Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2004, 11:41 PM   #1
Mike Teezie
macrumors 68020
 
Mike Teezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
iDVD won't use DVD-R disc for burn. URGENT!!

I'm trying to burn this project I have made in iMovie and iDVD. I have everything ready to go, but when I insert the blank DVD-R, the computer spits it back out.

When I just insert the disc without iDVD open, I get the little popup that tells me I have inserted a blank DVD, and ask me what i would like to do.

Is there any way that I can burn this and watch it on a consumer home system? I have to present this to my boss at 10am tomorrow.

Help!!
Mike Teezie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 01:47 AM   #2
yoda13
macrumors 65816
 
yoda13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
That is weird. The only thing I can think of is to ask if all of your software is patched with the latest updates? Other than that, I have no useful ideas. Sorry.
__________________
For over a thousand generations, the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic. Before the dark times, before the Empire.
yoda13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 02:32 AM   #3
KC9AIC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo, Japan or Longview, Texas
Don't Panic

Relax. The pop-up is normal behavior for blank media. The settings for what the computer will do are in the "CDs & DVDs" section. You can set behavior (to open iDVD, for example) under "When you insert a blank DVD:" Then, insert the DVD, let it open iDVD, and burn your disc. Hope the boss likes it!
__________________
What are you looking here for?
KC9AIC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 04:51 AM   #4
punkmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
blank media pop up

or just click "ignore" if it is asking you to name your dvd.

Then you can con't to burn your iDVD project.

Good Luck!

I.
punkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 04:54 AM   #5
redAPPLE
macrumors 68030
 
redAPPLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 2 Much Infinite Loops
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Teezie
I'm trying to burn this project I have made in iMovie and iDVD. I have everything ready to go, but when I insert the blank DVD-R, the computer spits it back out.

When I just insert the disc without iDVD open, I get the little popup that tells me I have inserted a blank DVD, and ask me what i would like to do.

Is there any way that I can burn this and watch it on a consumer home system? I have to present this to my boss at 10am tomorrow.

Help!!
i got this problem too. i get this problem (only) if i use really cheap dvd-rs.

try getting a more expensive dvd-r...
redAPPLE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 09:17 AM   #6
boberto4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
I know the answer.

Using iDVD you actually have to use a standard apple DVD-R for your first burn. We ran into this same problem at my school when we were trying to save money on DVD-Rs while burning a school show. After you burn this first copy you can use any DVD-R for the rest of the duplicates. However, the first burn MUST be on an APPLE DVD-R.

Hope this helps,

Newbie Robert
boberto4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 09:37 AM   #7
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Hmmm, we used StarLight DVD-R's for our first couple burns, no problem here. Have you tried another disk though? It may have some issues.

JW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 10:29 AM   #8
Mike Teezie
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Mike Teezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I assume iDVD just doesn't like the media, it still wont work.

What are some good brands to check out?
Mike Teezie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 10:58 AM   #9
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by boberto4
Using iDVD you actually have to use a standard apple DVD-R for your first burn. We ran into this same problem at my school when we were trying to save money on DVD-Rs while burning a school show. After you burn this first copy you can use any DVD-R for the rest of the duplicates. However, the first burn MUST be on an APPLE DVD-R.

Hope this helps,

Newbie Robert

Not true....On two different machines I have used Fujifilm DVD-R for their very first iDVD burn (4x media) and had absolutely no problems at all.

Cheers!

James
James L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 11:01 AM   #10
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Teezie
I'm trying to burn this project I have made in iMovie and iDVD. I have everything ready to go, but when I insert the blank DVD-R, the computer spits it back out.

When I just insert the disc without iDVD open, I get the little popup that tells me I have inserted a blank DVD, and ask me what i would like to do.

Is there any way that I can burn this and watch it on a consumer home system? I have to present this to my boss at 10am tomorrow.

Help!!
What brand, exactly are you using, and also what machine? I ask for a reason... the finder can use more DVD media types to burn DVD's than iDVD can.

For example, with the newest PB editions that have the 4x DVD burners, you can use DVD+R (note the plus sign) media to burn data DVD's in the finder, but they will NOT work with iDVD. With iDVD you have to use DVD-R (note the dash) or some other types for it to work.

This sounds like the type of thing you are running into... the finder recognizes the disc and can work with it, but iDVD cannot.

More info please!

James
James L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 11:38 AM   #11
Mike Teezie
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Mike Teezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
James, you nailed it.

These DVDs are Imation and they say DVD+R on them.

Thanks for the help! Now I just need to go pick up some DVD-Rs.
Mike Teezie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 12:07 PM   #12
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Teezie
James, you nailed it.

These DVDs are Imation and they say DVD+R on them.

Thanks for the help! Now I just need to go pick up some DVD-Rs.

Keep the DVD+R though.... might as well use them for backup or data DVD's, and who knows, future updates of iDVD or OSX might allow you to use them with iDVD yet.
James L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 01:11 PM   #13
idkew
macrumors 68020
 
idkew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
Send a message via AIM to idkew
Quote:
Originally Posted by boberto4
Using iDVD you actually have to use a standard apple DVD-R for your first burn. We ran into this same problem at my school when we were trying to save money on DVD-Rs while burning a school show. After you burn this first copy you can use any DVD-R for the rest of the duplicates. However, the first burn MUST be on an APPLE DVD-R.

Hope this helps,

Newbie Robert

no- i have never used an apple dvd. i have never had a failed dvd burn in 50+
idkew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 04:53 PM   #14
redAPPLE
macrumors 68030
 
redAPPLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 2 Much Infinite Loops
Quote:
Originally Posted by James L
What brand, exactly are you using, and also what machine? I ask for a reason... the finder can use more DVD media types to burn DVD's than iDVD can.

For example, with the newest PB editions that have the 4x DVD burners, you can use DVD+R (note the plus sign) media to burn data DVD's in the finder, but they will NOT work with iDVD. With iDVD you have to use DVD-R (note the dash) or some other types for it to work.


James
uh, where is this documented that the finder can burn dvd+r? i checked the system profiler and my 1,5 ghz pb says dvd-rw...
redAPPLE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2004, 05:08 PM   #15
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
uh, stick in a blank DVD+R, open disc utility, and look at the list on the bottom of the window. DVD+R is clearly listed. See attached Pic.

Next up, I have done it, 7 times so far. I have had no luck burning DVD+R with iDVD (apparently you can with iDVD Studio Pro or so I am told), but I have had no problems burning data DVD's in the finder with DVD+R.

Finally, here is a link to a bunch of other people who have done it:

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...ighlight=DVD+R
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskUtilityDVD+R.gif
Views:	30
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	14010  

Last edited by James L; May 26, 2004 at 05:18 PM.
James L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2004, 05:19 PM   #16
WinterMute
Moderator emeritus
 
WinterMute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, England
Send a message via AIM to WinterMute Send a message via MSN to WinterMute
DVD+r discs work fine with Toast etc for data, but not with Superdrives attempting to burn DVD-video discs, which must be DVD-r.

This may change in the near future, but DVDSP2 won't use DVD+r, maybe DVDSP3 will, I'm waiting fort the upgrade.
__________________
"Everything in excess, moderation is for monks..." Lazarus Long
--
PotPPP, MoDTPPP
WinterMute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2004, 05:26 PM   #17
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinterMute
DVD+r discs work fine with Toast etc for data, but not with Superdrives attempting to burn DVD-video discs, which must be DVD-r.

This may change in the near future, but DVDSP2 won't use DVD+r, maybe DVDSP3 will, I'm waiting fort the upgrade.

Thanks, I was wondering about Studio Pro.

I don't use toast, I have used the finder for all my DVD data burning and the DVD+R have worked fine. Hopefully iDVD and Studio Pro will add support for more media formats soon!

Cheers,

James
James L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2004, 08:27 AM   #18
p.m.withagen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Does anyone know a DVD-RW brand that works?

I have the same problem, some time ago I had no trouble burning DVD's with iDVD. I mostly used DVD-RW from Maxwell. After installing panther the trouble begun (also tried to uninstall and return to original installation).
Now I can only burn a cheap brand DVD's which won't run on a DVD-player :-((
The expensive method that I use now:
burn a cheap DVD and copy it to an other DVD, using Toast. It works, but for how long. This way I have to use 2 DVD's for burning one!

Does anyone know which brand DVD-RW (mark the W) I can use??

Greetz,
Peter
p.m.withagen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2004, 01:44 AM   #19
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by James L
Thanks, I was wondering about Studio Pro.

I don't use toast, I have used the finder for all my DVD data burning and the DVD+R have worked fine. Hopefully iDVD and Studio Pro will add support for more media formats soon!
Yeah, I'm expecting Apple to update DVD SP soon with support for dual layer DVDs (I'm only assuming that this currently isn't supported - I don't use DVD SP). I'm also half-expecting the new Power Mac G5s to have DL drives
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2004, 03:49 AM   #20
bidge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal
Yeah, I'm expecting Apple to update DVD SP soon with support for dual layer DVDs (I'm only assuming that this currently isn't supported - I don't use DVD SP). I'm also half-expecting the new Power Mac G5s to have DL drives
ummm... it's been there since version 1, now you know

http://www.apple.com/dvdstudiopro/specs.html
bidge is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor 4.1 won't burn DVD pinholestars Digital Video 0 Jan 15, 2014 05:26 PM
Can't burn on DVD disc terra MacBook 6 Jun 22, 2013 01:34 PM
How do I burn two DVD files/videos to one DVD disc, on a MacBook Pro? rossikool Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 May 16, 2013 12:12 PM
Macbook won't burn to DVD+R DL gvelasquez88 OS X 5 Sep 5, 2012 11:02 PM
Older MacBook Pro won't read or burn DVD-R billshideler MacBook Pro 2 Aug 27, 2012 02:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC