Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 24, 2009, 07:22 AM   #1
bclvr123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
cant see dock or top menu bar on start up

I just fired up an older mac g4 for the first time in over a year with a different monitor then I had before. The problem is that when booted up I cant see the dock or the menu bar at the top on the monitor. my finder window opens but I cant open any apps. Or if I do they don't show in the monitor. I have tried several diff monitors, same story. Any help would be appreciated.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 08:22 AM   #2
surflordca
macrumors 6502a
 
surflordca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclvr123 View Post
I just fired up an older mac g4 for the first time in over a year with a different monitor then I had before. The problem is that when booted up I cant see the dock or the menu bar at the top on the monitor. my finder window opens but I cant open any apps. Or if I do they don't show in the monitor. I have tried several diff monitors, same story. Any help would be appreciated.
What about changing screen resolution
__________________
I'm not fluent in idiot, so please speak slowly & clearly.
surflordca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 08:35 AM   #3
bclvr123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Screen resolution

I would love to but I cant get to the menu to do that, there in lies my problem.
I didn't know if there was something I could do at start up? If I open an app, it opens but I cant find it on the desktop.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:13 AM   #4
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
This sounds like a monitor detection problem. If you can get to System Preferences somehow, go into Displays and tell it to detect displays. That should fix it.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:23 AM   #5
bclvr123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Screen resolution

Thanks for the suggestions. There is just no way for me to get to any apps right now. I will try restarting or turn off turn on monitor again. On start up it says auto detecting monitor.
bclvr123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 09:47 AM   #6
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
You can access apple menu with keyboard short cut, then hit down arrow 4 times, hit enter to bring up system preferences.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User Name not Appearing in Top Menu Bar applefan27073 OS X 7 Nov 9, 2011 02:40 AM
Account name in the menu bar danakm Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 9 Jul 21, 2011 07:39 AM
How can I stop mac menu bar appearing in games polo3400 Mac and PC Games 4 Feb 17, 2011 04:31 PM
Black Vertical Bar on Start Up - Mac Pro 2.66 Quad Core 6Gb RAM mruocco Mac Pro 1 Dec 6, 2010 12:03 PM
Screen resolution problems results in double menu bar frannyy MacBook 0 Nov 6, 2010 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC