Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Old Aug 31, 2004, 12:43 PM   #1
ndebard
macrumors newbie

How to drag a window without using title bar

Hi, I'm brand new to OS-X and coming from a Linux world of about 10 years. I'm trying to get myself used to this new window manager and one feature I particularly am missing is a way to drag windows without clicking on the window's title bar - I'm lazy. Under Linux, most window managers let you do this with ALT-Left click and then you could drag it.

I'm sure there's a similar feature here but I can't figure it out. It's probably already been answered in the forums but with search words like 'drag' and 'window' there's a lot of flotsam to search through. Any help?

Thanks!
ndebard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 01:42 PM   #2
ndebard
macrumors newbie

Just to followup, for whatever reason I now have a window who's title bar is above the top of the screen - this is something I often did under Linux WManagers in an attempt to move things out of my way. Sure there are better ways to do this but now I need to move this window by clicking somewhere else but on the title bar.

Some guru must know how to do this.
ndebard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 01:46 PM   #3
vraxtus
macrumors 65816

Send a message via AIM to vraxtus
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndebard
Just to followup, for whatever reason I now have a window who's title bar is above the top of the screen - this is something I often did under Linux WManagers in an attempt to move things out of my way. Sure there are better ways to do this but now I need to move this window by clicking somewhere else but on the title bar.

Some guru must know how to do this.

If the window is bordered you can drag from the window sides.
Old Aug 31, 2004, 02:53 PM   #4
logicat2001
macrumors regular

Hi ndebard and welcome to *nix Apple-style.