Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2009, 08:59 AM   #1
Cje60
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South West Scotland
Can i get wifi at home without a pc?

I only have a touch and want wifi at home but a lot of the wifi providers mention a cd and intalling software etc
My neighbours wont tell me their passwords and i am spending a lot of time up the street in the cafe who vary kindly did give me their password.
Cje60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 09:07 AM   #2
mooblie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
You probably only need a PC (with a wired Ethernet connection) to set up a wireless router to start with, and after that, you should be able to use your iPod Touch to connect to your router wirelessly to maintain it after that. So maybe you could borrow a laptop to set the wireless router up for the first time?

Routers don't actually need the CD or install software, as you just browse to something like 192.168.0.1 on your network (using any browser - Safari on the iPod Touch is fine) to control the router.
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD now on Blu-ray
mooblie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 09:25 AM   #3
jake921660
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooblie View Post
You probably only need a PC (with a wired Ethernet connection) to set up a wireless router to start with, and after that, you should be able to use your iPod Touch to connect to your router wirelessly to maintain it after that. So maybe you could borrow a laptop to set the wireless router up for the first time?

Routers don't actually need the CD or install software, as you just browse to something like 192.168.0.1 on your network (using any browser - Safari on the iPod Touch is fine) to control the router.
This is mostly true, but when I got both my routers they needed to be plugged into a computer to set up the wireless account.

My suggestion to the OP is to set up the wireless aspect of the router on a computer at someone elses house, and take it back to your house. Or have someone bring a laptop to your house to set it up.
jake921660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 09:44 AM   #4
mooblie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake921660 View Post
This is mostly true, but when I got both my routers they needed to be plugged into a computer to set up the wireless account.

My suggestion to the OP is to set up the wireless aspect of the router on a computer at someone elses house, and take it back to your house. Or have someone bring a laptop to your house to set it up.
I agree completely. (And I think that's what I said! )
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD now on Blu-ray
mooblie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 10:06 AM   #5
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
One thing the OP doesn't mention - does he have an internet connection at home? He says he just has an iPod Touch, but doesn't mention if he would have anything to plug a router into with or without a computer to set it up. You still need something to plug the router into.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 06:22 AM   #6
Cje60
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South West Scotland
Thanks for all your advice, i am a she and my dob is the 60 so not very techy.....dumb questions.... ive got a phone line, can i plug a router into that? Is the apple airport a router?
Cje60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 06:30 AM   #7
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cje60 View Post
Thanks for all your advice, i am a she and my dob is the 60 so not very techy.....dumb questions.... ive got a phone line, can i plug a router into that? Is the apple airport a router?
You need to sign up with an ISP (Internet Service Provider) to get internet access. They will supply you with the correct equipment to access the internet, remember to ask for a wireless router to use with your iPod touch.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 07:09 AM   #8
nastebu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cje60 View Post
Thanks for all your advice, i am a she and my dob is the 60 so not very techy.....dumb questions.... ive got a phone line, can i plug a router into that? Is the apple airport a router?
Honestly, if you get decent AT&T reception in your home, you might be better off buying an iPhone than setting up a high speed internet connection just for your iPod touch. That's especially true if you're already paying for a home telephone line. If you got the iPhone, you could cancel that home telephone line and just use the iPhone.
nastebu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 07:11 AM   #9
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by nastebu View Post
Honestly, if you get decent AT&T reception in your home, you might be better off buying an iPhone than setting up a high speed internet connection just for your iPod touch. That's especially true if you're already paying for a home telephone line. If you got the iPhone, you could cancel that home telephone line and just use the iPhone.
A lot of people in the USA are reporting big problems with AT&T reception.

I think her chance of getting decent reception in Scotland are pretty slim.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 04:22 PM   #10
Cinematographer
macrumors 6502a
 
Cinematographer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: far away
Quote:
Originally Posted by OllyW View Post
A lot of people in the USA are reporting big problems with AT&T reception.

I think her chance of getting decent reception in Scotland are pretty slim.
Why do you think that? Scotland is not necessarily as far behind in basic technology as the US.
__________________
iMac 24", MBP 15", Phone 4, Pod 40 GB, Touch 16 GB, Shuffle 1 GB, aTV 2
Cinematographer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 05:45 PM   #11
TraceyS/FL
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinematographer View Post
Why do you think that? Scotland is not necessarily as far behind in basic technology as the US.
He was referring to actual AT&T coverage since the poster told her to go sign up with them

To the OP - depending on the monthly cost, the iPhone might be a better alternative than paying for internet and only using it for the Touch.

Perhaps you can get some sort of MiFi device in your area?
TraceyS/FL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 02:12 AM   #12
jbernie
macrumors 6502a
 
jbernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Depending on how well you know your neighbours... ever consider giving one of them a few quid a month to get the password for their wifi? Having an iPod touch (now with the wife) & an iPhone, I wouldn't think your usage would get that high unless your are a twitter/facebook addict or something
__________________
Talk is cheap, sometimes it is on sale!
ibernie.com
jbernie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 04:00 AM   #13
nastebu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by OllyW View Post
A lot of people in the USA are reporting big problems with AT&T reception.

I think her chance of getting decent reception in Scotland are pretty slim.
oops! Sorry about that!
nastebu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 08:18 AM   #14
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbernie View Post
Depending on how well you know your neighbours... ever consider giving one of them a few quid a month to get the password for their wifi? Having an iPod touch (now with the wife) & an iPhone, I wouldn't think your usage would get that high unless your are a twitter/facebook addict or something
This is how one of my neighbors gets wi-fi; he pays his next door neighbor $ 10 per month and gets the password/key. It works fine for both parties.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5S using LTE over home WiFi nitromac iPhone 6 May 19, 2014 12:25 AM
How to disable password on home wifi Samuel Gordon OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 Dec 28, 2013 01:28 AM
Iphone`s Home Wifi problem xp0z3d iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Sep 12, 2013 06:10 PM
Weird WiFi issue (connect to Apple Store WiFi, but can't connect to home router) nicz888 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jul 29, 2013 07:47 AM
iTunes wifi sync/home sharing to Apple TV kills my wifi. AreYouIn? Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Nov 11, 2012 03:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC