Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
Alright I've decided on the camera I want... i've decieded on the FujiFilm FinePix S5000.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...7211?_encoding=UTF8&m=A3LJ5WMKNRFKQS&v=glance

I am not a photographer... but I am a fine artist. I will use this camera for my work (painting) and just everyday picture taking. I do not plan to become a pro. I choose this cam because while it has a decent price and resolution I like the way the menu looks, the way the camera feels... and im into SLR types anyways. It was either this or a Nikon but I couldnt find a Nikon with this price and options.

What I need help on is pretty much in two areas:
1) Since i am not versed in Camaras is this an good/okay purchase for me... anotherwords do you see anything wrong with this purchase?
2) I'm going to need recargable batteries and a memory card.
I'm thinking I should go with the 128mb fujifilm card since I dont need that much memory considering I will be dumping most of the pics on my laptop then transfering to cds.
Also... im thiniking of going with this...
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t..._dpacc_4/002-2246938-0927211?v=glance&s=photo

since its got the battery charger and the batteries.. will this do in the battery dept for me?

any help is appreciated. Thanks. I just want to make the right move here... which is why I'm asking those that know more then me on this specific subject/purchase.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
thanks guys. i've looked through that dpreview and became more comfortable with my decision.

so will that battery charger and the batteries that kit has be good enough for me?

by the way.. that canon looks sharp.

Nspace

macrumors regular
Jul 13, 2004
Toronto, Canada