Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 27, 2009, 11:30 PM   #1
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
PCs GTX285/275/260/295 working in any MacPro....

We recently received a drivers for gt200/gt200b chips, if anyone is interesting in getting geforece gtx working in macpro - lets try.

you will need an injector, for example this one - http://netkas.org/?p=107 .

and drivers itself, from evga site - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=100725204

it checks for macpro model (3,1 and 4,1), so if u have 1,1 or 2,1 - use pacifist application to extract kexts from pkg and install them with kexthelper application

Last edited by netkas; Jun 13, 2009 at 04:53 AM.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 04:31 AM   #2
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
Wow, I cant understand why there is such a low interest for this.

Nobody want the possibility to use a PC GTX 285 in OSX? It is half the price of the mac version. Or even a GTX 295...
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 04:50 AM   #3
Amethyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Netkas , Can you suggest about the card that can use with your injector on Mac pro,

Now i need nvidia card on my mac pro very very much. (Working in CUDA programming)

I try 2600XT with 9800GX2 and get nothing , no pci card , graphics details on system profiler when plug monitor with 9800GX2 i got black screen.

and then try 2600XT with 8600GT i got a blue screen when i plug monitor with 2600XT and get a black screen when plug monitor with 8600GT.

this is my log when installing 8600GT
http://www.mediafire.com/?mzdizqy2zzz

ps. Thank you for your hard works.
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 8x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 05:14 AM   #4
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Will this have a chance of working with a GTX 275?
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 07:35 AM   #5
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by peskaa View Post
Will this have a chance of working with a GTX 275?
yeah
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 08:14 AM   #6
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Sweet, I'll certainly be trying this out. I'd love to be able to just run my 275.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2009, 02:10 PM   #7
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
replug thing was caused by wrong NVCAP value, we fixed it now

Last edited by netkas; May 28, 2009 at 03:57 PM.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 03:19 AM   #8
alam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
tnx nektas
does this mean i can buy today a pc card 285 and it will work on osx?
and one last thing please, could you explain what did you mean by this
Quote:
Originally Posted by netkas View Post
and drivers itself, cant post link here, you can find them in irc.osx86.hu #gt200 channel, link in topic.
and where can i find that topic?
__________________
Mac Pro 2008, 1x2.8 Ghz Cpu, 4 GB Ram, 6 TB HDD, Nvidia GTX 285 Mac Eddition; 160 GB iPod classic; iPhone
alam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 03:24 AM   #9
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by alam View Post
tnx nektas
does this mean i can buy today a pc card 285 and it will work on osx?
and one last thing please, could you explain what did you mean by this


and where can i find that topic?
noone tested it on macpro yet.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 03:37 AM   #10
10THzMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I just went to that web site and registered and cannot find #gt200 anywhere netkas - can you be more explicit about where these are - and indeed if these are the new 10.5.7 drivers? I was only able to get to #hackint0sh.

I checked netkas.org and your link there is similarly obscure. I see your OpenGL numbers are now even better than the ones I posted a few days ago! What CPU did you have (mine were 08 mac pro, 2.8GHz). OpenGL 2.1 is now much better.

Last edited by 10THzMac; May 29, 2009 at 03:45 AM.
10THzMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 04:03 AM   #11
thepawn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
what model card were you successful with, I think I may try this?
thepawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 04:24 AM   #12
10THzMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Eventually found the drivers and loaded onto my Mac Pro 10.5.7 partition - so far my 285 is not driving anything and the new drivers have actually disabled CUDA working on my 8800 and sometime cause a system freeze. Will fiddle some more but am not convinced - maybe it works better on a hackintosh?

Added in edit - now giving up. Results so far from Mac Pro with 8800 in slot 1, pc 285 in slot 2 under 10.5.7

1. new drivers + netkas inject - no complete boot, stuck on blue screen
2. new drivers + corevidia 1.1 inject, boots only 8800, no signal on 285. System unstable and CUDA disabled.

Any ideas netkas - is there something in your setup that means this is only for hackintosh? Is having two different cards causing a problem? I have a 2G 285 - is that an issue? Do I need to edit a plist or NVCAp setting somewhere>

Last edited by 10THzMac; May 29, 2009 at 05:06 AM.
10THzMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 06:57 AM   #13
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
yeah, an idea - unplug display connector from gtx285, boot osx(completly boot), plug display into gtx285

also try - gtx285 in slot1, 8800gt in slot2

my injector was coded with macpro support in mind.

Last edited by netkas; May 29, 2009 at 07:04 AM.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 09:14 AM   #14
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10THzMac View Post
I just went to that web site and registered and cannot find #gt200 anywhere netkas - can you be more explicit about where these are - and indeed if these are the new 10.5.7 drivers? I was only able to get to #hackint0sh.
You are using IRC, aren't you? Just go to the server he mentioned, then in the text box type /join #gt200. It took me about five seconds to get into the channel.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 10:07 AM   #15
10THzMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
You are using IRC, aren't you? Just go to the server he mentioned, then in the text box type /join #gt200. It took me about five seconds to get into the channel.
Then you are smarter than I am. I did eventually figure out what IRC was - never done it before. Will try netkas suggestions (thx) but need to do my day job right now....very keen to get this up now I see netkas OpenGL scores better than mine with CoreVidia and Snow. Interesting comparison with Quadro numbers as well.
10THzMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 06:23 PM   #16
thepawn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
what model card are you guys trying? I don't want to run into that non-reference issue that cropped up in the ATI space... I'd like to try the 285 in my Mac Pro.
thepawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2009, 02:09 AM   #17
10THzMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I am using the Palit GTX 285 with 2G RAM, and a Zotac 260 (216 core) on two separate systems, each with an 8800GT in slot 1 for the EFI boot. I might be making extra trouble for myself using a 2G card rather than 1G - recognizing memory above 1.5G (as is on the Quadro) seems to give glitches. If you do want want to spend the money on the Mac edition 285, my advice would be to get an EVGA PC 285. The reason I say this is that a year or two back EVGA were fairly reliably shipping PC 8800 cards that could be flashed. Others may have different views.
10THzMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2009, 03:18 AM   #18
thepawn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Cool...that's the one I was figuring I would try it on.
thepawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2009, 01:43 PM   #19
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
more and more success stories on hacks: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...st=80&start=80

about sot locatio of gtx 2xx card:

on hackintosh side, when u install multiple nvidia cards, you need to set inital graphics port to last one (for example if cards installed into peg1 and peg2, inital must be peg2)

since gtx 2xx card on macpro isnt initialized by efi , i think you will need to install it into first port, and some other nvidia mac card to slot2/3/4.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 07:58 AM   #20
10THzMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Alive on Mac Pro - 260+10.5.7

I am starting to get somewhere with this on a Mac Pro and 10.5.7, but only on my 8800+260 Pro. I still get hang ups with an 8800+2Gig 285. With the 260 the card certainly drivers a monitor and comes up with QE/CI working, and goodish OpenGL numbers in the expected range. (It only has 216 cores and is slower clock)

My problem is that CUDA is now totally screwed up. It thinks I only have one card, not two, and the readings coming out are all wrong on deviceQuery, and codes like nbody just do not start. My Mac thinks my 260 has 0Meg VRAM as well. So netkas has clearly done a great job, but it is kinda 75% there at the moment. The good news is in the screen shots. This is of course 100% if you only need the monitor use, but more is needed for multi-GPU computational work.

Thanks netkas - I will keep fiddling with this and my other card as well.

FYI - this working card is a Zotac GTX 260 with 216 cores and 89x Meg RAM. My problems are more with a Palit GTX 285 with 2G RAM. Both cards work fine with a 8800GT and operate as dual GPU under Windows.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hardware.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	173528   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	156
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	173529  
10THzMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 08:10 AM   #21
Chilz0r
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
That's still pretty sweet progress lol
Chilz0r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 12:00 PM   #22
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
looks like vram size detection works only for POSTed card (aka it has rom for this platform),
Brutal fix for it - http://rapidshare.de/files/47380512/...cards.pkg.html (updated version of injector)

btw, what link speed (in PCI cards section of ssytem profiler) 2.5 or 5 ?

Last edited by netkas; Jun 1, 2009 at 12:18 PM.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 01:14 PM   #23
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
I'm ready to try this on my 2008 MP with a GTX 275, but I need a step-by-step walkthrough to get this right. I only have two power leads for the cards as well (ie: I can't power the 8800GT as well as the 275), is that a problem?
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 01:39 PM   #24
netkas
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
step by step about software side - http://netkas.org/?p=106

well, you can try to install drivers with 8800 gt installed, then shut down macpro, insert 275gtx and try to boot it ( u will not see anything until os booted)

if it doesnt work - swap 275 to 8800gt and it should boot.

Last edited by netkas; Jun 1, 2009 at 01:45 PM.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 01:54 PM   #25
risingforce
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
And we do not have the 8800GT? I have a Mac Pro Early 2009 with the Geforce GT 120.

greetings
risingforce is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX285 & earlier with Mavericks = NO CUDA MacVidCards Mac Pro 10 Dec 28, 2013 11:55 AM
MacPro recently smashed, wanting to use through HDMI but not working? Britnee MacBook Pro 0 Oct 29, 2013 08:59 PM
GTX 295 in Mac Pro vinny. Mac Pro 2 Jan 28, 2013 03:10 AM
GeForce GTX285 Mac Edition Magic2007 Buying Tips and Advice 6 Jul 29, 2012 11:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC