Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2009, 05:11 PM   #1
viperguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Battlefield Heroes on MacOSX?

hey guys, I'm downloading BF Heroes on my Windows PC right now... (beta version, in case you're interested too just head to gamespot and grab your key! mine was delivered instantly, just sign in and go to the game page!)
Does anyone know if there will be mac support for it at some point?
Couldn't find the answer on the official forum, maybe someone has any rumor and is willing to share?
__________________
Macbook Alu, 8 GB iPod Nano (4th Gen), 1 GB iPod Shuffle, 4 GB iPod Nano (1st Gen)..
viperguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2009, 07:40 PM   #2
aznguyen316
macrumors 68010
 
aznguyen316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
prob not anytime soon considering it has been in dev for awhile and only in beta phase now on pc. I say don't hold your breath, but if it does come out, hoping the servers can swap profiles

anyway I got a beta key today via their signup but had issues activating it. the websites would not go anywhere after submitting. step 3 and step 4.. can't seem to log into the play.battlefield site
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB | iPad rMini 16GB
My Channel for MBP videos
aznguyen316 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 07:48 AM   #3
viperguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznguyen316 View Post
prob not anytime soon considering it has been in dev for awhile and only in beta phase now on pc. I say don't hold your breath, but if it does come out, hoping the servers can swap profiles

anyway I got a beta key today via their signup but had issues activating it. the websites would not go anywhere after submitting. step 3 and step 4.. can't seem to log into the play.battlefield site
Yeah, on a deeper search I found out that it`s being developed for XP and Vista for now, but maybe more operational systems will be supported later.

Hmm.. my key activated fine. Did you copy and paste the full code gamespot gave you? you have to create one exclusive account for the beta and then link it to your official EA account first. play.battlefield asks for the login of the beta, not your EA account login, remember that! (my beta login is different than my EA login, maybe yours is too?)

It`s a pretty addictive game!
__________________
Macbook Alu, 8 GB iPod Nano (4th Gen), 1 GB iPod Shuffle, 4 GB iPod Nano (1st Gen)..
viperguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 08:50 AM   #4
alkar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I couldnt make it to work with Crossover (C++ errors) but I tried it with VMWare Fusion and was surprised it worked out beautifully (except you should play it in Medium Details, not High else graphics are messed up) and was definitely playable.
alkar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 01:24 PM   #5
aznguyen316
macrumors 68010
 
aznguyen316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkar View Post
I couldnt make it to work with Crossover (C++ errors) but I tried it with VMWare Fusion and was surprised it worked out beautifully (except you should play it in Medium Details, not High else graphics are messed up) and was definitely playable.
that's surprising may try that. just downloaded it in bootcamp but didn't mess w/ it
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB | iPad rMini 16GB
My Channel for MBP videos
aznguyen316 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 06:12 PM   #6
palebluedot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkar View Post
I couldnt make it to work with Crossover (C++ errors) but I tried it with VMWare Fusion and was surprised it worked out beautifully (except you should play it in Medium Details, not High else graphics are messed up) and was definitely playable.
What are the specs on your machine that ran Fusion? And what allotments did you use? If Fusion can play it well I may have to reinstall Fusion

I just hate how Fusion runs all these background processes all the time when you startup your Mac like a network process and stuff. Ugh.
palebluedot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 07:53 PM   #7
alkar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
hackint0sh with a 8800 GT + C2D E6600@3.50GHz. Oh and I had to disable the VMWare mouse driver, else the mouse goes crazy.
alkar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 09:58 PM   #8
aznguyen316
macrumors 68010
 
aznguyen316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkar View Post
hackint0sh with a 8800 GT + C2D E6600@3.50GHz. Oh and I had to disable the VMWare mouse driver, else the mouse goes crazy.
well damn nm lol 3.5ghz? owned
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB | iPad rMini 16GB
My Channel for MBP videos
aznguyen316 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WW] - Heroes - Game Over! Good Guys win! chrmjenkins Community Discussion 1038 Jun 19, 2014 11:48 AM
A1260 macosx? zoran MacBook Pro 3 Sep 4, 2013 01:40 PM
C&C Generals for MacOSX 10.8? Xeratix Mac and PC Games 6 Dec 25, 2012 07:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC