Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2009, 01:56 PM   #1
michael31986
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Copying songs back to computer from iPod? do you lose quality?

when you copy songs back from your ipod to your computer do you lose quality AT ALL? also whats the best program to use to copy songs back to my computer?
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 01:59 PM   #2
thegoldenmackid
macrumors 604
 
thegoldenmackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: dallas, texas
Send a message via AIM to thegoldenmackid Send a message via Skype™ to thegoldenmackid
Senuti and no.
__________________
thegoldenmackid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 05:18 PM   #3
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Ok that's good. Thought since it only copies the songs back that it loses quality.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 06:22 PM   #4
DaftUnion
macrumors 6502a
 
DaftUnion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to DaftUnion
What you're thinking of is if you make an audio cd (aka .wav files) from the mp3 files you have on your computer and then convert this back into mp3...that's where you lose a lot of quality.

Copying mp3's directly from one place to another you don't lose anything at all
__________________
iMac G5 Rev. B/20"/2Ghz/SuperDrive/1GB RAM/400GB HD/Mac OS X.4.11
Switched 8/25/05
Custom 2.4Ghz Core2Duo/1GB Ram/NVIDIA 7600
iPhone 8gb
DaftUnion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 02:28 AM   #5
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
thank you! so much. i guess i just got wondering since i thought copying a file is not good as cutting it. lol i probably make no sense. so Senuti is the best? i know music rescue copies your songs and the playlists, so you know what was in your playlists. that is very important to me.

btw is their a way to make another library on same itunes?
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 02:33 AM   #6
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Senuti is for mac. i have a pc
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 02:41 AM   #7
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael31986 View Post
btw is their a way to make another library on same itunes?
Yes, just hold down the Option key while opening iTunes. It will show a dialog box where you can select a library or create a new one. You will need to use the Option key when opening iTunes in the future if you want to open it with one of the different libraries you may have.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Yosemite & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue, iPod touch 5G 16 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 12:45 PM   #8
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I HAVE a PC what is an options key?
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 02:54 PM   #9
Zonz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
alt key...

but then again I dunno if it works the same way on a pc.
Zonz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2009, 03:55 PM   #10
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
What about program to copy songs? And playlists
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2009, 02:19 AM   #11
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael31986 View Post
I HAVE a PC what is an options key?
Sorry about that. I just read that on the post before too . Anyway, you have to hold down the Shift key after clicking on the icon to open iTunes to get the library selection box to come up.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Yosemite & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue, iPod touch 5G 16 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 12:51 AM   #12
michael31986
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
so what program is best for copying? and i want to make sure my playlists are there too.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does copying songs to my iPhone have to be so complicated? Krupke Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 32 Apr 3, 2014 04:02 PM
Itunes- copying songs and recognition of songs Kristina85 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 May 23, 2013 01:06 AM
Backup change from computer to iCloud: will i lose all my backup from the computer? lizannec iPhone 4 Feb 28, 2013 01:55 PM
Songs from Old computer still on ipod? saleemyas3 iPod 1 Aug 8, 2012 06:21 AM
will using bluetooth to listen to my music in my car lose quality? aliensarecool iPhone 6 Jun 30, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC