Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:29 PM   #1
olly666
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
3G or Wifi Used by Default?

If both are enabled... Which is used for data - browsing, etc?
__________________
Maybe you'd like to know the contents of my refrigerator too...?
olly666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:29 PM   #2
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Wifi.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 64GB Black iPhone 5
Switching to AT&T? PM me for a $25 gift card!
Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:30 PM   #3
lorenwade
macrumors 68000
 
lorenwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by olly666 View Post
If both are enabled... Which is used for data - browsing, etc?
WiFi, when available, always takes priority.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro
64gb White iPhone 5
lorenwade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:30 PM   #4
scwinsett
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
iPhone automatically uses the fastest enabled setting, which is wifi 99% of the time
__________________
@seancstaggs
Www.corporatejuggernaut.com
scwinsett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:32 PM   #5
olly666
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Good to know. Thanks all.
__________________
Maybe you'd like to know the contents of my refrigerator too...?
olly666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:37 PM   #6
Runt888
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scwinsett View Post
iPhone automatically uses the fastest enabled setting, which is wifi 99% of the time
I may be reading your post wrong, but are you saying that there is a time when the iPhone will prioritize 3G over wifi?
Runt888 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 09:13 PM   #7
scwinsett
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runt888 View Post
I may be reading your post wrong, but are you saying that there is a time when the iPhone will prioritize 3G over wifi?
If you are having problems with your wifi, it will switch to 3G
__________________
@seancstaggs
Www.corporatejuggernaut.com
scwinsett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:54 PM   #8
twitchtwice
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
unless you have wifi disabled, it will always take precedence.
twitchtwice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 06:38 AM   #9
PaulMoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I was about to post this question as the salesperson in the Apple store told me the exact opposite (re: iPhone 4, if that makes a difference), that 3G is the default data source even when connected to wifi- they even said I would have to turn off 3G when connected to my home wifi so as to avoid running up data charges... were they wrong?

(The only other thing I asked about they were also wrong about after I checked back here... thank goodness for this site!)
PaulMoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 07:06 AM   #10
TruckdriverSean
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas, US
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulMoore
I was about to post this question as the salesperson in the Apple store told me the exact opposite (re: iPhone 4, if that makes a difference), that 3G is the default data source even when connected to wifi- they even said I would have to turn off 3G when connected to my home wifi so as to avoid running up data charges... were they wrong?

(The only other thing I asked about they were also wrong about after I checked back here... thank goodness for this site!)
Yep. The salesperson was wrong. (it happens)

Wifi automatically takes over for data use (surfing sending email, iTunes downloading, etc.) when connected. In my experience, the iPhone picks wifi EVEN when it is slower (my wifi router crashed, wouldn't switch to 3G until I turned wifi off in settings)

The only exception I've ever heard of is the diagnostic data the iPhone sends home to Apple. There were reports (on this forum) of that data being sent over 3G even when wifi was connected. (I can't confirm this as fact though)

Sean
__________________
My AntennaGate theory: The iPhone-4 was originally supposed to use Bumpers. Someone showed the phone to Steve "naked", and the rest is history...
TruckdriverSean is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 07:08 AM   #11
bmms8
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
i would even go as far as recommending to turn off 3G when youre in a wifi area. the battery usage saved will definitely help
__________________
13" MacBook Pro
16 GB iPhone 5s
bmms8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 08:36 AM   #12
Wetwipes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I turn my 3G and cellular data off on my ip4 when I'm at home as I was 'mysteriously' being charged for mobile internet during times when I know I was at home. Since then I haven't had a problem - it is a pain in the a** to remember to keep doing it, but, at least I know I can surf with confidence in the privacy of my own home!
Wetwipes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 08:53 AM   #13
mountainwizrd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Asheville, NC
Hope this isnt too far off topic- I have a microcell and its signal seems to carry further than my wi fi, since the microcell routes through my DSL line, is there a data charge when connected through the microcell instead of wi fi ?
mountainwizrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 09:03 AM   #14
drewc1138
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by scwinsett View Post
If you are having problems with your wifi, it will switch to 3G
Negative. I've had issues lately where my cable internet just drags, and the iPhone stays connected.
drewc1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3G or Wifi + Tethering? WoodrowCall iPad 15 Mar 11, 2011 02:51 PM
Which Uses More Battery: 3G or Wifi? jmo1116 iPhone 6 Feb 9, 2011 04:48 PM
Buying Dilemma 16gb wifi + 3g or 32gb wifi? TomCondon iPad 11 Nov 28, 2010 12:39 PM
What uses more battery? 3G or WiFi? OrangeCuse44 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Nov 8, 2008 01:15 PM
Push or fetch and 3G or Wifi to increase batterylife? Reiger iPhone 26 Jul 18, 2008 04:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC