Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 12, 2010, 04:13 PM   #1
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Release: Zeus Flashing Tool




What is Zeus?

Zeus is a Mac GPU Flashing Tool. It can write a new firmware on to your graphic card.
But it can do much more then that. You can patch your drivers to add support for excotic cards,
install injectors by Netkas, and save the firmware from your Nvidia card.

Zeus is the replacement for ATI Flashing Tool.

New Features in Zeus:

Modify 4870 / 4890 firmware to add EFI
Disable Power Warning
Overclock some Nvidia cards






Download


You can find my blog at http://groths.org



Thanks

My thanks to specially, Netkas, Rominator and Pipomolo for providing with key elements in creation of this app.

My even more special thanks to Donaters, for without them the app would have stayed at ATI Flashing Tool 1.0


Donate
You can donate to Zeus and it makes me very happy.





HOW TO FLASH:

Nvidia:

Flashing and Dumping Nvidia only works on the Nvidia card in the bottom slot. It's recommended not to use these functions with two Nvidia inside the computer.
1. Open Zeus
2. Select Nvidia tab
3. Browse for ROM
4. Click Flash


ATI:

1. Open Zeus
2. Select ATI tab
3. Select OS
4. Browse for ROM
5. Click Flash



HOW TO MAKE 4870 / 4890 ROM:

1. Install windows, or just boot from a Windows disk. Not VMware!

With the ati card inside, and drivers installed in windows

2. Download GPU-Z for windows

3. Click the icon next to BIOS VERSION. Save your firmware.

4. Send the firmware to your mac disk. Reboot OSX.

5. In Zeus, go Firmware, browse for the firmware, select card model

6. Click Apply!


Further reading:

The Golden Guide to Flashing Graphic Cards

That thread is a little old though!



As always... use on your own risk...
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!

Last edited by Cindori; Mar 11, 2011 at 10:43 AM.
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 10:22 PM   #2
bearcatrp
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boon Docks USA
What cards are supported for flashing? Checking to see if the 5000 series ATI cards can be done.
__________________
2010 2.66 Mac Mini(SL), ATV3, iPhone 6P, Dual X5670 2.93 Westmere Win7 PC w/48gb ram & 4930K w/32gb ram Win7.
bearcatrp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 10:25 PM   #3
GMink
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcatrp View Post
What cards are supported for flashing? Checking to see if the 5000 series ATI cards can be done.
You will be able to flash the 5000 series IF Apple offeres one as an upgrade. Right now no support in OSX. I'm sure when they release a new MP that a new performace video card will be offered eventually.
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 3.0GHz 8GB, Intel X25-M G2 160Gb SSD, 2x WD 1Tb Caviar Black, 1x Hitachi 2Tb 7K2000,
2x Dell 2407WFP, ATI HD4870 1Gb, Samsung SATA 8x BD, Samsung 22x IDE DVD
GMink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 10:34 PM   #4
Eithanius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Good work Cindori. This is what I'm looking for.

However there's a mention that in order to flash an nvidia card, it is not recommended to have 2 nvidia cards installed. I assume I have to use an ATI instead for display while flashing an nvidia card.

Presumably if I were to flash a generic nvidia GTX 285, flashing it won't be possible on a 128K rom chip unless it is replaced by a 256K. Does it still apply here...?
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro 15" 2.66GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD
iPhone 4 32GB - Black, on iOS 6 - To Hell with Jonny Ive..!
Eithanius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 11:09 PM   #5
hosko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I'm slightly confused.

If I have a Mac Pro with a stock GeForce GT 120 and I want to use a PC GeForce GTX285 1GB card do I only need to use Zeus and nothing else? Also do I have to take the 120 out before hand??
hosko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 11:31 PM   #6
iamcheerful
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Excellent work. Thanks, Cindori!
iamcheerful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 06:49 AM   #7
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
bearcatrp: This app should support every ATI card. This is not the case however, SOME cards (some as in very few, i've seen about 3-4) are not recognized correctly in OSX. So they are not recognized as ATI cards, so the Flasher wont find them.

Since the app only looks for ATI cards there is a big chance this will work for the 5800 series too. I guess someone can test, by dumping their PC 5870 rom, then maybe do 1 tiny fan mod, then try flash it with my app (rom has to be different to card in order for the flash to go trough)


Eith: The nvidia flasher acts different from the ATI flasher.
The ATI flasher will try to match the ROM file to the right card, avoiding to flash wrong one. But the nVidia flasher will try to flash the nvidia card in the lowest slot. So instead of asking to put the flash card in Slot 1, I simply prompt the user to use only 1 card, avoiding ALL mistakes.
Also, the Nvidia flasher can only flash Mac cards. The card has to be initialized (i.e be running properly) for the flasher driver to detect it.
So, flashing PC cards won't work (perhaps if the card is injected with netkas mods)


Hosko, no. You can not make the 285 GTX work with Zeus unless you solder a new firmware chip on it.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2010, 09:35 AM   #8
AryGoldman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Damn, i messed it up

First of all thank you for your great work, all the tips and instructions on flashing.
Please keep up the great work!

So here’s my dilemma:
I bought a Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 (PN: 288-1E131-000SA, SKU: 11133-19) to upgrade my MacPro 1,1.
Ordered the two pcie-cables, installed the card, flashed it with the ATI-Flashing tool and the provided „mac modified.ROM“.

Had the power-cable-warning on startup but didn’t mind as i had read not to do so. Everything seemed to work great but when i played bioshock (mac edition) with all settings on max i noticed red-green-blue pixel artifacts/errors flickering all over my screen sometimes leading to complete freezes.

Issue could only be solved restarting the machine so i downloaded the new zeus-tool and installed another rom found here in the forums. Flashing completed w/o errors, but my machine would no longer start up. All i got is a repeating startup-chime, so i had to completely remove the card from my macpro in order to power it up.

Any suggestions on how to get the thing back to work?

thank you,
ary
AryGoldman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2010, 10:48 AM   #9
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
try with mac card running display and PC card in another slot. if no dice, go bootcd method. described in my guide.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2010, 12:57 PM   #10
AryGoldman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Cindori, thanks for the advice.
i tried with the mac card running display in pci-slot 1 (bottom) and the 4870 in slot 2. no repeating startup-chime but black screen/no video and some red led went on on the motherboard.
sorry to bother you but what exact guide do you mean for bootcd method?

thx in advance,
ary
AryGoldman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2010, 01:28 PM   #11
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
the golden guide.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 09:06 AM   #12
AryGoldman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
seems i got a serious issue. made the bootcd as described here (http://web.me.com/jacobcroft/4870Flash/4870Flash.html). plugged in the 4870 but my mac won´t boot as long as the card is installed even though i have the display on the stock 7300 gt.
having the 4870 in slot 1 gives me the repeating startup-chime.
stock 7300 gt in slot 1 (running display) and 4870 in any other slot - normal startup-chime but black screen and red LED indicating CPUB on motherboard (just underneath the housing of the dimm raisers) goes on.
damn i hope i didnt just waste the card and money...
AryGoldman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 09:43 AM   #13
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
set startup disk to boot disk before you insert card
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 02:41 PM   #14
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Repeating startup chime...or startup chime that doesn't even complete before repeating is usually only resolved by reflashing in a PC.

If you are in Los Angeles area, I will fix any such issue for a six of Stella.

If Pipomolo42 or any other higher level genii read this, the one thing Zeus is still in desperate need of is a DUMP tool.

There was an ATI ROM dump for PPC. My guess is that one exists or functionality could be enabled for Intel.

Ideally, everyone would dump their ROM before flashing. It is the only wy to be 100% certain that your finished ROM is the best possible match for your card.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 03:30 PM   #15
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
I tried have a look at the romdumper for powermac, but couldnt make heads or tails of it. It seems to load a older version of the driver in zeus, but also loads a driver that looks to be created by Thomas Perrier. But I cant access the dumper app bundle for some reason. It doesnt even look like its a binary.

if pipomolo42 made a script to check for 7C, 7D, or 7E and then adjust the tables accordingly, I could implement that together with the rest of his romwriting scripts to create a Rom Creator right inside zeus. I would myself but don't have enough python knowledge. I'm sure its easy.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 08:11 AM   #16
AryGoldman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
thx for your kind advice. it is so great to have you arround trying to help me. feeling less frustrated, even though no progress made ;-)

i installed winxp in order to get my bootcd done, then selected the bootcd as startup (in winxp). pwrd down, installed 4870 in slot 2, stock gt120 in slot 1 driving display, normal startup-chime, black screen, dvd-drive starting to work, red led indicating cpub failure went on, no further startup even after waiting 10 minutes or so and having tried all different dvi-ports.
so since i dont get the machine running w/card the only thing is to flash it w/pc (which i dont have), right? I dreamed about simply putting the card in w the machine running last night, but assume that wont be a good idea...

unfortunately im not even close to los angeles area, but thx a lot for the offer. mybe you´d like to see me for oktoberfest (munich) and bring your stuff? just kidding, i don´t want to wait that long ;-)
AryGoldman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2010, 10:44 AM   #17
joeco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi cindori

I have a 4870 hd ready to flash but seem to have a few problems.
When in windows the gpu-z tool wont let me save the rom, and when booting into osx with my 8800 in slot 1 and my 4870 in slot 2 I get a kernel panic telling me to shut down.

Any ideas and help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
joeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2010, 11:05 AM   #18
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
looks like some cards are doing that

look up atiflash for dos and how to dump roms with it
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2010, 04:25 AM   #19
joeco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Managed to save the rom, it worked by plugginf the monitor cable into the ati gfx card? Still either getting kernel panic or card not being seen in osx though. Any help on the last hurdle?


Thanks again.
joeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:32 PM   #20
GaryREM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
How soon until 10.6.3 update to Zeus (10.6.3 is out now)? (Note, I was running 10.6.3 seed and tried to add info to the kext but still couldn't get QE/CI to run ).

Gary

Last edited by GaryREM; Mar 29, 2010 at 02:01 PM.
GaryREM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:36 PM   #21
quantum003
macrumors 6502a
 
quantum003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superposition
Cindori- THANK YOU. Your tools and guides are priceless. It's a great thing you're doing by making them available to common folk such as myself.
__________________
busratio=22
quantum003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 01:45 PM   #22
llatker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Update Error!

Cindori- THANK YOU. Zeus Looks like a great app. I used your AtI Flashing Tool when 10.6.2 came out. I have Zeus 1.1 and tried updating it, but get an error: "The update is improperly signed," so I can't use it and update to 10.6.3.

Any idea what the error is and how to update to Zeus 1.2 – the download link on the Zeus page still downloads v 1.1.

Thanks.

llatker
llatker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 03:52 PM   #23
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
The download link points to a fixed 1,1 version - which doesnt have the Improper Signed Update error.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 12:32 AM   #24
MacProMovie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Zeus + Sapphire 11133-04-20R + No BIOS = ???

I may have done something very stupid. Before flashing, the card was recognized as working in second slot up from main 7300 card.

I then "flashed" it with Zeus, but didn't browse/pick a BIOS. It took a few moments and said that I had successfully flashed it.

No matter what slot the Sapphire 11133-04-20R is in, it has startup chime and then gets stuck in a startup chime loop.

Did I toast the card because I didn't pick a BIOS file?

I've since found a BIOS on the forum here for that card, but I can't flash it because I can't boot the Mac Pro with the Sapphire installed.

Thanks for any help! And thanks Cindori!

Just read this: "...if no dice, go bootcd method. described in my guide." Will give this a try.
MacProMovie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 04:28 AM   #25
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
there is a little flaw with zeus. if you flash with no browsing, the last rom file will be used. maybe you didnt flash before, but it might have been left a rom since I uploaded the app. going to be fixed in an update.

so your card is not broken, just flashed with incompatible rom. bootcd method will work.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[App Release] Paper Spiral- a charming drawing tool kdan iPad Apps 3 Apr 18, 2014 01:38 AM
Zeus vs. Monsters- Educational Game for Kids peaksel iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Mar 4, 2014 02:30 AM
Would it be ethical for Apple to release false iPhone info leading up to a release? thermal iPhone 27 Aug 11, 2012 09:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC