Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2010, 02:03 AM   #1
vini-vidi-vici
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
iPad losing wifi connection, forgetting pswd

I do love this thing, but it seems every 30 minutes or so, I simply get dropped from my own wifi connection, and the iPad asks me for my password again.

On a couple occasions, I could not join my wifi network again. The only fix was to power down and back up. Anyone else have this problem? I do not have this issue with my iPod touch.
vini-vidi-vici is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 02:07 AM   #2
Alicia4065
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to Alicia4065 Send a message via Yahoo to Alicia4065
no problems with my home wi-fi or Verizon mifi and tethering with eris droid works fine surf on all three for 1hr each.
__________________
Apple TV2, Macbook Air (late 2010), Ipad2 WiFi + 3g Verizon, NewIpad WiFi+3g Verizon
Blackberry Torch/Playbook & HTC Thunderbolt
Acer Iconia Tab (Honeycomb)
Alicia4065 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 02:08 AM   #3
SchneiderMan
macrumors 604
 
SchneiderMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple state
I had this issue from the first boot, just had to restart it and it fixed the issue.
__________________
Gdgtmac.com // TheGearGrid.com <Featuring The Best In Tech
SchneiderMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:37 AM   #4
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
30 minutes? Mine is doing this every 10-15 minutes. I will try rebooting it though.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:18 AM   #5
ImperialX
macrumors 65816
 
ImperialX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Send a message via Skype™ to ImperialX
Does this keep happening even after you reboot?
__________________
iMac 27" | rMBP 13" | Retina iPad Mini | iPhone 6
3DS | Nexus 7 II | Kindle Paperwhite | EOS 6D | 24-70/2.8L II | 70-200/2.8L IS II
ImperialX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:20 AM   #6
SchneiderMan
macrumors 604
 
SchneiderMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple state
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperialX View Post
Does this keep happening even after you reboot?
Rebooting should fix the issue
__________________
Gdgtmac.com // TheGearGrid.com <Featuring The Best In Tech
SchneiderMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:35 AM   #7
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchneiderMan View Post
Rebooting should fix the issue
I have rebooted 3 times, doesnt help. Meanwhile, my Macbook is running on the same wifi network just fine. Spent $500 for something I cant even use more than 5 minutes at a time. This POS is going back tomorrow.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 06:31 AM   #8
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
I'll throw this out there.

You may want to look at your router and make sure you have the latest firmware (or latest DD-WRT) on it.

I had an issue like this - a device losing wifi (wasn't the iPad). Went round and round with the device for a while until I read about some access point incompatibilities. Updated the firmware on my router and haven't had a single problem since.

As "universal" as they'd like you to think wifi is, there are often issues between Atheros and Broadcom chipsets that get cleared up in software (firmware) - or just general chipset issues.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 06:34 AM   #9
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewS View Post
I'll throw this out there.

You may want to look at your router and make sure you have the latest firmware (or latest DD-WRT) on it.

I had an issue like this - a device losing wifi (wasn't the iPad). Went round and round with the device for a while until I read about some access point incompatibilities. Updated the firmware on my router and haven't had a single problem since.

As "universal" as they'd like you to think wifi is, there are often issues between Atheros and Broadcom chipsets that get cleared up in software (firmware) - or just general chipset issues.

Thanks but its not a router. Its one of those Sprint 3G/4G mobile hotspots and as I said, my Macbook stays connected to it just fine...
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 06:34 AM   #10
mozartwon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vini-vidi-vici View Post
I do love this thing, but it seems every 30 minutes or so, I simply get dropped from my own wifi connection, and the iPad asks me for my password again.

On a couple occasions, I could not join my wifi network again. The only fix was to power down and back up. Anyone else have this problem? I do not have this issue with my iPod touch.
I'm having the exact same problem!!
mozartwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:06 AM   #11
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell75 View Post
Thanks but its not a router. Its one of those Sprint 3G/4G mobile hotspots and as I said, my Macbook stays connected to it just fine...
Check for a firmware update to it anyway. The MacBook has an Atheros chipset and the iPad has a Broadcom chipset so there is maddeningly funky incompatibility potential. You either have a faulty iPad or something is up with your mobile hotspot.

My MacBook Pro and iPad both have no disconnect issues here.

Edit: here you go. Firmware update for sprint 3G/4g mobile hotspot
http://www.nextel.com/en/software_do...verdrive.shtml

You can go to http://www.sprint.com/downloads for a more generic link in case the link above isn't your mobile hotspot.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:08 AM   #12
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewS View Post
Check for a firmware update to it anyway. The MacBook has an Atheros chipset and the iPad has a Broadcom chipset so there is maddeningly funky incompatibility potential. You either have a faulty iPad or something is up with your mobile hotspot.

My MacBook Pro and iPad both have no disconnect issues here.
ok, there was an update available supposed to improve iphone and itouch. Downloaded it and testing now.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:12 AM   #13
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Sweet! I didn't even read the release notes. Not often you find a fix so specific to your problem. Hopefully this takes care of it.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:12 AM   #14
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Didnt work. Boots me off and says "incorrect password" while I am just surfing the net for a few minutes. Great job Apple, you can have this crap back.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:19 AM   #15
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
It's going to be something to do with the mobile hotspot, not the iPad. Wifi channel, wep/wpa/wpa2, something. Router config or router firmware update clears it up - and I've set up quite a few wireless networks. Had this problem too with a router bridging to another router. Frequent disconnects and would need to reenter the password. Firmware update fixed it.

Try resetting your mobile hotspot to defaults (hard reset) in case there is a funky setting in there. I guarantee you this problem is not the iPads fault.

Go find another wifi network to connect to and see if it holds a password. I'll bet it does. If you can get the iPad to work on another network, that points squarely at the mobile hotspot.

Edit: looks like that 3G/4g hotspot is VERY new - maybe sprint doesn't have incentive to have an iPhone/iPod/iPad work correctly with their hotspot or they're still ironing out issues.

Last edited by AndrewS; Apr 4, 2010 at 07:27 AM.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:23 AM   #16
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewS View Post
try resetting your mobile hotspot to defaults (hard reset) in case there is a funky setting in there. I guarantee you this problem is not the iPads fault.

Yes, it is the iPAD's fault. It already appears to be a widespread issue...

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....87620&tstart=0
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....87493&tstart=0
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:34 AM   #17
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
I'll check those links out later. I still think this will end up being a router issue.
If you have broadcast ssid turned off, try turning it on.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 07:38 AM   #18
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewS View Post
I'll check those links out later. I still think this will end up being a router issue.
If you have broadcast ssid turned off, try turning it on.

What is ssid?
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 08:37 AM   #19
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Well dammit. I am down here at Starbucks and my iPad is working perfect on their wifi here. Appears to be an issue with my mobile hotspot. That sucks, I can't come to Starbucks every time I want to use it
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 08:50 AM   #20
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Ssid is your network name. If you can find your network on your mac or ipad then ssid is set to broadcast. If you have to type in your network name to connect then your ssid is hidden.
I've seen issues even with my MacBook pro with a hidden ssid where I had to type in the network name. It would constantly lose connection. Set it to broadcast and it was fine.

Now that you got starbucks working, we know it's a hotspot issue. I'd try resetting your hotspot and reconfiguring it after that firmware update. Then restart your ipad and try to reconnect.
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 09:35 AM   #21
vini-vidi-vici
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Thanks for the info everyone... I know my wifi is hidden, and will change to broadcast... We'll see if that helps. I hope apple will fix this with a minor os upgrade soon. Since it works fine on the iPod touch, it ought to work fine on the iPad.

Fwiw, sometimes it's 5minutes for me, sometimes 1-2hours...
vini-vidi-vici is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 09:38 AM   #22
Unprocessed1
macrumors 65816
 
Unprocessed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell75 View Post
Well dammit. I am down here at Starbucks and my iPad is working perfect on their wifi here. Appears to be an issue with my mobile hotspot. That sucks, I can't come to Starbucks every time I want to use it
Good, so now you can take your crappy attitude back.
Unprocessed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 09:44 AM   #23
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Ok. So I turned the security off on my router thus disabling the need for a password. It's working pretty well now. Dropped the signal once briefly but didn't knock me offline. Haven't had the incorrect password box pop up either.

So if you are having similar issues to me, try disabling your security so you don't need a password. A bit risky but I will just be using mine at home anyways.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:01 PM   #24
AndrewS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
What kind of security were you using?

WPA2 (AES) has worked well. If you were just using WPA, try WPA2. You might also try changing channels to see if that helps. Not good having no security
AndrewS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:08 PM   #25
mbell75
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewS View Post
What kind of security were you using?

WPA2 (AES) has worked well. If you were just using WPA, try WPA2. You might also try changing channels to see if that helps. Not good having no security
Not sure. I just went in and disabled the password and it really doesnt matter since the range on this thing is only 25 feet. Someone would have to be inside my house to get access to it.
mbell75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi keeps losing Internet connection nilsh32 MacBook Pro 0 Oct 28, 2013 04:45 PM
Losing internet while still showing full wifi connection Burton321 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 16, 2013 10:38 PM
iMac losing wifi connection zalle iMac 10 Mar 21, 2013 05:59 AM
Losing Cell Data Connection Coming Off Wifi rayward iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 20, 2012 02:21 PM
Why does my MacBook Pro keep losing wifi connection?? BadboyHouse MacBook Pro 2 Jun 1, 2012 03:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC