Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2009, 10:36 PM   #1
mgsfan18
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Send a message via MSN to mgsfan18
Running The Sims 2 (PC disc) on a mac?

Is it possible to run a PC copy of The Sims 2 on a mac? I know there is a mac version of the game but I owned a PC when I bought it but now all I have is a mac.

Or is there a way to trade my PC copy for a mac copy.




Does anyone want to trade a PC copy for a mac copy of the game?


answers to any of these questions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in Advance!
mgsfan18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 11:53 PM   #2
asphyxiafeeling
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cali baby!
Send a message via AIM to asphyxiafeeling
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgsfan18 View Post
Is it possible to run a PC copy of The Sims 2 on a mac? I know there is a mac version of the game but I owned a PC when I bought it but now all I have is a mac.

Or is there a way to trade my PC copy for a mac copy.




Does anyone want to trade a PC copy for a mac copy of the game?


answers to any of these questions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in Advance!
1. No*

2. Sadly, No. the game was ported by Aspyr, they want moola for a new copy. (same situation happened to me with Spore / COD4)

3. Doubtful, but maybe you can find somebody.

You could get a copy of windows and use bootcamp, but that's a bit of a hassle.

*you could try using crossover or some virtual program. i'm not knowledgeable on them, so i'll let somebody else try and explain.
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like. ~Author Unknown
2.0 uMB
asphyxiafeeling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2009, 11:02 AM   #3
mgsfan18
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Send a message via MSN to mgsfan18
Quote:
Originally Posted by asphyxiafeeling View Post
1. No*

2. Sadly, No. the game was ported by Aspyr, they want moola for a new copy. (same situation happened to me with Spore / COD4)

3. Doubtful, but maybe you can find somebody.

You could get a copy of windows and use bootcamp, but that's a bit of a hassle.

*you could try using crossover or some virtual program. i'm not knowledgeable on them, so i'll let somebody else try and explain.
I tried the free trial of crossover but I was unable to run The Sims 2 it would install forever and never say insert disc 2
mgsfan18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 03:24 PM   #4
evilmonkey4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=662748

ok well i installed it with crossover and all that junk with the pc disc. now that its done im really in a hurry to play it but one problem came up. when i try to launch it, it says insert correct disc and try this application again or some crap... the game is installed but it wont run it said to put in disc 1 but i did and nothing happened!! now im kinda annoyed because ive never had a sims game and always liked the looks of it. if you know what to do please help! ive been searching google but i dont know what to do just yet!! please help if u can!!! thanks long live mac!
evilmonkey4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 04:03 PM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgsfan18 View Post

...
Many questions. Here are the answers in a nutshell:

- You need to buy a new copy.

New question from you "But I don't want to cough up $50 for another disc of The Sims 2, how do I make this one work?"

Answer:

- Install Windows through Boot Camp and run it there or you can use a virtual machine using Fusion or Parallels. For best results though, I recommend using Boot Camp.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Sims 4 for Mac? richard13 Mac and PC Games 6 May 16, 2014 11:04 PM
OS X: Can I run The Sims 3 for Mac? Braders88 Mac and PC Games 3 Feb 23, 2014 06:58 PM
OS X: How to run The Sims for Mac on OS X opheliapolly Mac and PC Games 6 Feb 11, 2014 12:44 PM
Sims and Mac? LeahB86 Mac and PC Games 2 Jul 2, 2012 12:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC