Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2004, 11:31 AM   #1
pompo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Orleans
 
transfer files form G4 to new G5?

I 'll have a new dual G5 on Monday.

What's the easier way to transfer my files from my old G4(OS 9.1) to the new G5?
I've heard you can do it trough an ethernet cable...is it correct?

Thanks
Pompo

Last edited by pompo; Jun 26, 2004 at 11:33 AM.
pompo is offline   0
Old Jun 26, 2004, 12:10 PM   #2
Duff-Man
macrumors 68030
 
Duff-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Duff-Man says...yes, you can do it through ethernet but even easier is to do it through firewire. Connect both with a firewire cable...start up your new G5....then start up the G4 in "target disk" mode by holding the "T" on the G4's keyboard when you boot. The G4's drive will then show as another volume on your G5 and you can copy away to your heart's delight. The new G5's also have an automated "migrate" feature the first time you boot them but I am not sure if it does older OS 9 installs or just OS X stuff...you can read a bit more about it here: http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/...etonewmac.html .....oh yeah!
__________________
Duff-Man computes with...Mac Pro 3.2GHz 8 core 18GB RAM + MacBook Pro 2.5GHz C2D + 16GB iPod Nano + iPhone 4S 32GB...Oh Yeah!
Duff-Man is online now   0
Old Jun 26, 2004, 02:25 PM   #3
Jo-Kun
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Antwerp-Belgium
hi,

when you get the G5, don't install classic...

first install 9.2.2 on the G4 (normal upgrade to find at apple...)

and if you do as duff-man says ;-) target-mode... much faster than etherent... just copy all to you G5 and assign your just copied folder as the classicfolder... it should keep all your old programs in there and make them work on your G5 and you get all the rest too :-D
keep in mind that OSX uses a different assignment for the desktop files... so you'll find the old ones in a folder on the harddrive... but you can transfer them easily where you want them...


grts

Jo
__________________
G5 2x1.8Ghz,CrapBook CoreDuo,Macmini 1.5G4;iPod 3g 30GB,Shuffle 1GB,Nano 8GB;iPod Touch 2nd gen 8GB; iPad 16GB;AirPort Extreme-Nhttp://www.jovdm.be
Jo-Kun is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fly Transfer-transfer photos/videos/music/PDF files over wifi flyrabbit iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Dec 18, 2013 05:41 AM
Backing up files said can't transfer files BUSY? Grunthaner PowerPC Macs 6 Mar 8, 2013 10:50 AM
best way to transfer files Live Steam iMac 11 Jan 7, 2013 04:00 PM
Cant Transfer Files Embarkment 8 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 19, 2012 03:28 PM
Best way to transfer files to new MBP? Eric8199 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 8, 2012 09:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC