Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:29 PM   #1
olly666
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
3G or Wifi Used by Default?

If both are enabled... Which is used for data - browsing, etc?
__________________
Maybe you'd like to know the contents of my refrigerator too...?
olly666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:29 PM   #2
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Wifi.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 64GB Black iPhone 5
Switching to AT&T? PM me for a $25 gift card!
Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:30 PM   #3
lorenwade
macrumors 68000
 
lorenwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by olly666 View Post
If both are enabled... Which is used for data - browsing, etc?
WiFi, when available, always takes priority.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro
64gb White iPhone 5
lorenwade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:30 PM   #4
scwinsett
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
iPhone automatically uses the fastest enabled setting, which is wifi 99% of the time
__________________
@seancstaggs
Www.corporatejuggernaut.com
scwinsett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:32 PM   #5
olly666
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Good to know. Thanks all.
__________________
Maybe you'd like to know the contents of my refrigerator too...?
olly666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:37 PM   #6
Runt888
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scwinsett View Post
iPhone automatically uses the fastest enabled setting, which is wifi 99% of the time
I may be reading your post wrong, but are you saying that there is a time when the iPhone will prioritize 3G over wifi?
Runt888 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 09:13 PM   #7
scwinsett
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runt888 View Post
I may be reading your post wrong, but are you saying that there is a time when the iPhone will prioritize 3G over wifi?
If you are having problems with your wifi, it will switch to 3G
__________________
@seancstaggs
Www.corporatejuggernaut.com
scwinsett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:54 PM   #8
twitchtwice
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
unless you have wifi disabled, it will always take precedence.
twitchtwice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 06:38 AM   #9
PaulMoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I was about to post this question as the salesperson in the Apple store told me the exact opposite (re: iPhone 4, if that makes a difference), that 3G is the default data source even when connected to wifi- they even said I would have to turn off 3G when connected to my home wifi so as to avoid running up data charges... were they wrong?

(The only other thing I asked about they were also wrong about after I checked back here... thank goodness for this site!)
PaulMoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 07:06 AM   #10
TruckdriverSean
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas, US
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulMoore
I was about to post this question as the salesperson in the Apple store told me the exact opposite (re: iPhone 4, if that makes a difference), that 3G is the default data source even when connected to wifi- they even said I would have to turn off 3G when connected to my home wifi so as to avoid running up data charges... were they wrong?

(The only other thing I asked about they were also wrong about after I checked back here... thank goodness for this site!)
Yep. The salesperson was wrong. (it happens)

Wifi automatically takes over for data use (surfing sending email, iTunes downloading, etc.) when connected. In my experience, the iPhone picks wifi EVEN when it is slower (my wifi router crashed, wouldn't switch to 3G until I turned wifi off in settings)

The only exception I've ever heard of is the diagnostic data the iPhone sends home to Apple. There were reports (on this forum) of that data being sent over 3G even when wifi was connected. (I can't confirm this as fact though)

Sean
__________________
 2009 cMP  2012 MBa  iPhone 5S 32GB
TruckdriverSean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 07:08 AM   #11
bmms8
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
i would even go as far as recommending to turn off 3G when youre in a wifi area. the battery usage saved will definitely help
__________________
13" MacBook Pro
16 GB iPhone 5s
bmms8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 08:36 AM   #12
Wetwipes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I turn my 3G and cellular data off on my ip4 when I'm at home as I was 'mysteriously' being charged for mobile internet during times when I know I was at home. Since then I haven't had a problem - it is a pain in the a** to remember to keep doing it, but, at least I know I can surf with confidence in the privacy of my own home!
Wetwipes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 08:53 AM   #13
mountainwizrd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Asheville, NC
Hope this isnt too far off topic- I have a microcell and its signal seems to carry further than my wi fi, since the microcell routes through my DSL line, is there a data charge when connected through the microcell instead of wi fi ?
mountainwizrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 09:03 AM   #14
drewc1138
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by scwinsett View Post
If you are having problems with your wifi, it will switch to 3G
Negative. I've had issues lately where my cable internet just drags, and the iPhone stays connected.
drewc1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3G (not LTE) default coming off Wifi? beachbum45 iOS 7 0 Oct 6, 2013 08:59 AM
After editing Notes without wifi iCloud creates new doc when wifi is rediscovered patent10021 iCloud and Apple Services 0 Sep 30, 2013 08:44 AM
safari doesn't update my wifi login information, not the wifi password dingalpha iPhone 1 Feb 8, 2013 11:43 AM
iPad: Any jailbreak tweak to enable WiFi hotspot on iPad mini WiFi only? Cptnodegard Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 5, 2013 03:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC