Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2004, 12:57 PM   #1
Mord
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
software overcloking a g5?

i use a little kernal patch called icook and I know that the g5's have the same technology thats in the 750fx that my ibook has (i think it's called speedstep or somthing like that) and i'm wandering if anyone has tryed to use it on there g5?
for a dual 1.8 the smallest step would be 450MHz up (changeing the multiplyer from 2 to 2.5) that would push it to 2.25 which is probably too much.

and for the 1.6 you could pust it to 2.0 (still a bit to high)

is anyone willing to try?

http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/
Mord is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 01:00 PM   #2
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
Yeah, we were talking about this, I do wonder who will try...
jared_kipe is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 01:03 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hector
i use a little kernal patch called icook and I know that the g5's have the same technology thats in the 750fx that my ibook has (i think it's called speedstep or somthing like that) and i'm wandering if anyone has tryed to use it on there g5?
for a dual 1.8 the smallest step would be 450MHz up (changeing the multiplyer from 2 to 2.5) that would push it to 2.25 which is probably too much.

and for the 1.6 you could pust it to 2.0 (still a bit to high)

is anyone willing to try?

http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/
The multiplier is 1x, 2x, 3x, etc. -- whole numbers only.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:09 PM   #4
Mord
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
The multiplier is 1x, 2x, 3x, etc. -- whole numbers only.
where did you get the info from?

hmm mabey with a good watercooling set voltage tweaks and a peltier we could get to 3GHz with a dual 2GHz g5?
Mord is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:13 PM   #5
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
hmmm, interesting.... well, my dual 1.8 is ready for the task, thank god I still have my B&W as a backup... (hope I don't need it)
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:16 PM   #6
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:20 PM   #7
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadnought
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.
You're a bold man....
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:24 PM   #8
Fender2112
macrumors 6502a
 
Fender2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Send a message via AIM to Fender2112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadnought
I'm one of the top 50 folders for our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can!
I'm at 35. Catch me if you can.
__________________
Really? Really, really!
Fender2112 is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 04:30 PM   #9
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hector
where did you get the info from?

hmm mabey with a good watercooling set voltage tweaks and a peltier we could get to 3GHz with a dual 2GHz g5?
Was in one on the PPC970 brochures from IBM concerning the FSB multiplier, of course IBM has done some housecleaning since then.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 05:53 PM   #10
Mord
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadnought
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.
have you actually tryed it because i suspect that the 1200MHz limit is a limit of the chip muliplyer not the software
Mord is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 06:27 PM   #11
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
well I tried it and it wouldn't run, the website says, "If this fails you probably do not have a 750FX CPU." Guess I don't have a 750FX
jared_kipe is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 06:52 PM   #12
Crikey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spencer's Butte, Oregon
Wow! That's nuts. If I owned a G5, I wouldn't risk it on an overclocking experiment. I think a dual G5 would be "fast enough" for my uses.

Thanks for telling us about the results of the experiment, though!


Crikey
Crikey is offline   0
Old Jul 15, 2004, 05:10 AM   #13
Mord
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
well the developer is on my ichat list now, so i'll have a word with him.

it might be because when the g5 lows down or speeds up it changes the pci multiplyer instead of the system bus multiplyer because makeing a 1GHz jump on the dual 2GHZ g5 wou;d be silly.

i'll see what the guy thinks
Mord is offline   0
Old Jul 15, 2004, 06:08 AM   #14
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fender2112
I'm at 35. Catch me if you can.
I'm at 532
Nermal is offline   0
Old Jul 15, 2004, 07:54 AM   #15
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
It would be nice to see the technical reference on the PPC970, but I haven't seen any of that info surface yet.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook novice - crash during software update, now unable to open software - HELP! charlware MacBook 2 May 21, 2013 03:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC