Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 19, 2004, 02:38 PM   #1
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
archiving an old Mac...

i have a pretty old Mac, LC III with 80 MB HD. i'm getting rid of it but before i do that, i thought since the HD is so small, i could afford to "archive" the entire HD. i thought it would make a fun project.

the only mass storage connection available is the SCSI and i have found a SCSI HD. so i'm gonna try connecting it tonight.

other than dragging the entire "MacIntosh HD" to the SCSI HD on the desktop, is there anything i need to know?

i have a 12" PB. i know i won't be able to boot into whatever is on the LC III, but will classic (i.e. OS 9.2.2) be able to handle applications on the LC III?

any thoughts, ideas or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
jxyama is offline   0
Old May 19, 2004, 05:02 PM   #2
evil_santa
macrumors 6502a
 
evil_santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, England
I got given a imac 233 recenly, although the person who gave it me had backed up & moved all the files to their new computer, they wanted a copy of the HD should they needed any pref files from the system etc. I found that making a disk image or copying the filed to an external drive wouldnt let me copy some of the system files as they were in use, so I had to boot from CD before i could do the copy. Its funny to think that entire HD would fit onto Multimedia card. I still got an old 60MB HD from my atari ST cost me £800 in 1985ish!!!
evil_santa is offline   0
Old May 19, 2004, 09:19 PM   #3
Sparky's
macrumors 6502a
 
Sparky's's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
What OS is the old guy running? I would find a Zip drive for the SCSI and just copy the entire contents to it. 80mbs will fit just fine and you could access it at any time. There really isn't any special to know about it, just make sure the archive goes alright maybe do a redundant backup and then reformat the drive with zeros.

If you boot into classic on your power book (if you can) it should handle any app you have on the old HD
__________________
God had a brain fart…and we are it! - me

24"iMac, Adobe CS4, 1T LaCie backup drive
Sparky's is offline   0
Old May 20, 2004, 12:27 AM   #4
applemacdude
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Over The Rainbow
Send a message via ICQ to applemacdude Send a message via AIM to applemacdude Send a message via MSN to applemacdude Send a message via Yahoo to applemacdude Send a message via Skype™ to applemacdude
Its not gonna run nothing higher than 7.5
applemacdude is offline   0
Old May 20, 2004, 08:24 AM   #5
jxyama
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
thanks for sharing, guys...

i think it's running 7.1. it's b/w. i'm still amazed it runs - and it runs quite well.

i wasn't able to connect the SCSI HD. i think the internal HD is SCSI and it's terminated at ID 0. so i need to find the jumper, i think, and un-terminate it.

i will try the zip disk method, although i'm not sure if it will mount...
jxyama is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Archiving Format zmsakarya Digital Video 8 Dec 21, 2013 11:31 PM
URGENT! Need help with [archiving in] XCODE!!! edubrrx iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Sep 20, 2013 01:21 PM
Archiving thoughts dimme Digital Photography 3 Aug 17, 2013 01:10 PM
Archiving Photos alexglee Digital Photography 8 Nov 23, 2012 05:10 PM
'Archiving' Mac Mail messages by date dakotaspurs Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 8, 2012 09:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC