Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2009, 11:57 AM   #1
AngerDanger
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
How do I delete a wireless network created on my Mac?

I recently got a MacBook Pro, and the first thing I did was connect to the internet via AirPort. Later, I discovered that the IP's of both my MBP and my old Windows PC conflicted with each other, so I created a wireless network on my Mac in attempt to fix that. I ended up fixing the problem some other way but still have the "Barrieau's MacBook Pro" network in my available networks list and would like to know how to delete the network.

I've seen other posts like this, tried them, but none worked for me. Does anyone know how to delete a wireless network?
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 12:02 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
System Preferences > Network > Airport > Advanced > Airport > Delete does not work?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 12:09 PM   #3
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
Thanks, but it doesn't even show up in my preferred networks. It shows up in the WiFi drop down icon in the menu bar and on my iPod touch.


Last edited by AngerDanger; Dec 29, 2009 at 12:28 PM. Reason: Added a Screenshot
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 12:41 PM   #4
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
As long as your Mac detects that network in range, it will be in that list. I don't know of a way to make your Mac "ignore" a particular network.

Don't worry about it.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 01:31 PM   #5
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
Well, the network was created by my Mac and isn't connected by any other computer right now, so to put it into intense-movie-terms: my Mac created the network, so it can destroy it, right? Also, I do not want to ignore it. I would like to remove it from existence so even other devices wont be able to view it.

Anybody have any other suggestions?
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 03:12 PM   #6
mnobre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Cheers, just disconect from your network on the airport logo, the network only appears as long as you are "connected" to that network.

Hope it was helpfull.

*Edit: i'm assuming you did an ad-hoc network to connect 2 devices*

Last edited by mnobre; Dec 29, 2009 at 03:15 PM. Reason: The post was incomplete
mnobre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 03:20 PM   #7
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
That can't be it because I can't disconnect from the network since I'm not connected to it. Thanks though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnobre View Post
Cheers, just disconect from your network on the airport logo, the network only appears as long as you are "connected" to that network.

Hope it was helpfull.

*Edit: i'm assuming you did an ad-hoc network to connect 2 devices*
I just used the default option for creating a network: "Create a Computer-to-Computer Network". They sound the same.

Last edited by AngerDanger; Dec 29, 2009 at 03:40 PM. Reason: Explained Network Creation
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 05:13 PM   #8
mnobre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009


It's just when i choose disconect from.... the network stops being avaliable, are you sure that there is no other computer on your range making a network?

The "host" computer remains in airport view if it's connected.

btw i'm assuming you are running Snow Leopard cos that's where i'm testing.
mnobre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 05:21 PM   #9
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
What happens when you press Disconnect button? Does the network disappear from the drop-down list and stops appearing on other devices? It doesn't do that when I disconnect.

Yes, I'm using Snow Leopard.

Last edited by AngerDanger; Dec 29, 2009 at 05:26 PM. Reason: Specified my OS
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 05:37 PM   #10
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
Ok, I just had a major breakthrough: I turned off my computer and checked my iPod touch to see if the network was still available. It was, so that means that my Windows PC is connected to it right now, too.

But it doesn't show up in my list of available wireless networks on my PC, so what does that mean? Is it possible for my iPod to host the network without being connected to it? Or is it possible for my PC to be connected to it even if it doesn't know that it's available?
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 06:59 PM   #11
jzuena
macrumors 6502a
 
jzuena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Burlington, MA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh Pie View Post
Ok, I just had a major breakthrough: I turned off my computer and checked my iPod touch to see if the network was still available. It was, so that means that my Windows PC is connected to it right now, too.

But it doesn't show up in my list of available wireless networks on my PC, so what does that mean? Is it possible for my iPod to host the network without being connected to it? Or is it possible for my PC to be connected to it even if it doesn't know that it's available?
Although I don't believe you can create an Ad-Hoc network from an iPod touch, if it is connected to one when the computer that created it is shut off, it might be enough to keep the network up and advertised to other computers when they come up. It may be best to shut off networking on all of the devices at the same time to ensure the network really goes away.
__________________
Pilot, greyhound walker, retired bartender extraordinaire.
jzuena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 09:58 PM   #12
AngerDanger
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AngerDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: location, location!
Problem Solved

After turning off my Windows PC and realizing that the network must've been hosted there, I removed it from the list of preferred networks on my PC, rebooted, and the network disappeared from my menu bar. Thanks everyone.
AngerDanger is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow 5ghz network via extended wireless network groovyf Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 25, 2014 06:45 PM
Philips Hue - the light scenes I created won't delete, and DST did not change JBmac Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 10, 2013 03:00 PM
Created a second VPN connection by mistake. How do I delete the second connection Subu iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jan 18, 2013 02:36 PM
Resolved: how to delete the thread you created Hpye iPad 0 Nov 4, 2012 01:57 AM
Airport extreme: Wireless network within a wireless network brsboarder Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 27, 2012 05:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC