Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2004, 10:53 AM   #1
network23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wisconson
Send a message via ICQ to network23 Send a message via Yahoo to network23
Site problem!

Is anyone else seeing this, or is it just me?

Recently (last week or so), I've started having problems with the MacRumors site in that the ad will load, and the pageload will stop. It will take 2-4 reloads of the page before I can see anything below the adspace.

Now, some more sinister than I would think it was a cheap way to increase ad hit counts, but I'm sure it's just an html coding error that I wanted to bring to your attention and see if anyone else was having the same problem.
network23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 10:54 AM   #2
zelmo
macrumors 603
 
zelmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mac since 7.5
I have not had this problem on my Mac at work, at home, or on my laptop.
__________________
Unholy Ferret Invasion is coming to your town!
zelmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 03:54 PM   #3
straphound
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio
The same thing happens to me occasionally. This only seems to happen on my work PC and when using Firefox.

It doesn't seem to happen when using IE on my PC (granted it has been a long time since I used IE for any browsing, Mac or PC) or when using Safari or Firefox on my Mac.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Doesn't Load.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	17578  
__________________
1 GHz 12" Powerbook
Superdrive
768 MB RAM
straphound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 04:02 PM   #4
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Same here, Firefox on my PC at work keeps having this problem. Not sure if it's MR or Firefox though.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 05:02 PM   #5
hcuar
macrumors 65816
 
hcuar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas
Gah... I thought it was me. It happens to me at work (Windows 2000 / Mozilla 1.7.3) and at home (OS X / Safari).
__________________
iMac 27" i5 Mid 2011 | 1TB HD | 16GB RAM
iPhone 4 32 Gig
hcuar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 05:03 PM   #6
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcuar
Gah... I thought it was me. It happens to me at work (Windows 2000 / Mozilla 1.7.3) and at home (OS X / Safari).
The plot thickens...
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 05:49 PM   #7
t300
Guest
 
t300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
The plot thickens...
Cue scary Hitchcockian music...
t300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2004, 05:53 PM   #8
continuum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Beautiful Lake Tahoe
just happened to me at work with XP and IE about 5 minutes ago.

is that 1000 ravens flying above?
__________________
Continuum
continuum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2004, 03:40 PM   #9
yoda13
macrumors 65816
 
yoda13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
I too have had this problem once or twice. Always using Safari on my Mac.
__________________
For over a thousand generations, the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic. Before the dark times, before the Empire.
yoda13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2004, 04:41 PM   #10
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Me too. Although it seems to have recently cleared up.

Like some others: Safari 1.2.2 on OS 10.3.4

Thought it was a Safari thing, cleared my cache...
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2004, 05:03 PM   #11
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
never used to happen w/ firefox until i got 1.0 but now it does. in netscape 7.2(my favorite browser behind hypersalamander as it's calling itself now due to the firesomething extension and netscape 4.7 which sadly renders macrumors completely wrong, without java or tables or anything even though i have all plugins...
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2004, 05:55 PM   #12
evil_santa
macrumors 6502a
 
evil_santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, England
had the same problem on osx/safari since one of the recent security updates, seems to have gone away now..
evil_santa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2004, 06:46 PM   #13
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
just happened to me too, in Safari, but i have noticed it in Firefox as well, OS X 10.3.5
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
site problem tyranna Site and Forum Feedback 9 Dec 31, 2013 01:55 PM
Hyperlink problem with Iweb-made site porcus-belle Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 12, 2013 01:12 PM
Problem with public Photo Stream site bdee1 iOS 6 4 Jan 2, 2013 12:08 AM
Iphone/site problem Mac'nCheese Site and Forum Feedback 8 Jul 21, 2012 01:06 PM
Problem downloading widgets from Apple site cankersaurus Mac Basics and Help 0 Jun 16, 2012 04:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC