Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 24, 2009, 07:22 AM   #1
bclvr123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
cant see dock or top menu bar on start up

I just fired up an older mac g4 for the first time in over a year with a different monitor then I had before. The problem is that when booted up I cant see the dock or the menu bar at the top on the monitor. my finder window opens but I cant open any apps. Or if I do they don't show in the monitor. I have tried several diff monitors, same story. Any help would be appreciated.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 08:22 AM   #2
surflordca
macrumors 6502a
 
surflordca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclvr123 View Post
I just fired up an older mac g4 for the first time in over a year with a different monitor then I had before. The problem is that when booted up I cant see the dock or the menu bar at the top on the monitor. my finder window opens but I cant open any apps. Or if I do they don't show in the monitor. I have tried several diff monitors, same story. Any help would be appreciated.
What about changing screen resolution
__________________
I'm not fluent in idiot, so please speak slowly & clearly.
surflordca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 08:35 AM   #3
bclvr123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Screen resolution

I would love to but I cant get to the menu to do that, there in lies my problem.
I didn't know if there was something I could do at start up? If I open an app, it opens but I cant find it on the desktop.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:13 AM   #4
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
This sounds like a monitor detection problem. If you can get to System Preferences somehow, go into Displays and tell it to detect displays. That should fix it.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:23 AM   #5
bclvr123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Screen resolution

Thanks for the suggestions. There is just no way for me to get to any apps right now. I will try restarting or turn off turn on monitor again. On start up it says auto detecting monitor.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:47 AM   #6
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
You can access apple menu with keyboard short cut, then hit down arrow 4 times, hit enter to bring up system preferences.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I get rid of icons in the top menu bar? jojoba Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Apr 25, 2013 12:06 PM
how do i keep the menu bar on top during full screen? Che Castro OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 9 Feb 7, 2013 06:01 PM
Some icons missing on Desktop Menu Bar, Safari Menu Bar and Finder Menu Bar chroniceater MacBook Air 7 Jan 14, 2013 11:50 AM
Have apps in menu bar instead of dock? RadicalProject OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 11, 2012 01:37 PM
Unknown icon in top menu bar of iMac kjh1984 OS X 1 Jul 24, 2012 08:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC