Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2009, 03:58 PM   #1
no.1 Apple Fan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: In a pineapple under the sea
Applescript and Automator the Same Thing?

Hi everyone! This may sound sort of dumb, but aren't Applescript and Automator the same things?
__________________
MacBook Pro Late 2008 iPod Classic 120 GB Nikon D5100 iPhone 4S
no.1 Apple Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2009, 04:37 PM   #2
justjeremy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Nope

They are not the same thing.

Automator is a drag and drop type of programming where the pieces are already made, you just have to fit them together.

Applescript is a programming language(english like) but you have to create the code for it to run.

I know that is simplistic but I hope it answers your question.
justjeremy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2009, 07:28 PM   #3
no.1 Apple Fan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: In a pineapple under the sea
Cool, I know that Applescript is sort of English Like. But what do you mean when you say that you have to write your own code for it?
__________________
MacBook Pro Late 2008 iPod Classic 120 GB Nikon D5100 iPhone 4S
no.1 Apple Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2009, 03:50 PM   #4
thriftinkid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Most programs have a dictionary of terms or commands that they understand. (not all programs do). You have to write a script with the terms used in their dictionaries if you want them to perform certain actions. You can access these dictionaries through your script editor toolbar.

Automator is similar, but imagine these commands are already written as drag and drop templates, and your just have to drag and drop these templates in the order you want to accomplish your goal.

Applescript gives you many more options, but you have to write the code.

Automator is much easier because the code is already written, but you are limited to the options that automator gives you.

Automator, however, has a template that you can drop in that allows you to fill in missing gaps you may have by typing your own applescript within a template box.

Hope that helps
thriftinkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2009, 04:33 PM   #5
no.1 Apple Fan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: In a pineapple under the sea
Cool, thanks!
__________________
MacBook Pro Late 2008 iPod Classic 120 GB Nikon D5100 iPhone 4S
no.1 Apple Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't stop an Applescript with Automator Niouky Mac Programming 18 Apr 20, 2014 02:46 AM
Automator and/or AppleScript Help jbsmithmac Mac Programming 6 May 5, 2013 04:02 PM
Automator and/or Applescript Help downingp Mac Programming 2 Oct 24, 2012 07:35 PM
Applescript and Automator Mix anton1s Mac Programming 0 Oct 20, 2012 07:02 PM
Applescript application not working within Automator Jeshua Mac Programming 0 Aug 3, 2012 06:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC