Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mdennison

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 28, 2009
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to macs, bought a Mac Pro 2 X 2.8 Quad harpertown a month ago. It's working great running OS X and Vista with bootcamp. I use it for video editing, Avid and FCP.

Now, I'm trying to upgrade it, so I just bought an Nvidia Quadro FX 1700 graphics card, without realising it's not supported in OS x.

I've read on a Hackintosh forum that there is a complex patching process to make OS x run this card, but I'm a bit worried it will mess up the whole install.

Is there any way of using this card? can I run it as a second card? Can I use it in Vista but have OS x ignore it and continue to use Ati? Are there any options?

Many thanks,
Magnus
ps. It's an ebay job, so I don't think return is really possible.

DoFoT9

macrumors P6
Jun 11, 2007
London, United Kingdom
my advice: DO NOT DO IT!

if you take one wrong step then something could really go wrong. its not supported by apple either so whatever goes wrong isnt covered under warranty.

you can put the card in and use it under windows xp/vista etc with no troubles, but it wont be recognised with osx.

Tesselator

macrumors 601
Jan 9, 2008
Japan
Huh? I don't get the anal retentive paranoia.

Whatever, but if there are system files and ROM images available for that card then sure, you can get it up and running in OS X with very little trouble. I dunno it that's a card that's been tested to work with OS X or not tho.

Save all the added and modded files that you have to add to the system though (I guess there's only one or two?) so when you update your system (from 10.5.6 to 10.5.7 for example) then you can re-add or re-mod the needed files.

DoFoT9

macrumors P6
Jun 11, 2007
London, United Kingdom
Huh? I don't get the anal retentive paranoia.