Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2004, 12:45 AM   #1
iAtom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Massachusetts, US
Send a message via AIM to iAtom
upgrading RAM in Powerbook

Is it possible to upgrade both RAM sticks in a Powerbook (the one listed in my sig) or only one of them? I didn't get the single 512 stick but I would like to upgrade to 1 GB of RAM. Am I screwed?
__________________
15" Powerbook 1.5GHz/128MB VRAM/512MB RAM/80GB 5400 RPM HD/Combo Drive
iAtom is offline   0
Old Aug 30, 2004, 01:03 AM   #2
AliensAreFuzzy
macrumors 68000
 
AliensAreFuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Send a message via AIM to AliensAreFuzzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAtom
Am I screwed?
Pretty much.
AliensAreFuzzy is offline   0
Old Aug 30, 2004, 01:06 AM   #3
AliensAreFuzzy
macrumors 68000
 
AliensAreFuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Send a message via AIM to AliensAreFuzzy
I'm kidding. It's actually possible for you to upgrade to 1.25 GB of RAM, at least. I may be wrong about this model but I think some of the RAM is soldered to the motherboard, and there is only 1 RAM socket. So, you could put a 1GB DIMM in there.
AliensAreFuzzy is offline   0
Old Aug 30, 2004, 01:54 AM   #4
Finiksa
macrumors 6502a
 
Finiksa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliensAreFuzzy
I may be wrong about this model but I think some of the RAM is soldered to the motherboard,
In fact you are wrong, the 15" has two removable RAM slots so can accept up to two 1GB DIMMs.
__________________
Mac mini - Core i5 2.5GHz (with Crucial M4 SSD)
iPhone 4s 16GB White
New iPad 32GB Wi-Fi White
Finiksa is offline   0
Old Aug 31, 2004, 09:01 AM   #5
wcj912
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I'm having the same problem....two 256MB sticks. If you want 1GB total, you'll have to replace both sticks - best advice would be to sell them on ebay...I know it sucks...is price the only reason why 512MB is shipped with 2 256MB sticks instead of one 512MB stick?? Or is it stability?
__________________
'Incessant expectations can only be followed by perpetual dissapointment'
Dual 2Ghz Rev.B G5/1GB/Superdrive...currently folding!!
Folding....it's what the doctor ORDERED.
wcj912 is offline   0
Old Aug 31, 2004, 10:18 AM   #6
Scottyk9
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by wcj912
I'm having the same problem....two 256MB sticks. If you want 1GB total, you'll have to replace both sticks - best advice would be to sell them on ebay...I know it sucks...is price the only reason why 512MB is shipped with 2 256MB sticks instead of one 512MB stick?? Or is it stability?
...or just replace one slot with a 1 Gb stick (it is more expensive, but a reasonable option if you want to increase the RAM beyond 1.25 in the future)
Scottyk9 is offline   0
Old Aug 31, 2004, 06:22 PM   #7
Darbydoggy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
I got the OWC brand 1gig Ram at ~$267 or so. I can highly reccomend this as good quality and one of the best prices for trusted 1 gig ram.
Darbydoggy is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM jkim3691 MacBook 2 Mar 17, 2014 05:53 PM
Upgrading RAM Gman021 Mac mini 14 Jul 23, 2013 12:37 PM
Upgrading from 1x1GB 200pin 1067Mhz RAM to 4x4GB 1333Mhz 204pin RAM aningbo MacBook Pro 10 Jul 7, 2013 07:07 PM
Upgrading to 7200RPM HD Powerbook G4? Noctilux.95 PowerPC Macs 9 Apr 25, 2013 10:42 AM
Upgrading Ram Mattmeyeruk iMac 2 Oct 24, 2012 09:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC