Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2009, 04:09 PM   #1
thinkingman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Installing MacPorts & Fink Under Snow Leopard (10.6)

For those of us who need these packages, here are some tips for installing both under 10.6:

For fink, a great set of instructions exists here:
http://sage.ucsc.edu/~wgscott/xtal/w..._Fink_for_10.5
  1. Open up the Terminal
  2. Follow all the instructions on the page http://sage.ucsc.edu/~wgscott/xtal/w..._Fink_for_10.5
  3. I chose the default options, for those of you 64-bit purists who don't want any 32-bit software on their system, you might want to choose the “64-bit Only” option when prompted by Fink
  4. Also, since I'm not concerned about running a 32-bit version of Fink alongside my 64-bit Fink, I altered the /sw64 wherever it appeared in the instructions to /sw

For MacPorts, the process was even simpler (although it does look more complicated in these instructions, really it is simpler):
  1. Open up the Terminal
  2. svn co http://svn.macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
  3. Wait for it to finish checking out files
  4. cd base
  5. ./configure
  6. make
  7. sudo make install
  8. sudo /opt/local/bin/port -v selfupdate

Now, to get the binary paths configured properly for all users of the Mac, I edited /etc/profile with the following:
  1. sudo nano /etc/profile
  2. Add the following lines after the end of this file:
    PATH=$PATH:/opt/local/bin
    source /sw/bin/init.sh

  3. If you didn't change Fink's directory from /sw64 to /sw above like I did, then that last line should instead read:
    source /sw64/bin/init.sh
  4. Then save (if using nano as I did above, ^X then Return)

Then, close your Terminal window and reopen a new one in order to use the fink and port commands. (In case you don't know, closing/reopening the window in Terminal is the easiest way to test that your installations and path configurations work properly and that your bash sessions can find the paths as you configured them... but if you're following along up to this point, you probably know that already!)
thinkingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:02 PM   #2
rickvug
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Thank you!

This is helpful to know. I don't have access to Snow Leopard yet. Is there any confirmation that packages will be updated from Leopard versions?
rickvug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 01:47 AM   #3
dilbert4life
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bolivia, according to my flag :P
Thanks. This is helpful. I am having a problem though - when I ./configure, it is saying that I have no c compiler, even though I have developer tools installed and was using macports on leopard. What can I do short of trying to reinstall the developer tools?
__________________
Got me a 13.3in 2.26GHz MacBook Pro.  I work for a Chicago Web Design Company  I freelance for an SEO Company
dilbert4life is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 12:49 PM   #4
nacho4d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
thanks!

With ports working I am moving completely to Snow Leopard...
Thanks again.
nacho4d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2009, 08:50 AM   #5
jphastings
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilbert4life View Post
Thanks. This is helpful. I am having a problem though - when I ./configure, it is saying that I have no c compiler, even though I have developer tools installed and was using macports on leopard. What can I do short of trying to reinstall the developer tools?
I have the same problem, I've added the XCode binary location to my PATH (added the line 'PATH=$PATH:/XCode3.1.3/usr/bin' to /etc/profile) but while it can now find gcc, it claims gcc cannot create executables.

Any ideas? (I'm only installing macports here, not fink)

-- update --

You need to use the Xcode installer that comes with Snow Leopard! I foolishly tried using the download of Xcode 3.1.3!

Last edited by jphastings; Jul 23, 2009 at 09:28 AM.
jphastings is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2009, 02:34 AM   #6
t-roy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Path Issues

I initially had difficulty getting this to work and started investigating some fairly nasty issues related to threading when I realized that I had a /opt directory already from a previous old install of MacPorts. I renamed it /opt.old (in case I needed to refer to it later) and all went smoothly.

While probably not even related, but just to be sure, I also renamed my /sw directory (from an old fink install).

I migrated both directories to my new machine a while back and the architecture was even different, so the binaries in there were most likely pretty useless.

Hope this helps.

-Troy
t-roy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 11:44 AM   #7
drsoong
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Munich
Fink installation migration

I have the same problem. I updated from Leopard to Snow Leopard and now in any of my projects that rely on Linux libraries I get linker complaints about wrong architecture libraries.

I did a fink dist-upgrade right after my Snow Leopard migration, but that seems not to have updated the packages to 64 bit.

I looked at the above mentioned guide, and I am tempted to move my existing /sw directory to a backup (/sw_bak) and do a clean fink ./bootstrap onto /sw. But as far as I understand that of course means I'll have to install packages by hand, don't I?

I did create a list of installed fink packages two months ago, it is still a bit of a hassle, but I most definitely need the libraries for software development.

Is there an easier way to migrate? Otherwise I'll just bite the bullet, move the directory and go through my package list with fink install <package> (I still could write a bash script maybe).

Thanks.
drsoong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 08:57 AM   #8
alisajjad007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Macports ./Configure Error during MacPorts compilation

Hello
i came across this error when i run ./configure during MacPorts compilation

checking for Tcl package directory... /sw64/lib/tcl8.5
checking whether tclsh was compiled with threads... no
configure: error: tcl wasn't compiled with threads enabled

is there any tip for resolving this problem as i tried different stuff

thanks in advance

Bye
alisajjad007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 06:10 PM   #9
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Regarding MacPorts: download their Snow Leopard installer package, it will automatically install MacPorts without going through all the hassle in the first post.

@alisajjad007: either recompile tcl with thread support or try the official installer from MacPorts.
dyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2009, 03:43 AM   #10
thinkingman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'll second that…

…I will second that, here, now that 10.6 is officially out (actually 10.6.2), you can quite easily install the official Snow Leopard release and avoid messages like the above. Despite what I've read recommended in other places, I had quite a bit of luck just installing the official package over the previous installation.

Mahalo,
Thinkingman
__________________
Thinkingman.com / OrangePurpleSilver.com New Media
Advanced web app, game, print and crossmedia design.
thinkingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2009, 05:02 AM   #11
macrem
macrumors 65816
 
macrem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Amsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by alisajjad007 View Post
Hello
i came across this error when i run ./configure during MacPorts compilation

checking for Tcl package directory... /sw64/lib/tcl8.5
[...]
Do you mean during Fink compilation? /sw64 looks like a Fink path. MacPorts uses /opt
__________________
iPhone 6 | iPad Air 2 | rMBP 15 | iMac 27 | tv
macrem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 08:18 AM   #12
Amanda1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I am also interested in this package for Leopard versions, if anybody know more about this, please let me know. Thanks in Advance.
__________________
good one
Amanda1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 06:26 AM   #13
erwin.zeez
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
interesting and catchy post there………………….. interesting read should be a sticky lol

(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
/_|_\
erwin.zeez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 03:50 AM   #14
borrows123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
That is real quick..
How you people able to find the answers...?
__________________
BORROWS
borrows123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 10:57 PM   #15
jackuret
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SW Suburban Chicago
Installing macports

Here's what I get (did I misunderstand?):

Macintosh-2:~ jackuretsky$ svn co http://svn. macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
svn: OPTIONS of 'http://svn.': Could not resolve hostname `svn.': Host not found (http://svn.)
Macintosh-2:~ jackuretsky$ svn co http://svn. macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
jackuret is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 09:04 AM   #16
dilbert4life
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bolivia, according to my flag :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackuret View Post
Here's what I get (did I misunderstand?):

Macintosh-2:~ jackuretsky$ svn co http://svn. macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
svn: OPTIONS of 'http://svn.': Could not resolve hostname `svn.': Host not found (http://svn.)
Macintosh-2:~ jackuretsky$ svn co http://svn. macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
No, you got it right (almost) you just need to remove the space after svn. - right now you have it as svn. macports.org instead of svn.macports.org.

That should solve the problem.

Enjoy!
__________________
Got me a 13.3in 2.26GHz MacBook Pro.  I work for a Chicago Web Design Company  I freelance for an SEO Company
dilbert4life is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2011, 06:58 PM   #17
Diffcode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I'm really sorry for the stupid question, but am I the only one who gets:

" -bash: make: command not found "

o.O
Diffcode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 12:53 PM   #18
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Install Xcode and use the binary installer to install Macports. That way everything will be setup properly and very easily. When it screams it can not find make that might be because you don't have Xcode installed.
dyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 06:47 AM   #19
PenguinApple
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
How can I get binaries of Macports?

I installed Macports on my Macbook Pro 2011 (running SnowLeopard 10.6.6) successfully in order to use KDEnlive.

Then I ran
Code:
sudo port install kdenlive
according to the instructions. But rather than fetching binaries it fetchjes sources and started to compile all souces (even of the whole KDE library) which lasted for HOURS and processor load 100% most times. So I canceled it after an hour.

Is there a way to get the binaries just lile the "sudo apt-get install kdenlive" in Ubuntu 10.10 ?
(I have Ubuntu 10.10 in a VMware on my Macbook).
PenguinApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 02:48 AM   #20
wasoomro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Useful Discussion. Thanks.

Last edited by wasoomro; Apr 26, 2012 at 06:47 AM.
wasoomro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 02:43 PM   #21
DaveTheMaster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diffcode View Post
I'm really sorry for the stupid question, but am I the only one who gets:
CityVille Hack
" -bash: make: command not found "

o.O
ARGH I get this too! - Has there been a solution to this yet?

Last edited by DaveTheMaster; Feb 29, 2012 at 12:50 PM.
DaveTheMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 05:10 PM   #22
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveTheMaster View Post
ARGH I get this too! - Has there been a solution to this yet?
First, you're replying to a thread that was created in 2009 to a post from last year. Second, a few seconds in Google likely could have found the answer (or the next post after the one you quoted):

Install Xcode (formerly just known as the Developer Tools). make is part of that package.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Snow Leopard and Mavericks sgtbob iMac 6 May 30, 2014 11:35 PM
installing snow leopard and than powers off 50L iMac 3 Mar 2, 2014 11:50 AM
Problem when installing OS X Snow Leopard Hilok146 OS X 4 Dec 2, 2012 10:30 PM
Installing ML on MCB using Leopard ( not snow ) elijahweb OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 14, 2012 04:37 PM
Fink vs Macports dukebound85 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 19, 2012 11:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC