. Link: http://www.realtek.com/downloads/


What I'm having trouble with now is firewire. I used to use HFS Explorer to access my external (HFS formatted) hard drive but it no longer shows up in HFS Explorer. Windows doesn't even make the "device connected" sound when I turn it on (yes I'm running HFS Explorer in admin mode). Pretty sure it's a firewire driver issue, but I have no clue who makes the firewire for my MBP.
__________________
iPhone 5
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/320GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:36 AM   #11
Chwisch87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
this should do it.

3. From the Control Panel, click on the Device Manager
4. Find the device that's not installed, it's listed as 'Multimedia Audio Controller'
5. Click on the device and install/update the driver.
6. Let Windows go out to the Internet to find the driver.
7. Install the selected drive and click 'Ok'
__________________
15" Macbook Pro - iPhone 4 32GB - iPad 2 16GB
Chwisch87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 10:07 AM   #12
Akula971
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Perfidious Albion
How to fix

This guy ORION EDWARDS did this

Go into the leopard drivers folder. There should be a directory called Drivers, and under that is a file called RealTekSetup.exe. If you try run this normally, it will fail.

What he did next was:

Right click it, and select Troubleshoot Compatibility
Click Next and wait for it to finish 'Detecting Issues'
Select The program Worked in earlier versions of windows...
Select Windows Vista
Click Next a few times, let the Realtek installer run, reboot, and Presto!

http://orionedwards.blogspot.com/
__________________
MacBook 2.4GHz 2.0GB RAM
Mac Pro 3.1 2.8GHz 12 GB RAM 4870. 2 x Dell U2410
MacMini 2.4GHz 8GB RAM 80GB Intel SSD
Akula971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:04 AM   #13
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
^ Much easier to just download newer Realtek Drivers HD Audio Codec though.

Look for the Vista_r213 driver package.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 01:59 PM   #14
e12a
macrumors 68000
 
e12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
^ Much easier to just download newer Realtek Drivers HD Audio Codec though.

Look for the Vista_r213 driver package.
they rank pretty much the same in terms of easiness.

windows compatibility mode actually works and is easy to use. I'm surprised.
__________________
[inquiring about MBP types]"we either have the regular, or the ultimate edition." -Apple sales rep
"could you just tell me the specs?"
e12a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 02:43 PM   #15
amt2002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I've just intalled Win 7 on my alu imac and installed the realtek sound drivers and everything was fine.....

BUT my headphone out port isnt working and the sound out the internal speakers sounds really poor quality

Anyone else experiencing this or know a fix?
amt2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:05 PM   #16
gantte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Solution found for no sound under Win 7 Beta Build 7000

I can verify this solution worked for me.
I used the Apple Vista driver and it works fine.

What I didn't know until this event was that Apple puts a red
led *inside* the headphone jack on the macbookpro. The LED
was lit (RED) but when I loaded the Vista driver, the LED went
dark and the sound started working. Very cool.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Akula971 View Post
This guy ORION EDWARDS did this

Go into the leopard drivers folder. There should be a directory called Drivers, and under that is a file called RealTekSetup.exe. If you try run this normally, it will fail.

What he did next was:

Right click it, and select Troubleshoot Compatibility
Click Next and wait for it to finish 'Detecting Issues'
Select The program Worked in earlier versions of windows...
Select Windows Vista
Click Next a few times, let the Realtek installer run, reboot, and Presto!

http://orionedwards.blogspot.com/
gantte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 10:03 PM   #17
FuturusX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gantte View Post
I can verify this solution worked for me.
I used the Apple Vista driver and it works fine.

What I didn't know until this event was that Apple puts a red
led *inside* the headphone jack on the macbookpro. The LED
was lit (RED) but when I loaded the Vista driver, the LED went
dark and the sound started working. Very cool.
FYI: That red LED inside is an optional mini toslink connection, along side the tradtional analog, enabling you output digital sound with the appropiate adapter:
http://www.nextag.com/mini-toslink-adapter/search-html

Useful for getting 5.1 etc from DVD playback.

Additional information on its use in home theater - http://www.reelsmart.com/2006/08/17/...ections/print/
FuturusX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:20 PM   #18
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Well would you look at that...it worked. Now I have sound in Windows 7. Much thanks.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 02:06 AM   #19
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
These drivers worked for me. Download them. It's the same stuff as the files on Realtek's incredibly super slow site (8KBs download speed cap).
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 01:07 PM   #20
memo90061
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Is your volume normal or really low? I had no audio problems but it's VERY LOW.
memo90061 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 05:18 PM   #21
amt2002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Just an update from me with my lack of sound from my 3.5mm headphone jack on my aluminium imac. I tried everything but to no avail.

THE SOLUTION:

Finally I gave up and re-formatted and reinstalled windows 7, this time in 64-bit. And it worked! Now I have quality sound coming from the external speakers. If anyone else experiences this, first try installing without having the speakers plugged in during installation. If not, go 64-bit.
amt2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2009, 04:49 AM   #22
argos4000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerFullMac View Post
Someones been using BitTorrent naughty naughty

Try installing it through VirtualBox, it's like Paralells but free and just as good. Windows 7 won't work on Q at the moment unfortunatly.
Yup. Got the legit version off Microsoft today.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD
1st gen iPod Touch, 8 GB
Silver Kensington Mouse, USB dongle, ultra-thin.
argos4000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2009, 08:09 AM   #23
sascha h-k
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: vienna / austria
on iMac 3.06 win7 64bit perfect, also sound after r2.14 update, BUT on my mbp 2.4ghz with win7 32bit still no sound ...

i tried any driver around, bootcamp and realtek.


any help appreciated !
sascha h-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2009, 04:51 AM   #24
sdsviet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
mbp pro 1st gen 2.0
bootcamp 2.1
windows 7 32bit
sound still doesnt work. installed everyway possible, even the troubleshoot deal. bluetooth still have the whole connecting to the device forever deal too. has anyone found a fool proof fix for this. thinking about switching to 64bit. what are the advantages? i heard that some disadvantages is that some programs dont work. does anyone know what programs they are? also i know that if 64bit is installed its able to take advantage of 4gb ram. can this still be done on the 1st gen mbp since they are still limited to 2gb?
__________________
MBP 15", CD 2.0, 100GB, 2 GB, 256MB, 10.5
sdsviet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2009, 08:58 PM   #25
sascha h-k
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: vienna / austria
i HAVE SOUND now !
it's for mbp (not unibody) and win7 32bit.
uninstall realtek drivers (under delete programm)
delete audio components (from device manager)
then restart.
insert leopard disk, open with right-click it's content and choose driver, realtek.
here again right-click and as above described choose vista and so on and install, then restart.

NOW, again content leopard drivers choose sigmatel, open this and take the upper (not xp) and install with right-click as mentioned before.

i hope you will get the sound back as i got ...
sascha h-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot camp Windows 7 will not boot without installation disc... Myname1snobody Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Jul 11, 2014 09:21 PM
Ran Repair Disk on Boot Camp partition and Windows won't boot sneak3 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 May 26, 2014 08:22 AM
No Sound in Boot camp p3ntyne Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 18, 2014 01:51 AM
Windows 8.1 boot camp (no sound) Trez iMac 7 Feb 1, 2014 05:16 PM
Boot Camp Frustration/HOW to dual boot Mac/Windows calvindsy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Aug 17, 2013 05:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC