Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Tomple
macrumors 6502a
 
Tomple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York, New York
iMac 8,1

if my iMac says 8,1 next to it in system profiler does that mean its an 08 model?

sorry for the stupid question i just need more ram and i want to know how much can put in
__________________
.__@
_-\<,_
(*)/_(*)
Atlas
Tomple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 11:27 AM   #2
jkimbro0316
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Florida
No it just means that it's the eighth revision of the iMac line. Kind of like with the iPhone: Original iPhone (1,1) iPhone 3G (1,2) iPhone 3G S (2,1)

EDIT: Sorry didn't even read the entire question like an idiot lol, the iMac 8,1 is the first version of the aluminum models that was introduced in August 2007 i believe, it uses 667 MHz DDR2 RAM. I know that one for a fact considering that's what I use. Plus it can take up to 4GB of RAM so you should be able to buy it for a relatively low price.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" iPhone 5 16GB White

Last edited by jkimbro0316; Jul 2, 2009 at 11:43 AM.
jkimbro0316 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 11:29 AM   #3
waterskier2007
macrumors 68000
 
waterskier2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Lake, MI
Send a message via AIM to waterskier2007
i know that there are some sites you can go to that will either let you put in your serial number or lead you through a tutorial to find the right memory for you

try crucial.com
__________________
2012 Mac Mini, 2.6 GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD
2.4Ghz 15" Macbook Pro
16 GB iPhone 5 : 32 GB iPhone 4S : 16 GB iPad 3
16 GB Nexus 7 (2012)
waterskier2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 05:29 PM   #4
Tomple
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Tomple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York, New York
thanks for the quick answers
__________________
.__@
_-\<,_
(*)/_(*)
Atlas
Tomple is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 36 Mar 17, 2015 02:00 PM
Just got an email from apple about my new iMac? I didnt buy a new iMac lol wtf? aPple nErd Community Discussion 19 Sep 16, 2014 11:20 PM
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
iMac clicking/static sound when screen if off but iMac still working in background MartinAppleGuy iMac 0 Dec 12, 2013 09:41 AM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC