Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:19 PM   #1
GeekOFComedy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via AIM to GeekOFComedy Send a message via Skype™ to GeekOFComedy
Exclamation Is this an iMac G5 or intel Plastic iMac?

Hello guys, I am doing a presentation for a class thingy in technology about new media and i'm trying to express how when macintosh youtubers started uploading video blogs when they switched to intel/intel made iMacs and about this media blah blah blah. In the pic attached is that a iMac G5 or intel. I see spot light on the top right so it's either running tiger or leopard. I thought I saw a apple remote magnetic thingy on the side. Did the iMac g5 have one?
__________________
http://www.geekofcomedy.com

Last edited by GeekOFComedy; Jan 1, 2010 at 11:08 PM.
GeekOFComedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:25 PM   #2
InfoSecmgr
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekOFComedy View Post
Hello guys, I am doing a presentation for a class thingy in technology about new media and i'm trying to express how when macintosh youtubers started uploading video blogs when they switched to intel/intel made iMacs and about this media blah blah blah. In the pic attached is that a iMac G5 or intel. I see spot light on the top right so it's either running tiger or leopard. I thought I saw a apple remote magnetic thingy on the side. Did the iMac g5 have one?

And for youtubers out there that is Community Channels videos. That was the computer she used from the beginning in late 06 but never showed until recently
I'm sorry but that post made hardly any sense. However I do hope your "thingy" goes well...man oh man. This is the kind of stuff I had to deal with in my undergrad program. Try to put a bit more effort into things okay?
InfoSecmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:29 PM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
The last gen iMac G5 and original intel iMacs look identical from the front, so it is impossible to tell. Yes, the last gen iMac G5s also had the remote.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:30 PM   #4
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
I don't know what that machine is.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:31 PM   #5
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
That's an Intel iMac. The G5 iMac's didn't have the iSight camera built-in (the small black square at the top of the screen). Work on your formulating your thoughts a bit...
Yes, the last gen iMac G5s did have the iSight.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:33 PM   #6
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
That's an Intel iMac. The G5 iMac's didn't have the iSight camera built-in (the small black square at the top of the screen). Work on your formulating your thoughts a bit...

EDIT: I was wrong about the Intel's having the iSight, therefore I don't know what that machine is.
The last G5 iMac, released October 12th 2005, had iSights in them, that's why it is not easy to discern if the iMac in the picture is Intel or IBM.

EDIT: Upsy daisy.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:40 PM   #7
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Since they're identical from the front, why does it matter if you just need a picture?

If you actually need to use it, look at the back; the G5s had its ports/connectors arranged vertically, while the Intel models have a horizontal arrangement.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:41 PM   #8
appleguy123
macrumors 603
 
appleguy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 15 minutes in the future
Late 06 would indicate an intel machine. That is if she bought it new.
__________________
[Steve Jobs was] brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it. -Barack Obama
appleguy123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:43 PM   #9
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, unfortunately.
IIRC, the G5's also said "iMac G5" on back, while the intel's only said "iMac." I could be wrong though.

I do recall the Intel's having a slightly smaller chin then that though, so my guess would be G5.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.5.8
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11
Blueberry iBook G3, Apple IIc
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:49 PM   #10
wbe858
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Send a message via AIM to wbe858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassie View Post
IIRC, the G5's also said "iMac G5" on back, while the intel's only said "iMac." I could be wrong though.

I do recall the Intel's having a slightly smaller chin then that though, so my guess would be G5.
Well on the first part it doesn't...had to look behind mine to make sure but it just says iMac. The only way i could ever tell without booting it up was the vertical/horizontal ports that someone else mentioned.

Anyway good luck with your "thingy"
__________________
2009 Mac Mini 2Ghz 4gb ram , 15" Macbook Pro (Late 2008), 16gb Iphone Black, 8gb classic Iphone, Apple TV 40gb, iMac G5
wbe858 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:53 PM   #11
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassie View Post
IIRC, the G5's also said "iMac G5" on back, while the intel's only said "iMac." I could be wrong though.

I do recall the Intel's having a slightly smaller chin then that though, so my guess would be G5.
You might be thinking of the PowerMac G3. It had "G3" underneath the logic board which was visible from the outside.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 10:56 PM   #12
GeekOFComedy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via AIM to GeekOFComedy Send a message via Skype™ to GeekOFComedy
I think thingy was misleading and yea old 09 youtube videos are 3d enabled lol. It was this new media thing presentation I'm doing for my technology class. I found another pic here
__________________
http://www.geekofcomedy.com

Last edited by GeekOFComedy; Jan 1, 2010 at 11:07 PM.
GeekOFComedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 11:01 PM   #13
eRondeau
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada's South Coast
It is whatever you tell them it is.
eRondeau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 11:04 PM   #14
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, unfortunately.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shake 'n' Bake View Post
You might be thinking of the PowerMac G3. It had "G3" underneath the logic board which was visible from the outside.
I remember that machine, but I could've sworn that the iMac G5 had something similar on the back...Oh well.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.5.8
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11
Blueberry iBook G3, Apple IIc
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 11:06 PM   #15
GeekOFComedy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via AIM to GeekOFComedy Send a message via Skype™ to GeekOFComedy
I'll lie and say it was intel lol. I just realised that editing HD video on a g5 would be harsh so it must be intel. Ooo random thread! closed!
__________________
http://www.geekofcomedy.com
GeekOFComedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 11:07 PM   #16
Jamo12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ohio
I'd bet money that it's a G5... the intel one had a more rounded back than the G5 (the G5 Was a rectangular prism, where as the intel was rounded in the back). That and the "chin" on the g5 is larger.
__________________
|iPad mini 32GB+data|
I don't have my computer anymore
Jamo12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 11:12 PM   #17
GeekOFComedy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via AIM to GeekOFComedy Send a message via Skype™ to GeekOFComedy
I mean on this video if you can make anything out of low quality here @ "DOESN'T MAKE DIFF LINK GONE"] at 2:43 when the camera pans the more suggestions the better
__________________
http://www.geekofcomedy.com

Last edited by GeekOFComedy; Jan 2, 2010 at 03:48 PM.
GeekOFComedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2010, 02:39 AM   #18
Badger^2
macrumors 68000
 
Badger^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento
it really is impossible to tell from what you have given us.

The white 20" Intel iMacs used the *exact* same case as the G5 iMacs except for the port orientation.
__________________
27" 2.93 iMac/24 gigs/1 TB+24" Dell 2405
24" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/640 gig+20" Dell 2405
20" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2001
20" 2.13 iMac/3 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2007
Badger^2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2010, 06:15 AM   #19
Maserati7200
macrumors 6502a
 
Maserati7200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America, Earth, Milky Way, Universe
I'm genuinely surprised no one said this yet.
Click the in the top right corner and click 'about this mac'. If it says "Intel Core 2 Duo" or "Intel Core Duo" then it's an intel machine. If it says PowerPC G5, then it's a G5.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-01-02 at 7.13.36 AM.png
Views:	9
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	209374  
__________________
K.
Maserati7200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2010, 01:37 PM   #20
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maserati7200 View Post
I'm genuinely surprised no one said this yet.
Click the in the top right corner and click 'about this mac'. If it says "Intel Core 2 Duo" or "Intel Core Duo" then it's an intel machine. If it says PowerPC G5, then it's a G5.
I don't believe that they have access to the computer.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2010, 01:50 PM   #21
tomacintosh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Also, if it doesn't have a built in iSight webcam then it is defs an iMac G5
__________________
27" iMac i7 ~ 8GB 11" MacBook Air 1.6GHz 4GB Apple TV iPhone 4 32GB 1TB Time Capsule
http://www.digitalintrovert.com mac tech talk how-to
tomacintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2010, 03:27 PM   #22
GeekOFComedy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
Send a message via AIM to GeekOFComedy Send a message via Skype™ to GeekOFComedy
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
I don't believe that they have access to the computer.
No but i could track the ip then fly down under but when the camera pans you see the back of the computer
__________________
http://www.geekofcomedy.com
GeekOFComedy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plastic hard clicky on off button late 2012 iMac smoking monkey iMac 1 Jan 18, 2013 05:17 AM
Screen issue, plastic Intel Macbook jiiarr MacBook 0 Dec 30, 2012 07:41 AM
24' intel imac dying - teddyofindy iMac 14 Aug 13, 2012 02:42 PM
iMac intel 3.06 ghz beavin247 iMac 1 Jul 28, 2012 08:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC