Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2010, 09:20 AM   #1
JHF
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Is MBP good enough for photoshop work?

Hi all, I'm a dutch photographer (don't mind my english) considering switching from pc to mac. What is holding me is I think its quite an investment buying a MBP and a Mac Pro at the same time. I was wondering.........because I also need a notebook......would an MBP also do the job doing all the processing of Photoshop? (It still needs to go very smooth like on a desktop so no hicks during any actions.) If so...then I could first buy a MBP and later on a Mac Pro. I definately need the notebook on location.

Grtz, Jim
JHF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 09:21 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Yes, in fact I use PS on my MBP and have little problems.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 09:55 AM   #3
thabends
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I think it would depend on which MBP you're considering. 13" 2.26, 2GB RAM might not suffice. On the other hand, a full blown 15" or 17" should do just fine.
__________________
13" MBP, 2.26 GHz, 500 GB HDD, 4 GB RAM Black 16 GB iPhone 3GS Black 120 GB iPod Classic
thabends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 10:02 AM   #4
Stepint0sh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Hey Jim, I'm from the same country. Whatever you want to do with Photoshop works just fine on a MacBook Pro!
__________________
~Step ; 2.66 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD Unibody MacBook Pro w/Matte Display & 1.83 GHz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD Mac Mini & 2.83 GHz C2Q, 8 GB RAM, 2.16 TB HDDs Hackint0sh
Stepint0sh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 10:07 AM   #5
JHF
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thabends View Post
I think it would depend on which MBP you're considering. 13" 2.26, 2GB RAM might not suffice. On the other hand, a full blown 15" or 17" should do just fine.
Was thinking about the 15" 2.66
JHF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 11:18 AM   #6
srexy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHF View Post
Was thinking about the 15" 2.66
No probs at all - just get as much ram as you can and if you don't get a 17" have an external monitor to hook up - you'll really appreciate the extra real estate.
__________________
Late '11 Unibody MacBook Pro 13" 2.4ghz
'08 iMac 20" 2.4ghz, '09 Mac Mini 2.0ghz Plex powerhouse
TV, iPads, iPods, iPhones etc.
srexy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 11:34 AM   #7
thabends
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by srexy View Post
No probs at all - just get as much ram as you can and if you don't get a 17" have an external monitor to hook up - you'll really appreciate the extra real estate.
I would say go ahead and buy the monitor you'll be using with the MP now, use it with the MBP until then. As long as you have 4GB RAM or more you should be fine...RAM is much cheaper elsewhere, so don't pay for 8GB from Apple. Upgrade to more later if needed.
__________________
13" MBP, 2.26 GHz, 500 GB HDD, 4 GB RAM Black 16 GB iPhone 3GS Black 120 GB iPod Classic
thabends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 11:40 AM   #8
JHF
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thabends View Post
I would say go ahead and buy the monitor you'll be using with the MP now, use it with the MBP until then. As long as you have 4GB RAM or more you should be fine...RAM is much cheaper elsewhere, so don't pay for 8GB from Apple. Upgrade to more later if needed.
At home I work with an Eizo CG241W. So the monitor is ok. Now I have more confidence in buying a MBP 15" 2.66. Thank you all.
JHF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 11:40 AM   #9
niuniu
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: A man of the people. The right sort of people.
I'm using an old 2.17 15incher to do my photoshop work on an almost daily basis. It's a real workhorse, though I do have problems with blacks and very dark or black details on blacks - I find them hard to make out sometimes and try to move the screen angle around to really see it distinctly. That problem isn't there with the glossy screen uMBPs though, (I have a glossy 13 here).

One thing about the 15incher really is it does get very cramped on here when you've got a heavy session going. At times I do wish I was on a 17inch, and, when the new MBPs are out, I may consider one as I never use the external LG LCD here.
niuniu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 12:02 PM   #10
jaysinnva
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I'm going to say it also depends on what camera you're using. Files from my 10.2mp D200 aren't going to be nearly as large and cumbersome to work with as files from something like a 5Dmk2.

With that said, my early '08 MBP works great with CS3 and my D200.
__________________
15" Penryn MBP 2.4Ghz : Time Capsule 500GB : 40GB 3G iPod : 16GB 4G iPod Nano
jaysinnva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 01:08 PM   #11
Jaro65
macrumors 68040
 
Jaro65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via Skype™ to Jaro65
I don't have problems running PS on my MBPs, though I've been thinking about getting an SSD. I have a small one on my 15" MBP and it is pretty amazing how much faster the computer got.
__________________
rMBP | MBA | ACD | iPad | iPhone | ATV | iPods | Senn HD 650
Jaro65 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 01:12 PM   #12
GadgetGeek71
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wherever I May Roam
Quote:
Originally Posted by thabends View Post
I think it would depend on which MBP you're considering. 13" 2.26, 2GB RAM might not suffice. On the other hand, a full blown 15" or 17" should do just fine.
PS runs fine on my 13" uMBP.
__________________
we are the Knights who say...Ni!!
13" uMBP iPad 32GB (-3G) iPhone 3GS 16GB
GadgetGeek71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 04:52 PM   #13
thabends
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek71 View Post
PS runs fine on my 13" uMBP.
As well as mine, but I have 4GB RAM. I would imagine 2 may not cut it sometimes if you're doing much else.
__________________
13" MBP, 2.26 GHz, 500 GB HDD, 4 GB RAM Black 16 GB iPhone 3GS Black 120 GB iPod Classic
thabends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 07:56 PM   #14
JHF
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaro65 View Post
I don't have problems running PS on my MBPs, though I've been thinking about getting an SSD. I have a small one on my 15" MBP and it is pretty amazing how much faster the computer got.
I hope you all don't laugh but........what is an SSD?
JHF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 08:24 PM   #15
123macman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHF View Post
I hope you all don't laugh but........what is an SSD?
Here hope this helps
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

But to put it in simple terms it is a HD that has no moving parts. They are more durable and much faster. They tend to be more expensive and have less storage but if you want speed its worth it.
123macman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 08:52 PM   #16
Jaro65
macrumors 68040
 
Jaro65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via Skype™ to Jaro65
^^^^^^^^^^
When 123macman meant fast, he really wanted to say really, really, really F A S T !!!
__________________
rMBP | MBA | ACD | iPad | iPhone | ATV | iPods | Senn HD 650
Jaro65 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 09:12 PM   #17
Ice Dragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
A MBP is definitely good for Photoshop work. 4 GB RAM is minimal I have found out, 8 GB is a major definite plus. Add a Solid State Drive on top of that and you are completely set. What SSD brand you use though helps a lot! Intel is good and I'm finding out OWC's is even better.

By the way, your English is just fine.
Ice Dragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 03:00 AM   #18
JHF
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Correct me if I'm wrong (I'm not a computer wiz) but if I'm looking for speed in Photoshop isn't it enough to look for 8GB RAM instead of an expensive SSD? Will the SSD not just give me a faster startup from PS? For all action (calculations) within PS I thought its not depending on the harddrive but more on the GB RAM? Or am I completely missing the point here?
JHF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 04:57 PM   #19
Moocher
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Atlanta area
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHF View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong (I'm not a computer wiz) but if I'm looking for speed in Photoshop isn't it enough to look for 8GB RAM instead of an expensive SSD? Will the SSD not just give me a faster startup from PS? For all action (calculations) within PS I thought its not depending on the harddrive but more on the GB RAM? Or am I completely missing the point here?
You are correct. Install your own RAM. Don't worry about a SSD. Try the 15" MBP with an external monitor when not on the road. IF you feel the need you can add the Mac Pro later, but you may not. Make sufficient provisions for backups on and off the road!


Mooch
Moocher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 05:05 PM   #20
kernkraft
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I know that you cannot beat technology and development is an ongoing thing, but this is the time, when you might have to wait. New MBPs are coming out in the near future and the new Adobe pack is coming out next months, I think.

Wait 6-8 weeks and you'll be glad to be on top of the current technology.
kernkraft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 05:41 PM   #21
bluehaze013
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
PS runs fine on my 1201n netbook even so it will definitely work well with any macbook pro. Some things obviously take a bit longer with less computing and graphics horsepower but it does work just fine. Oh and SSD makes a huge difference with PS!
bluehaze013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 05:54 PM   #22
unagimiyagi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'd be less concerned with the processing power and more concerned with the glossy glare AND the glassy glare coming from the screens.

I think that the matte screen is superb, though.
unagimiyagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the conditions required for Photoshop CS6 and LR5 to work on a cloned HD? StressedSnowCat Mac mini 3 Dec 7, 2013 03:12 PM
Which setup for Design work (photoshop, after effects) konsoul MacBook Pro 0 Oct 28, 2013 10:44 PM
Best Keyboard format for photoshop/FCP work activate iMac 11 Oct 13, 2013 05:52 AM
Photoshop watercolours & pencil work mikebatho Design and Graphics 7 Aug 16, 2012 02:27 AM
(1) Photoshop issue on MBP's (2) Questions re: MBP/rMBP on external monitor mac242 MacBook Pro 0 Jul 31, 2012 03:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC