Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2009, 09:54 PM   #1
efuggetta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
How to transfer Photoshop CS3 to new Macbook?

I am buying a new Macbook Pro, and I want to take Photoshop off of my current Macbook and put it onto the new one. (I'm not stealing anything--I just want to MOVE what I already have, not duplicate it.)

I don't have the discs because 2 former coworkers and I split the program with the agreement that we'd each get a copy (so we each could only put it on our laptops.)

So. Is there any way to do this? I have an external hard drive, which Time Machine backed everything to.

In another thread, it said to look in Library/Application support/Adobe/Adobe registration BUT I can only get as far as Adobe. There is no Adobe Registration. Also, when I hit About Photoshop, no serial number is on the about screen as many suggest it should.

Is there hope?
__________________
Macbook Pro 13" 2.26; former 15" MBP 2.53 and 17" 2.53; iPhone
efuggetta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 11:11 PM   #2
shady825
macrumors 68000
 
shady825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Area 51
A TimeMachine backup wont transfer programs to a new machine??
(i was always curious about that)
__________________
Collectors Edition MacBook 2.4GHz, - iPhone 5 Unlimited Data - iPad 3
Legalize it...
shady825 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 11:14 PM   #3
efuggetta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shady825 View Post
A TimeMachine backup wont transfer programs to a new machine??
I've heard that it will, but I think you might need the serial number/activation code, which seem to be lost somehow (although they must exist, because I'm using the program!)
__________________
Macbook Pro 13" 2.26; former 15" MBP 2.53 and 17" 2.53; iPhone
efuggetta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 09:24 AM   #4
skybolt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by efuggetta View Post
I don't have the discs because 2 former coworkers and I split the program with the agreement that we'd each get a copy (so we each could only put it on our laptops.)

Is there hope?

If you split one software package with 2 others, then you are using pirated software. Unless you bought a "family pack".
__________________
Mary
skybolt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 09:28 AM   #5
arkitect
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post
If you split one software package with 2 others, then you are using pirated software. Unless you bought a "family pack".
And that is long and the short of itů
arkitect is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 09:41 AM   #6
Roy Hobbs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Buy the program like everyone else and install it
Roy Hobbs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 10:00 AM   #7
TJRiver
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkitect View Post
And that is long and the short of itů

ditto
TJRiver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 09:45 PM   #8
mikelong622
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Doesn't your co-worker have the discs still?!?
__________________
Twitter
mikelong622 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to transfer from ibook to new macbook pro... mr. buttons PowerPC Macs 15 Jan 21, 2014 08:08 PM
How to transfer my email to new Apple MacBook Air from Outlook? Use Gmail? key-lime Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 17, 2011 01:13 PM
HD corrupted but accesible. How to transfer my Application to new HD? waterlovinguy OS X 1 Nov 28, 2009 05:57 PM
How to transfer G4 data to new iMac G5? savar Macintosh Computers 2 Nov 28, 2005 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC