Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

harveypooka

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 24, 2004
My Altec Lansing MX5021's have finally died.

I've had two sets and while the quality of sound is really quite wonderful, speakers usually end up making clicking sounds and the transformer inside the subwoofer is very, very loud.

I listen to a range of music - from deep ambient to heavy rock - and play a lot of games. Clarity is more important than volume.

Any suggestions?

shawnathan

macrumors member
Mar 31, 2008
I've been using the same set of Soundsticks II for about 5 years now, and they still sound great!

ErikAndre

macrumors 6502a
Nov 14, 2007
Florida
I've been using the Aiwa TS-C20 System for 12 years now. I bought the one on the show room floor. I have it on my MacPro 2008 and use it for HD Video Production. Never failed me since.

Rychy

macrumors 6502
Aug 14, 2007
I need some speakers for my Mac Pro too... I've been thinking about getting the Soundsticks II.

mattlong1978

macrumors member
Dec 4, 2008
United Kingdom
I use the Acoustic Energy Aego M 2.1 speakers which have impressed me no end after previously using some Logitech Z680's which i found to be way to bass heavy the Aego M's where much more balanced and not as overwhelming don't be put of by the size of the satellites these speakers are an outstanding bit of kit.

eylee86

macrumors newbie
Apr 5, 2009
Swan M10