Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
nathanj.massey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Leeds UK
No Apple Remote with new iMac/Mac Mini?

Have Apple stopped putting the little white Apple Remote's in the box with the new iMac's and Mac Mini's? From looking at the product pages for both machines, it looks like they have stopped including them.
nathanj.massey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:38 PM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
In 2007, yeah.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:43 PM   #3
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
In 2007, yeah.
At least refurbs have Remote included.

A question, while the new ones doesn't have Remote I was thinking of buy one from friend who was 3 of 'em, so will that work on my iMac? It's used of course
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:46 PM   #4
matt1219
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
At least refurbs have Remote included.

A question, while the new ones doesn't have Remote I was thinking of buy one from friend who was 3 of 'em, so will that work on my iMac? It's used of course
Yes, any Apple Remote will instantly work with any remote-compatible Mac.
__________________
Mid-2012 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina Display, 2.3 GHz quad-core i7, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD | Early 2008 24-inch iMac, 3.06 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 640 GB HDD, 8800 GS | iPhone 5
matt1219 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:47 PM   #5
nathanj.massey
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Leeds UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
In 2007, yeah.
They were definitely included with the previous generation models.

Check out this unboxing video of the previous generation 24", shows the Apple Remote around 3:15 in.
nathanj.massey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:48 PM   #6
Peterkro
macrumors 68020
 
Peterkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Communard de Londres
You can still order as a extra,they just don't come bundled any more.
Peterkro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:52 PM   #7
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterkro View Post
You can still order as a extra,they just don't come bundled any more.
But who wants to pay 20 for a little bunch of plastic? It sould be under 10
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:56 PM   #8
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
They where included until this refresh. I purchased two iMacs last year both had an Apple Remote included.
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 04:57 PM   #9
VanNess
macrumors 6502a
 
VanNess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
I own both the 2007 and 2008 iMac 24 inch and both definitely came with the remote. This is the first time Apple cheapskated the remote for the iMac line.

I can see the justification for making the remote an option on small screen laptops, but on the large screen, movie-friendly 24 inch iMac?

For machines where customers need to fork over upwards of 2 grand, it's just silly nickel and dimeing on Apple's part.
__________________
27" iMac, i7, 8gig ram
VanNess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 05:10 PM   #10
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanj.massey View Post
Have Apple stopped putting the little white Apple Remote's in the box with the new iMac's and Mac Mini's?
Of course they have. Those things cost $1.37 to make. You can't expect Apple to just give them away!
__________________
2012 2.6 gHz QC i7 Mac Mini; i5 2.3 gHz QC ITX Hackintosh HTPC; 2010 MacBook Pro i7; 2013 i7 MacBook Air; 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core/128 GB RAM; iPhone 6; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 05:38 PM   #11
Theraker007
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
will the remote that i have for my MBP work on the imac?
Theraker007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 05:49 PM   #12
Osarkon
macrumors 68020
 
Osarkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wales
Send a message via AIM to Osarkon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theraker007 View Post
will the remote that i have for my MBP work on the imac?
Yep, it'll work just fine.
Osarkon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 05:58 PM   #13
Hot Snowboarder
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind you...!
Apple has been giving them away with new computers for ages.

I would figure that they think most people buying macs now are upgrading and already have the remote.

If you're a switcher its not hard to pick up one the remotes either.
__________________
32GB iPhone 4
2010 MBP, 15.4" Hi Res, 2.66GHz core i7, 4GB, 512mb, 500GB 7200rpm.
Hot Snowboarder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 06:02 PM   #14
dubhe
macrumors 65816
 
dubhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Apple stopped giving them out to make us buy them, nobody is not going to buy a Mac because there is no remote, and some people will buy them as an accessory, so apple wins.

I also win as I kept the one which came with my old Mac mini when I sold it for the same reason, it wasn't going to stop people bidding on it on eBay.

I now use a two year old remote with my two week old MBA
__________________
Mac mini 2.3 i7/8/1 TB - iPhone 5 - iPad mini 2
dubhe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 06:19 PM   #15
itommyboy
macrumors 6502a
 
itommyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Titletown USA
Apple TV iPhone Remote Work?

Yeah I got lucky when I returned my week old imac for a newer one she gave me my remote (no charge) because the store was out of them ( same for my num pad wired keyboard).

Just a thought does the iphone remote app for Apple TV work on macs as well? If not this is the kind of thing someone should create as an app for the iphone. Something that someone can actually use and continue to use as opposed to the cesspool of useless mediocre junk on the crapps I mean apps store! *End out of nowhere rant*

I to think it's a bummer they ditched the remotes. If only because it's one more of those "ah the little extra Apple touches" moments that come upon onboxing a mac, forever gone.
__________________
I hope it is true that a man can die and yet not only live in others but give them life, and not only life, but that great consciousness of life.
itommyboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 06:25 PM   #16
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanj.massey View Post
Have Apple stopped putting the little white Apple Remote's in the box with the new iMac's and Mac Mini's? From looking at the product pages for both machines, it looks like they have stopped including them.
Yep.

They stopped including them with the laptops a while ago (the generation of MacBooks before they went aluminum didn't have them). It was only a matter of time before they'd get dropped from the desktops as well.

If you have an Apple Remote from another Mac, it'll work just as well.
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 06:58 PM   #17
crazyrog17
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Of course they have. Those things cost $1.37 to make. You can't expect Apple to just give them away!
Well after buying a $2,000 computer, they should sell it for that price.
__________________
2.93GHz C2D 15" Unibody MacBook Pro, 320GB HDD, ExpressCard34, 4GB DDR3
2.93GHz C2D Hackintosh, Nvidia 9600GSO, 4GB DDR3, Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR
crazyrog17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2009, 07:07 PM   #18
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Apple (and others) have long histories of including extras with a purchase only to take them away later. See iPod. MB with no video adapter.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2009, 02:38 PM   #19
mattn4040
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England
I was considering buying a remote to use for Front Row, but it says (on the mac UK online store) the imac requires IR for it to work. How do i know if my imac has IR?
mattn4040 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2009, 03:51 PM   #20
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattn4040 View Post
I was considering buying a remote to use for Front Row, but it says (on the mac UK online store) the imac requires IR for it to work. How do i know if my imac has IR?
All iMacs since the iMac G5 with iSight have the IR sensor for the Apple Remote.
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2009, 03:57 PM   #21
kurosov
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I went and bought the official dock last week when my old iwantit dock broke.

I no longer have my ipod connected to speakers for music as my new imac can easily run both itunes and everything else at the same time so i use the remote i got with that on my mac and use the dock to sync/charge only.
kurosov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 08:29 AM   #22
BlackMax
macrumors 6502a
 
BlackMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynicalone View Post
They where included until this refresh. I purchased two iMacs last year both had an Apple Remote included.
My late 2008 iMac came with an Apple Remote as well. Considering Apple is sitting on nearly $29 billion in cash reserves this is a pretty lame way to cut costs.

Following this trend I suppose with the next release of the iMac you'll simply get the iMac... Period. Keyboard and mouse will be la carte.
__________________
11" MBA 1.6/4/128 27" iMac i5 2.8 GHz 27" iMac i5 2.66 GHz BMB C2D 2.0 GHz 32GB iPad 3G 32GB iPhone 5s
illegitimis non carborundum
BlackMax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 08:38 AM   #23
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackMax View Post
My late 2008 iMac came with an Apple Remote as well. Considering Apple is sitting on nearly $29 billion in cash reserves this is a pretty lame way to cut costs.

Following this trend I suppose with the next release of the iMac you'll simply get the iMac... Period. Keyboard and mouse will be la carte.
Some day we'll get an iMac without screen. You have to buy the LCD as a BTO
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 09:07 AM   #24
hector
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Some day we'll get an iMac without screen. You have to buy the LCD as a BTO
Quite a few people are looking forward to that!
__________________
flickr
chthomson.com
hector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2009, 07:47 PM   #25
Sebby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
I borrowed a friend's remote, used the learn function on my universal remote, and voila!
__________________
iPhone 6 64GB | iPad mini with Retina display 32GB | Apple TV (3rd Gen.) | iMac (Late 2012) 21.5"[/B]
Sebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Future iMac = Apple Display with Mac mini stuck to the back? booyahbooyah iMac 24 Dec 20, 2013 04:05 AM
Mac Mini not visible in Mac network (shared drives, remote desktop) xterminated OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 19, 2013 01:13 PM
Mac mini Remote Desktop famous600 Mac mini 5 Mar 22, 2013 05:49 PM
Apple Refurbished 2011 Mac Mini vs Used 2006 24" Aluminum iMac? Shwacker iMac 3 Jul 31, 2012 11:59 PM
Apple Refurbished 2011 Mac Mini vs Used 2006 24" Aluminum iMac? Shwacker Mac mini 7 Jul 31, 2012 05:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC