Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:22 PM   #1
noahsnyc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Airport Express Compatibility...

Hello -

Just fishing around trying to find out whether or not AE is going to be compatible with various brand-name multi-use devices.

In other words, has anyone managed to hook an AE up with any of those printer/scanner/copier gizmos?

Specific printers are listed on the Apple site, but I'm really wondering about these "mutant" machines...

Thanks

N.
noahsnyc is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:32 PM   #2
LeeTom
macrumors 65816
 
LeeTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
I highly doubt a multifunction printer that isn't listed on Apple's site would work very well. I could be wrong, but it will definitely be a gamble.

Lee Tom
__________________
iPhone 3GS <- iPhone 3G <- iPhone 8GB
MacBook Pro 2.5 <- PowerBook G4 1.67 <- PowerBook G4 1.25 <- iMac G3/400 <- Mac LC <- Mac Plus
LeeTom is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:55 PM   #3
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
FWIW, I tried a Brother MFC-3100 (I think) that my parents have on my AEBS and it did work, despite not being on the list. The scanner shows up too, although I have never tried scanning from it. I don't know if it would do anything or not. But I'd tend to agree with LeeTom not to hold your breath. Especially for getting more than printing out of it.

Although, there are some workarounds -- see this:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...30915050404405
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 04:22 PM   #4
noahsnyc
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan
FWIW, I tried a Brother MFC-3100 (I think) that my parents have on my AEBS and it did work, despite not being on the list. The scanner shows up too, although I have never tried scanning from it.
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...30915050404405
That link looks very promising...

Anyone try that specific hack?

Obviously, if we could get the "thing" to just print it'd be better than nothing.

Any reasons why an Airport Express wouldn't work with the same hack for an Airport Extreme??

Thanks,

N.
noahsnyc is offline   0
Old Aug 24, 2004, 03:30 PM   #5
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahsnyc
Any reasons why an Airport Express wouldn't work with the same hack for an Airport Extreme??
No, shouldn't be. It uses the same Airport Base Station Admin Utility or whatever its called, doesn't it?
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Airport express and External Hard drive compatibility bigMAC28 Mac Peripherals 4 Jan 24, 2013 08:32 AM
Orange livebox compatibility with airport express Nicksevier Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Oct 23, 2012 12:56 PM
Resolved: AirPort Express/OS X compatibility issue cms2 Mac Peripherals 5 Aug 11, 2012 11:07 PM
Old Airport Express vs. 2012 Airport Express jazz1 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 3, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC