Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:03 PM   #1
clashbakk8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
G4 loads too slowly!

When I turn my G4 on, it loads slower than usual. What do I need to do to fix it?
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:04 PM   #2
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
maybe unplug the speakers. that's what my problem was.
igucl is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:25 PM   #3
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
tried that. it doesnt load any faster. it takes too long from turning on the computer to the user login screen
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:52 PM   #4
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
It just started doing this? Did you recently add something new? Try repairing permissions.
igucl is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:56 PM   #5
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
nope its been doing this since somewhere in late-August/early-September
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 05:57 PM   #6
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
What exactly is it? iMac? eMac? PowerMac?
igucl is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:02 PM   #7
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
PowerMac
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:04 PM   #8
dav
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Is RAM an issue? How much RAM do you have?
dav is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:06 PM   #9
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Have you done a permission repair recently? How about the maintenance scripts?
igucl is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:15 PM   #10
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
just did permission repair. fixed a few things. how do you access maintenance scripts?
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:19 PM   #11
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Normally the maintenance scripts run automatically during the middle of the night if the computer is left on. But, if you turn off the computer at night, you will need to go to macupdate.com and look for the program called "onyx". It allows you to run the scripts on command.
igucl is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:21 PM   #12
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Also, try macjanitor. Does the same thing...
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:46 PM   #13
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
I usually turn the computer off at night, but if I leave it on, will the scripts run while the computer is in sleep mode?
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 16, 2004, 06:50 PM   #14
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by clashbakk8
I usually turn the computer off at night, but if I leave it on, will the scripts run while the computer is in sleep mode?
Nope. That's why MacJanitor is useful.

It's also quite possible that your hard-drive is fragmented and needs a good defragmenting session... you will need a 3rd party utility like TechTools Pro 4.

Stay away from any version of Norton Utilities, otherwise a world of pain awaits you... (possibly )
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Oct 17, 2004, 01:19 AM   #15
clashbakk8
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Send a message via AIM to clashbakk8
RAM isnt a problem. um, I HAVE Norton on my computer, but will I need to turn stuff off?
clashbakk8 is offline   0
Old Oct 17, 2004, 04:35 AM   #16
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
In future if you have a prob, it helps to post your model of Mac and it's operating system & any other tech details that you may feel is relevant.

All of the below only counts if you have OSX, some of it OS 9.

If I were you I would remove it.

Norton Utilities has screwed up 2 of my hard-drives in the past, Norton Antivirus is a waste of time on a Mac and can lead to conflicts with other programs.

Do a forum search on Norton Utilities to find out others' experiences with it.
You won't find many complementary comments.

You may not have to remove it. If you're running OS X, go to System Preferences, Accounts, Startup Items tab. See what apps you have there (these auto-start when you boot the Mac) if Norton or anything unwanted is there, except for Suitcase (if you have it) then deactivate it.

If that fails trash it, especially if you have the original installation CD.
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Oct 17, 2004, 10:40 AM   #17
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by clashbakk8
RAM isnt a problem. um, I HAVE Norton on my computer, but will I need to turn stuff off?
I've used Norton Utilities since version since version 2.0 (early 1990s..)
It used to be a great program, but after OSX came around Norton hasn't managed to get a usable program. It's damaging to have Norton installed on OSX (yes this also includes the SystemWorksX 2 & 3 pacakges..)
If you need a disk utility app, get DiskWarrior (or Drive10).
OSX handles everything itself. Macjanitor and others only starts OSX own repair scripts..
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0
Old Oct 17, 2004, 12:05 PM   #18
markjones05
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by igucl
maybe unplug the speakers. that's what my problem was.
Why in Gods name would that make a difference?
markjones05 is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 11:43 PM   #19
igucl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjones05
Why in Gods name would that make a difference?
It was a problem for me because I think there is a short in the speaker jack on my iMac. I know it's not a problem for everyone, but I figured he could give it a shot.
igucl is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loads of issues themagichoof Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Nov 22, 2013 12:56 PM
Since updating to iOS 7, my iPad 4 loads web content VERY slowly, if at all. Brows iOS 7 1 Oct 5, 2013 11:39 PM
Loads of Macs! RedElectro Apple Collectors 2 Jun 2, 2013 06:12 AM
When Safari loads... BDD888 Mac Basics and Help 4 Apr 23, 2013 10:39 AM
Menu bar loads slowly due to iTunes on restart? Compton Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 1, 2012 12:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC