Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2009, 10:49 PM   #1
hostage46
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Parallels on my old G5?

So the old girl runs just fine, dusted her off, updated the OS. I did the trial of Enrourage and is was OK, but I'm thinking of a going the parallels route...and just installing office on the Mac....

Model Name: Power Mac G5
Model Identifier: PowerMac7,2
Processor Name: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
Processor Speed: 1.6 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 1
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1.25 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.1.5f2

Any reason not to press on and go for it?

Dan in Dallas...
hostage46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 10:50 PM   #2
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
need intel

no way around it

theres virtual pc but the performance is so poor its stupid to even try
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 10:51 PM   #3
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
You only optional is Virtual PC, but that is slow.

Last edited by r.j.s; Jun 11, 2009 at 10:51 PM. Reason: Zombie processess detected, machine is haunted.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 10:51 PM   #4
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
I don't think VPC even works on the G5, unless MS did an update to it.
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 10:55 PM   #5
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
You would need Virtual PC, which is an emulator (it has to translate the Intel instruction set to PPC). It would work, but it would not be a great solution for everyday Office use. If OS-X Entourage worked at all for you, stick with that.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 07:04 AM   #6
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by iShater View Post
I don't think VPC even works on the G5, unless MS did an update to it.
Virtual PC does work on the G5 with the latest/last version that was available, but had some issues with OS X 10.5.x - if memory serves, I think it was an issue with the optical drive not working. The work around was to use an ISO disc image instead of the actual optical drive.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display Nexus 5 Nexus 7
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 07:25 AM   #7
PrincessPeach
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I use Virtual PC on my faithful G5 (dual 2.5GHz) and it absolutely crawls - can't even run anything demanding at all, and most things it can run are well below acceptable speed for work use. It's useful for the odd task and opening otherwise useless files to convert but I'd never recommend it as a viable alternative option to an office package running natively on your machine.

If it's just Office go with a proper Mac version (I have Microsoft Office v.X which is ancient but I've yet to need to upgrade enough to do so) or one of the OpenOffice/NeoOffice options, you'll go crazy doing that kind of thing in VPC.

Parallels as mentioned is for Intel machines only. The performance gap between Parallels on an Intel machine and Virtual PC on an old Mac is worlds apart, unfortunately. That doesn't mean that your G5 can't earn its keep using traditional OSX applications though.
PrincessPeach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 08:52 AM   #8
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
At this point I would recommend getting a used-mini, it will probably have more power than that G5
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 09:09 AM   #9
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors 601
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iShater View Post
At this point I would recommend getting a used-mini, it will probably have more power than that G5
It would definitely be more powerful than the G5. Even the original 1.5GHz Core Solo would be faster unless running a legacy PowerPC app.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 10:57 AM   #10
CaptainJeff
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elkridge, Maryland; USA
For the record, all of the Intel chips used in Macs has Intel's VT technologies, meaning the chip itself supports virtualization. Doing it at the chip-level in place of at the software level (as the earliest versions of VMware did) gives modern hypervisor-based systems (including Fusion and Parallels) the speed that we all enjoy.

PowerPC chips did/do not support virtualization at the chip level. And, even if they did, you would be trying to run Windows within the VM which does not run on a PowerPC ISA so you would need emulation/conversation anyway.
CaptainJeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 05:27 AM   #11
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
VPC crawls. Even my Dual core 2.3 can only muster enough power to emulate performance of a 500mhz PentiumIII. A single 1.6 would be lucky to make equivalent of 300mhz.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2009, 03:11 PM   #12
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Yeah. I have Virtual PC 7.0.1 running on a Quad G5 with 4 GB RAM, and TBO Windows 2000 Pro is the last Windows OS you can run decently.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Retail Stores to Encourage Mac Business Usage with Parallels Desktop, Parallels 9 Pre-Orders Begin Popping Up MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 132 Nov 13, 2013 05:48 PM
Parallels VM vs Parallels Bootcamp Partition davenz Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Apr 14, 2013 08:38 AM
Parallels VM vs Parallels Bootcamp Partition davenz Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Apr 14, 2013 05:31 AM
Bootcamp in Parallels or just Parallels? Qwerty11 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 15 Nov 4, 2012 10:04 PM
Bootcamp in Parallels vs just Parallels Qwerty11 OS X 3 Nov 3, 2012 01:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC