Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2009, 11:57 PM   #1
Penwin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Is it possible to run Mac OS X on a PC?

Now before you have a go at me about piracy, I already know about the Psystar lawsuit. I'm also not a pirate. I have an authentic copy of OSX Leopard, and I'd just like to know if there's a way to install it on an harddrive of a PC. I have a PC with two SATA harddrives (240GB and 1TB). At the moment, I'm using the former to run Windows XP and the latter for storage. I was wondering though; is it possible for me to install Mac OS X on the 1TB harddrive? The reason is that there are many programs for OSX which I would like to use, but don't work on Windows. I read somewhere that it's possible with dual core processors (I have an Intel Core 2 Duo), but I've looked around and couldn't find much. Do I have to format a partition of the harddrive into a special format so that it can run OSX?

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks.
Penwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:00 AM   #2
KoolStar
macrumors Demi-God
 
KoolStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kentucky
Send a message via AIM to KoolStar Send a message via Skype™ to KoolStar
Technically Yes, but Legally No.
__________________
"Innovation distinguishes between a leader and a follower." : S.J.
KoolStar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:03 AM   #3
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
private message me, ill give u some more info.
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:04 AM   #4
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcs are junk View Post
private message me, ill give u some more info.
newbies can't PM.


OP, try google, it is your friend.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:05 AM   #5
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
oh....lol sucks for him then..
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:05 AM   #6
Buzz Bumble
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
It makes no difference whether you've got "an authentic copy of OSX Leopard" or not ...

you are NOT allowed to install any version of the Mac OS
on non-Apple hardware

It's very simple and spelled out in the Mac OS license agreement. Breaking that agreement basically does make you a pirate. It's the exact reason the morons at Psystar are in trouble.
Buzz Bumble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:08 AM   #7
Mike Macintosh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Washington State
Send a message via AIM to Mike Macintosh Send a message via MSN to Mike Macintosh Send a message via Yahoo to Mike Macintosh
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolStar View Post
Technically Yes, but Legally No.
yep, well put, while you can run OSx on a Windows based machine, it's not legal to do so, and alot of process in which to do so, not to mention I have heard it runs a little shotty.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 2.66GHz (late 09) | iPhone 3G 8GB | iPod 5G (1st with Video) 60GB | Powerbook G4 12" 1.5 GHz
Coming Soon: 15" Macbook Pro (Early 2011) | iPhone 4
Mike Macintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:14 AM   #8
Penwin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Alright, well is it possible/legal to run Mac programs on Linux then?

Also the program I'm looking to run is also for Mac OS 9, is there an emulator for OS9 that can be run on other operating systems?

EDIT: I don't actually need to install the operating system, as stated is illegal in the license agreement. I just need to run certain programs that only work on Mac OS.
Penwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:26 AM   #9
Buzz Bumble
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
If you need to run a Mac OS application (X, or 9), then you need a Mac to run it on. There is no legal way to run a Mac OS application under Windows.

All of the emulators require an image of the Macs ROM to work, and it is not legal to make that image (even if you own the Mac).
Buzz Bumble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 01:40 AM   #10
njean777
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
yes you can install it, try looking up x86project on google, also dont worry about what these people are saying, apple is not gonna come to your house and place a lawsuit on you. They have more important things to deal with.
njean777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 03:46 AM   #11
fishmoose
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by njean777 View Post
also dont worry about what these people are saying, apple is not gonna come to your house and place a lawsuit on you. They have more important things to deal with.
But, but what about the Ninjas?
fishmoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 06:53 AM   #12
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penwin View Post
Alright, well is it possible/legal to run Mac programs on Linux then?
No just like you cannot execute programs that are compiled for OSX on windows. You need the operating system. Technically speaking you can run OSX on a PC, like how you can run windows on a pc. You will be breaking the law/EULA. Since Linux is an OS, its impossible for it to natively execute OSX programs.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 11:02 AM   #13
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
u need an intel processor to do it anyway. go to this link, its what i used for my hackintosh, oh and btw, it requires alot of hard work to find the right kexts, so if ur doing it on a laptop, u need a wireless mouse and keyboard.

http://prasys.co.cc/2009/09/install-...-the-easy-way/

oh also, try not to get caught...i heard some guy got sued $2500 for doing this.
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 11:45 AM   #14
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Or you could get an iMac G3 or G4 with OS 9 from eBay for $40-$100.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:08 PM   #15
GreatDrok
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penwin View Post
Alright, well is it possible/legal to run Mac programs on Linux then?
No, completely different operating systems.

Quote:
Also the program I'm looking to run is also for Mac OS 9, is there an emulator for OS9 that can be run on other operating systems?
Leopard won't run OS 9 apps, you need a PPC Mac with Tiger and Classic installed to do that.

Quote:
EDIT: I don't actually need to install the operating system, as stated is illegal in the license agreement. I just need to run certain programs that only work on Mac OS.
Since you state you need Mac OS 9 you could install SheepShaver but you will need a copy of Mac OS 9.0.4 or earlier and run it on a Linux machine. In the end though you might do better to try and find an old PPC Mac with a G3 or G4 processor.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13" i5 16GB 500GB SSD, Mac mini C2D + 20" ACD 8GB 960GB SSD, iPad mini 64G WiFi+cellular, ATV2, ATV3, white iPhone 4 16GB, white/gold iPhone 6+ 64GB coming soon
GreatDrok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 01:11 PM   #16
Nighthawk4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
To be honest, chances are you wouldn't find the right drivers anyway.


Incidentally, AFAIK you can't run MAC OS in a VM either, even on another Mac (not sure why you would want to run it on another Mac). I have seen attempts at running the old pre-Intel OS virtually in an emulator on Leopard, but I didn't find it very useful. However, I don't think you can setup a virtual copy of OS X.
Nighthawk4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 02:00 PM   #17
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Technically speaking you can, but its a real PITA and the performance of such is so bad, its not worth it. Plus stability was a major issue.

I had it up on linux, just to see if it would work, but I quickly came to the conclusion that the performance was so bad, it wasn't even worth playing with it.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 02:04 PM   #18
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
Nope never you can't do it never heard of such a thing. Mac on a PC? get out of here!
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 02:40 PM   #19
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba View Post
Nope never you can't do it never heard of such a thing. Mac on a PC? get out of here!
um..yes u can do it...ive done it....where have you been all this time? dont u read any articles about hacking? i like to hack into my own stuff because i like the challenge. if i get caught big whoop theyre not gonna sue me, kill me, arrest me, and even if they did something like that, i can say, well i like the challenge and was just trying to see if i could discover a security flaw that allows you to do this, and if i did, i would report it to you immediately. boom, done ur out of trouble.
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 02:52 PM   #20
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcs are junk View Post
um..yes u can do it...ive done it....where have you been all this time? dont u read any articles about hacking? i like to hack into my own stuff because i like the challenge. if i get caught big whoop theyre not gonna sue me, kill me, arrest me, and even if they did something like that, i can say, well i like the challenge and was just trying to see if i could discover a security flaw that allows you to do this, and if i did, i would report it to you immediately. boom, done ur out of trouble.
obviously you don't recognize sarcasm.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 03:07 PM   #21
shadowbird423
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chapel Hill
Ignore these guys, they are just trying to give you a hard time. Email your system specs to this address and I will tell you if its possible: shadowbird423@gmail.com
(any attempts to spam will end badly for the spammer...)
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad X230t, Mountain Lion 10.8.2/Windows 8/Ubuntu 12.04 triple boot (anyone who wants help doing this is free to ask), 32gb iPad, 16gb iPhone 5
Dr. Freeman knows all.
shadowbird423 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 04:18 PM   #22
Dan73
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Well ignoring everyone else:


Yes it is possible! But a difference is that Windows uses ancient BIOS and OS X use EFI to boot so...

either you buy a motherboard that supports EFI or you have to set up your motherboard to, I suppose emulate it.

I tried for about a whole hour on my PC and its a bit harder than it sounds, but with some time put in you can get it to work.


And to everyone else do you really care that much? Really?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro - 2.26Ghz, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD
Win7 Desktop - 3.6Ghz, 4GB RAM, GTX 280
iPhone 4 - 16GB, Black
Dan73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 04:20 PM   #23
wlh99
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nighthawk4 View Post
To be honest, chances are you wouldn't find the right drivers anyway.


Incidentally, AFAIK you can't run MAC OS in a VM either, even on another Mac (not sure why you would want to run it on another Mac). I have seen attempts at running the old pre-Intel OS virtually in an emulator on Leopard, but I didn't find it very useful. However, I don't think you can setup a virtual copy of OS X.
I think apple revised the licence to allow it on server installs. It's very useful to have a multiple processor server host several virtual servers. That way you can have multiple configurations (even different OS's) running on the network at the same time on one machine.

Think about an 8 core mac with fusion and 4 virtual servers. No services other than fusion are running on the host OS. An exchange server on windows 2008, a sql server on Tiger, an active directory server on windows 2008, and a web server on Leopard.

Now you have only one physical machine (with reduced hardware and maintaince costs). And, you can upgrade the tiger os to Leopard without interupting services on the other machine.

There are also benifits in disaster recovery. It's a broad topic, but very well used in IT right now to reduce costs and improve reliabilty.
__________________
Warren Holybee
wlh99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 05:37 PM   #24
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowbird423 View Post
Ignore these guys, they are just trying to give you a hard time. Email your system specs to this address and I will tell you if its possible: shadowbird423@gmail.com
(any attempts to spam will end badly for the spammer...)
hmm...is this a threat? should i report this to the authorities? i think hes telling us hes a hacker and is going to hack us. i better use my phone and my computer to google the number!
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:24 PM   #25
Yamcha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Yes it is, I'm running Snow Leopard Retail (Vanilla) on my PC.. Runs just like a Mac would.. I can do updates and such without any issues..

But it also depends on your hardware.. I have Core i5 750 and using a P55 chipset which is exactly what the 27" imacs use..

Cost me $1200CAD with the monitor, and it performs faster then the most expensive iMac out there :P

Specs
MSI P55-GD65 MOTHERBOARD | INTEL CORE i5 750 @ 4GHZ | G SKILL PC3-12800 2X2GB DDR3 | ATI RADEON HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 | SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB 32MB SATA | SAMSUNG 22X DVDRW SATA | ANTEC EARTHWATTS 650W PSU | BENQ G2412HD 23.6" MONITOR | COOLERMASTER HAF 922 CASE | WINDOWS 7 | OSX SNOW LEOPARD 10.6.2


Last edited by Yamcha; Jan 1, 2010 at 02:40 PM.
Yamcha is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: How to run The Sims for Mac on OS X opheliapolly Mac and PC Games 6 Feb 11, 2014 12:44 PM
My Problems - need to run a windows app on my Mac or find a Video Grabber for the mac tristanjesus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Jun 4, 2013 03:36 AM
Mac Pro won't run NVIDIA GeForce 470 for Mac steveandrews Mac Pro 5 Apr 19, 2013 04:44 PM
Would this run Mac OS X? DtrollMC OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Mar 16, 2013 06:23 PM
Can I run Mac os x? Dasaco OS X 5 Aug 30, 2012 04:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC