Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2004, 01:20 PM   #1
boxerchip
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to boxerchip
memory?

I was looking at getting an extra 2 GB of ram for my G5, i was loooking at the differeent brands of ram and everything and found this.


http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...=System+Memory


Ive never really heard of the brand or anything but im guessing it would be better for my G5 seing as its made for G5s.

anyone have any reccomendations or anything about this ram or other really good ram?

Last edited by boxerchip; Sep 9, 2004 at 01:22 PM.
boxerchip is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 02:50 PM   #2
iSaint
macrumors 603
 
iSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
Send a message via AIM to iSaint
Most people I know, and most on this forum would recommend Crucial I ordered a 512 stick for my iBook from Kahlon but sent it back the other day because it was only reading 256k of the total memory. Who knows what the problem is, or was, or if the replacement stick will work. If not, I'm going to Crucial.
__________________
Not Applicable

Last edited by iSaint; Sep 9, 2004 at 02:53 PM.
iSaint is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 03:18 PM   #3
boxerchip
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to boxerchip
thats what ive seen... but ive always been a HUGE fan of corsair.... Just thiking of lateny times and all what is the best performance becuase i know corsair ram has better times than a mac can even do.
boxerchip is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 03:45 PM   #4
FuzzyBallz
macrumors 6502a
 
FuzzyBallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Home of Al-Qaida
Crucial.com has been raising the price of their G5 spec RAM dramatically for the past week. If you need to get some Crucial RAM, get it from newegg.com, they're still cheap. Same spec as ones from Crucial.com.
__________________
-165... ah crap, I lost count.
Mac: G5 Dual 2.0G / 1.5GB / GF FX5200 / 20" Cinema Display
PC: AMD Barton 2.2G / 1GB / GF Ti4200 / Dual 18" Sony LCD
FuzzyBallz is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 04:39 PM   #5
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
This (from newegg.com) is the correct memory for all models of the iMac G5, right?
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 05:39 PM   #6
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
as long as the website says its for a certain model and its printed ont he invoice then if they send you a wrong stick you can send it back and get it replaced no problem at all
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 08:42 PM   #7
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by virividox
as long as the website says its for a certain model...
The memory linked to in my post doesn't list any computers it is compatible with. I think it is RAM that works in all the iMac G5s, but if someone can confirm that for me, that would be great.
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 10:25 PM   #8
FuzzyBallz
macrumors 6502a
 
FuzzyBallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Home of Al-Qaida
Newegg.com's Crucial PC3200 CAS 3, 256MB and 512MB, sticks are single sided and are identical to what's in the G5. The G5 Dual 2.0G I bought yesterday has 2 sticks of Crucial/Micron, but w/o the Crucial sticker.

G5 PM and G5 iMac use the same memory.
__________________
-165... ah crap, I lost count.
Mac: G5 Dual 2.0G / 1.5GB / GF FX5200 / 20" Cinema Display
PC: AMD Barton 2.2G / 1GB / GF Ti4200 / Dual 18" Sony LCD
FuzzyBallz is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 08:45 AM   #9
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyBallz
Newegg.com's Crucial PC3200 CAS 3, 256MB and 512MB, sticks are single sided and are identical to what's in the G5. The G5 Dual 2.0G I bought yesterday has 2 sticks of Crucial/Micron, but w/o the Crucial sticker.

G5 PM and G5 iMac use the same memory.
So based on what you say, if I get the iMac with 1-512MB stick from Apple and add the stick you reference above, I'll get a 128 bit memory bus as reference in this thread?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...54#post1029654
rdowns is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 11:11 AM   #10
KeareB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns
So based on what you say, if I get the iMac with 1-512MB stick from Apple and add the stick you reference above, I'll get a 128 bit memory bus as reference in this thread?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...54#post1029654
Yup.

But, if you want to take it one step further, I don't think we yet know what the CAS latency is on the stock Apple RAM for the iMacs. Best guesses are CL-3. People surmise that even if latency is mismatched, but size is matched, that you will still get a dual memory bus. But we might need to wait and see.
KeareB is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 12:25 PM   #11
boxerchip
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to boxerchip
ok so im thinking 2 gigs of crucial balstix (512x4) this seems to be the best idea at the time from what you all are saying.
boxerchip is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 01:23 PM   #12
continuum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Beautiful Lake Tahoe
I recently bought a 1 gig upgrade for my G5 from Crucial. No problems and the price was fair.
__________________
Continuum
continuum is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 01:52 PM   #13
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
I would add that OWC has good products (equal by some os us to Crucial) and in some cases better pricing.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 02:26 PM   #14
FuzzyBallz
macrumors 6502a
 
FuzzyBallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Home of Al-Qaida
I know some people don't care what kinda memory they buy as long as it work. But here's the thing, G5 uses Crucial memory. You can either go w/ Crucial.com @ 512MB for $99, or w/ Newegg.com @ 512MB for $86 for the exact RAM. I repeat, identical. Both offer free FedEx Air shipping. I bought a pair of 512MB from Newegg.com.

Never heard of OWC (aka, MacSales.com), who sells generic brand "G5 compatible" 512MB RAM for $90. Free shipping is done by UPS Ground if your order is $149 and up. But they also have a very interesting catch. "Get UPS 2nd Day for $5 or less on any order less than 10 lbs." I wonder why they need 2 names for one company?

@rdowns
Yes, it'lll work. It's pretty obvious the G5 iMac is using the same kind of memory as G5 PM, so if the memory works for a PM, it'll work for the iMac.
__________________
-165... ah crap, I lost count.
Mac: G5 Dual 2.0G / 1.5GB / GF FX5200 / 20" Cinema Display
PC: AMD Barton 2.2G / 1GB / GF Ti4200 / Dual 18" Sony LCD
FuzzyBallz is offline   0
Old Sep 10, 2004, 05:22 PM   #15
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyBallz
I know some people don't care what kinda memory they buy as long as it work. But here's the thing, G5 uses Crucial memory. You can either go w/ Crucial.com @ 512MB for $99, or w/ Newegg.com @ 512MB for $86 for the exact RAM. I repeat, identical. Both offer free FedEx Air shipping. I bought a pair of 512MB from Newegg.com.

Never heard of OWC (aka, MacSales.com), who sells generic brand "G5 compatible" 512MB RAM for $90. Free shipping is done by UPS Ground if your order is $149 and up. But they also have a very interesting catch. "Get UPS 2nd Day for $5 or less on any order less than 10 lbs." I wonder why they need 2 names for one company?

@rdowns
Yes, it'lll work. It's pretty obvious the G5 iMac is using the same kind of memory as G5 PM, so if the memory works for a PM, it'll work for the iMac.
All I can say is that OWC got me the same Samsung memory as Apple for my PB 12" for less than Crucial.

I point out OWC because there are many of us that have been happy with OWC and their prices and support. Also there are those of us that have been burnt by Micron. Also depending on the browser (other threads here recently), the prices vary according the browser you go through with Crucial.

For that reason if OWC were to leave tomorrow, I would rather take my chances with other third party RAM.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old Sep 11, 2004, 04:50 PM   #16
davey-nb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NORTH America
iMac G5 and RAM

From MacBidouille today:

The iMacG5 has 2 memory slots. But contrary to the PMG5, it is possible to install 1 or 2 DDR modules of different size. But in this case, the memory bus will be working only in 64 bits mode. Only if both DDR modules are identical, that it will work as 128 bits mode. In other words, performance of your iMacG5 will be dramatically impacted if you do not install 2 identical DDR modules.
Warning, identical DDR modules imply both same size (i.e. 256, 512 1024 MB) and same specs (i.e. latency).
davey-nb is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade RAM: Two, 2GB memory cards or will one 4GB memory card work? cmhall9 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 2, 2013 02:05 PM
Strange memory problems or memory leak in OS??? OldGuyTom OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 Oct 11, 2013 01:47 PM
Apple Memory or 3rd Party Memory? Naked-Warrior iMac 4 Jul 25, 2013 09:12 PM
Memory "for Mac" vs Standard Laptop Memory johnnnw MacBook Pro 19 Mar 3, 2013 05:03 AM
“Memory 100% Pro: Optimizing your iPhone / iPad memory” iglobal123 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 21, 2012 12:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC