Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2004, 01:58 AM   #1
tech4all
macrumors 68040
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Apple logo font

Ok why is that when I press, SHIFT + OPTION + K, in the area where I am typing this post the Apple logo appears ok. But when you preview and submit the post you get a "?".


Should be Apple logo --> ?
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2004, 02:07 AM   #2
Kingsnapped
macrumors 6502a
 
Kingsnapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
???????????????????

...Very cool.
Kingsnapped is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2004, 03:28 AM   #3
Belly-laughs
macrumors 6502a
 
Belly-laughs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: location location
Send a message via AIM to Belly-laughs
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech4all
Ok why is that when I press, SHIFT + OPTION + K, in the area where I am typing this post the Apple logo appears ok. But when you preview and submit the post you get a "?".


Should be Apple logo --> ?
You mean this?
Belly-laughs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2004, 04:46 AM   #4
Finiksa
macrumors 6502a
 
Finiksa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech4all
Ok why is that when I press, SHIFT + OPTION + K, in the area where I am typing this post the Apple logo appears ok. But when you preview and submit the post you get a "?".
vBulletin, as it's set up here, doesn't support encoding of strange special characters like the Apple logo. So the database just replaces the characters with a question mark.
Finiksa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 01:38 AM   #5
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles


If you give me $637.43, I'll tell you how I did it.
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 08:15 AM   #6
themadchemist
macrumors 68030
 
themadchemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chi Town
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Q


If you give me $637.43, I'll tell you how I did it.
Look, rufus, there's a man with a magic box! By golly, that right there must be the specialest thing I ever did see. Yessiree, go get ma, pa, and little Suzy Anne, we're lookin' at a miracle here!
__________________
Sometimes, things get worse before they get better. Sometimes, they get better before they get worse. Almost never do they stay the same.
themadchemist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 08:31 AM   #7
tomf87
Guest
 
tomf87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Interesting.. Please do explain Dr Q.

Last edited by tomf87; Jul 30, 2004 at 08:34 AM.
tomf87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 09:39 AM   #8
kjwebb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
I know in Windows for Apple Garamond and Baskerville (just to name a few), the code that appears in Character Map is U+F8FF.
__________________
Kenneth
Powermac 7600/132 w/ Mac OS 8
iBook G4 12" Rev.A 1GHz G4, 1.25GB RAM, 30GB HDD w/ Mac OS 10.4
iMac 20" Core 2 Duo
kjwebb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 10:11 AM   #9
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
I have a guess...




Show source is your friend.

__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 10:37 AM   #10
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
The Unicode code for the Apple symbol is 63743 (the dollar and cents number in my post - get it? ), so if you type  in your post, it'll come out as a .

This will work if you then click the Submit Reply button. However, if you click the Preview Post button, the  will turn into an symbol in the Preview display, and you must then change the back into  before you click Submit Reply, or it will come out as a question mark.

I had to do this a few times myself while previewing this post to make sure it came out right!

You can find the codes for this and other characters, such as or , in The HTML Document Character Set.
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 11:44 AM   #11
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
To this day I don't know what the symbol after the command symbol means.
neoelectronaut is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 12:08 PM   #12
zarathustra
macrumors 6502a
 
zarathustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
To this day I don't know what the symbol after the command symbol means.
It's "OPTION" or "ALT".
zarathustra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2004, 12:09 PM   #13
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
To this day I don't know what the symbol after the command symbol means.
If you mean , it's the symbol for the option key. Why? I've always wondered. It doesn't look like an option to me. On the other hand, what does an option look like? Maybe the symbol [] could have been used, since square brackets often mean optional in extended BNF and other syntax notations. But it's no use second guessing. Apple chose and that's what we get.

If you are using Safari, look in the menus and you'll see the symbol used (along with for menu choices like Bookmarks->Show All Bookmarks. At least for the symbol is on the keytop so you won't have trouble remembering which key it refers to!
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2004, 01:54 PM   #14
kaylie_kipe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Cool

But I can't get it to work...too bad for me.
kaylie_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2004, 01:57 PM   #15
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaylie_kipe
But I can't get it to work...too bad for me.
What did you try and what happened when you tried it?
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2004, 02:08 PM   #16
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
My post above didn't come out right, so I'll try again.

The Unicode code for the Apple symbol is 63743, so if you type this sequence:

& # 6 3 7 4 3 ;

it should come out as a .
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2004, 02:53 AM   #17
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
⌥ looks like a 'switch' or an 'option'
Nermal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2004, 09:30 AM   #18
mkaake
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mi
i deff. need to look at this again when i'm home from work on my mac... right now all of the special characters show up as a blank box... making the entire thread that much more amusing...
__________________
oh, and no, i don't j-walk
mkaake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2005, 10:54 PM   #19
BurtonCCC
Guest
 
BurtonCCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wheaton/Normal, IL
Send a message via AIM to BurtonCCC Send a message via Yahoo to BurtonCCC
I'm still not following this... I just can't get it...

Can this be used on all sites? And it's only viewable by people with Macs?

Daniel

Last edited by BurtonCCC; Jun 6, 2005 at 10:56 PM.
BurtonCCC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 02:33 AM   #20
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurtonCCC
I'm still not following this... I just can't get it...

Can this be used on all sites? And it's only viewable by people with Macs?

Daniel
Any web page on any web site can use HTML containing the 8-character sequence & # 6 3 7 4 3 ; (but without the intervening spaces) to specify the Apple logo symbol. Whether it displays properly in a particular user's web browser does not depend on the platform, but it does depend on (1) whether that web browser understands Unicode (most do these days) and (2) whether that system has a font available that contains that particular glyph (which means the shape of the Apple logo symbol).
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 07:41 AM   #21
pseudobrit
macrumors 68040
 
pseudobrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jobs' Spare Liver Jar
Send a message via AIM to pseudobrit
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurtonCCC
I'm still not following this... I just can't get it...

Can this be used on all sites? And it's only viewable by people with Macs?

Daniel
OMG, you don't have a Mac? You know that without a Mac, you can only see like 15% of what gets posted, right? We usually write in Mac-only fonts; on a Windows machine it doesn't appear at all.

There are thousands of threads you can't even see to click on, man! Quick! Run out and buy up an iMac for godssakes!
__________________
Starting with a mistake, a remorseless logician can end up in bedlam
pseudobrit is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 07:52 AM   #22
skunk
macrumors Demi-God
 
skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Republic of Ukistan
Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudobrit
There are thousands of threads you can't even see to click on, man!
"The Emperor's New Threads"?
__________________
"The louder he talked of his honor, the faster we counted the spoons." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson
skunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 08:07 AM   #23
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Q
You can find the codes for this and other characters, such as ? or ?, in The HTML Document Character Set.
Thanks! I've been looking for a complete set for a while now...

PS! Why is this in the Community forum and not Web Design?

, man...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Jun 7, 2005 at 08:11 AM.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 08:52 AM   #24
efoto
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cloud 9 (-6)
Send a message via AIM to efoto
Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudobrit
OMG, you don't have a Mac? You know that without a Mac, you can only see like 15% of what gets posted, right? We usually write in Mac-only fonts; on a Windows machine it doesn't appear at all.

There are thousands of threads you can't even see to click on, man! Quick! Run out and buy up an iMac for godssakes!
LMFAO! Thats great, glad I can see all of those 'special threads', they ALWAYS have THE BEST content and insider news

Thanks for the know-how Dr. Q, fun stuff 

Wanted to try another:
__________________
Vino of life.
Regardless the quantity, strength, or validity of your efforts, they are always in vain.

Last edited by efoto; Jun 7, 2005 at 08:56 AM.
efoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2005, 08:58 AM   #25
efoto
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cloud 9 (-6)
Send a message via AIM to efoto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Q
Any web page on any web site can use HTML containing the 8-character sequence & # 6 3 7 4 3 ; (but without the intervening spaces) to specify the Apple logo symbol. Whether it displays properly in a particular user's web browser does not depend on the platform, but it does depend on (1) whether that web browser understands Unicode (most do these days) and (2) whether that system has a font available that contains that particular glyph (which means the shape of the Apple logo symbol).
I'm assuming this works not only for 8-char but also for 5/6 char as well correct?

__________________
Vino of life.
Regardless the quantity, strength, or validity of your efforts, they are always in vain.
efoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone convert a font-based logo to a vector? Thanks. FTRDRMZ Design and Graphics 5 Sep 25, 2012 12:56 PM
iPhone 4S stuck on Apple Logo, rapid repeating of logo CRip4s Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jun 23, 2012 02:31 PM
Apple iPhone 3GS Jailbroken/Unlocked stuck at Apple Logo w/ Progress Bar HakunaMatata123 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jun 6, 2012 04:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC