Airport Express & old Airport Card - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2004, 03:22 PM   #1
Jack White
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Airport Express & old Airport Card

Wondering if anyone can help... i asked for my birthday (which is today) an airport express and an airport extreme card for my iBook. My iBook is only just under a year old and i (stupidly) thought that i would be Extreme ok.
it isn't.
so...does anyone use the Express with an old AP card? I heard it's not too reliable even though Apple says it will work ok.
Should i just return them both ?
Jack White is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 03:36 PM   #2
pkr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
I use an AP/Extreme with my PowerBook but have the non-Extreme card in two other computers, an older Dual G4 and an iMac (CRT), and have not noticed any differences whatsoever; both types have been problem-free.
pkr is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 03:39 PM   #3
Jack White
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr
I use an AP/Extreme with my PowerBook but have the non-Extreme card in two other computers, an older Dual G4 and an iMac (CRT), and have not noticed any differences whatsoever; both types have been problem-free.
well thats promising! guess i'll have to hunt down an old card then
Jack White is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 04:46 PM   #4
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
The original AirPort cards will work perfectly well with AirPort Express.

I hear that they're going for a ton of cash now that they're discontinued though. That sucks.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Aug 24, 2004, 06:41 AM   #5
Jack White
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
i had one place offer me 90 for one and one offer me 120. luckily mac warehouse had one left for 38.99!
Jack White is offline   0
Old Aug 24, 2004, 07:01 AM   #6
davegoody
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wiltshire, England
 
Send a message via AIM to davegoody
AP Cards work fine with APE (If you can get one)

I can also confirm they work 100% fine - range is OK too.

Try Ebay - sold my old AP card on there for 50 many were available


Good Luck
__________________
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1" or
"there are only 10 types of person, those who understand Binary and those who don't !"
davegoody is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bridge Mode for Airport Extreme & Airport Express? ssavanna OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 10:22 AM
New Airport Extreme & Old Airport Express GarrettL1979 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Aug 12, 2013 01:59 PM
HP6500A - Airport Express & Airport Extreme marfey Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 13, 2013 03:28 AM
Airport Extreme & Airport Express question bmbbryan Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 25, 2013 08:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC