Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2010, 12:31 PM   #1
hardhatmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Video card compatible with my G5 Quad?

I have a late model G5 Quad 2.5 Ghz that I'm trying to sell.

The video card is dead and causing all sorts of kernel panics.

So, I'm trying to replace the card with the cheapest one I can find, so I can sell the machine.

I found this one on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mac-ATI-Radeon-9...item3efe666eb6

It says it will work with the G5 Tower 8x AGP, but I don't know if thats mine or not.

Do you guys know if that will work in my machine?

Let me know,

Thanks!!!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 01:30 PM   #2
max¥¥
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
open her up and look down the bottom of the case and see if it says "pci, pci-x or pci-e" if it says pci or pci-x then the card should work, if it says pci-e i belive you need a pci-e graphics card
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max¥¥ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 02:13 PM   #3
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
On the expansion slots it says PCI-e. Does that mean it won't work?
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 02:35 PM   #4
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardhatmac View Post
On the expansion slots it says PCI-e. Does that mean it won't work?
That's right. An AGP graphics card will NOT work in a Quad G5.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 03:27 PM   #5
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
The least expensive route would be a used GeForce 6600 LE which was the stock card in those last PCIe G5 systems. Higher end cards like the Radeon X1900 and the super high end Quadro FX 4500 will cost you quite a bit more money. If all you're looking to do is get a working card in there so you can sell it, I would get on eBay and find a GeForce 6600.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17” PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 04:39 PM   #6
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
The least expensive route would be a used GeForce 6600 LE which was the stock card in those last PCIe G5 systems. Higher end cards like the Radeon X1900 and the super high end Quadro FX 4500 will cost you quite a bit more money. If all you're looking to do is get a working card in there so you can sell it, I would get on eBay and find a GeForce 6600.
Sweet. I found a GeForce 6600 LE for $85 which is pretty cheap.

The card I have in there right now is the NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT, I found this auction but it says for Windows XP.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MakeTrack=true

Is it just miss-labeled? Would it work in my G5? That'd be sweet to get it for $90.

The local apple tech said a new NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT would be $350.

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 05:11 PM   #7
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Nope, that card won't work. It needs a mac specific ROM file in order to work in a G5 machine. It might be flashable if you do the research and see if that specific model card works or not. But bottom line, no that card won't work just out of the box.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 02:00 AM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-nVIDIA-GeF...item45f3cdec03

Here is flashed 7800 for $99.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 11:23 AM   #9
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Thanks, you guys rock!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 04:40 PM   #10
aliensporebomb
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
Send a message via AIM to aliensporebomb Send a message via Yahoo to aliensporebomb Send a message via Skype™ to aliensporebomb
Exclamation Thinking...

Be careful.

Some of the flashed 7800's are AGP cards and some are PCIe.

You want the PCIe version.

I've got the AGP version in my G5 and it's very, very fast.
aliensporebomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 05:41 PM   #11
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliensporebomb View Post
Be careful.

Some of the flashed 7800's are AGP cards and some are PCIe...
agreed, and wise advice.

the ebay auction link listed above stated;

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebay auction
works with Apple Powermac G5 with PCIe bus slot
so should be good to go. the pictures of the card listed were also PCI-E. here's hoping they were the actual card...

agree with this being a really fast/great solution, and should help you sell the system. only better/cheaper option is finding a Mac compatible 6600 card for less as you are selling the system. best of luck.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.
4JNA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 07:13 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Take your pic.

Nvidia 6600 BIN $79.99 with free shipping
Nvidia 6600 Auction $49.99 +$5 shipping
Nvidia 7800 GT Auction $.99 + $8 shipping
Nvidia 7800 GT Flashed? BIN or B/O $99.98 w/ free shipping

As long as it's the graphics card that's causing the KPs, the 7800GT could boost it's value to around $600-$800 depending on the other specs of the G5.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 12:25 PM   #13
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Take your pic.

Nvidia 6600 BIN $79.99 with free shipping
Nvidia 6600 Auction $49.99 +$5 shipping
Nvidia 7800 GT Auction $.99 + $8 shipping
Nvidia 7800 GT Flashed? BIN or B/O $99.98 w/ free shipping

As long as it's the graphics card that's causing the KPs, the 7800GT could boost it's value to around $600-$800 depending on the other specs of the G5.

I'm actually already bidding on the 6600 auction for $49.

As far as the other specs, it's a G5 2.5 Ghz quad, with 6.5 GB memory, 1TB HDD, and then whatever graphics card I get. With dual LCD monitors, and an al keyboard.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 09:15 PM   #14
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
This is, no doubt, a dumb question but I just installed that 6600 card from eBay and now the computer won't turn on.

The fans will start like normal, the screens stay black, and after a minute the fans go into hyper drive mode and I have to hold down the power button to turn it off.

When I put my old card back in, it starts up but then after a minute has a kernal panic.

Any ideas? Does that mean the 6600 card is dead? Or is there some reset thing I should do with the new card?

Thanks!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2010, 03:34 AM   #15
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Seems like your "new" card is DOA. It should work plug and play. If everything else in your Mac (RAM etc) is OK, it should power on and chime without graphics card installed. Try this way.
One more question: which OS version you got installed? KP is also lack of drivers. For example: if you got cloned drive with 10.4 (fresh install, no updates) and put it to rig with 6600 or 7800 - it will KP due to lack of graphics driver. Drivers for 6600 were in 10.4.2, drivers for 7800 in 10.4.6

Second possibility is, that KPs are caused by bad RAM, not your old 6600. Did you try to start your Mac with minimum amount of RAM (2 sticks)?
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2010, 10:22 AM   #16
hardhatmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
I'm running 10.5.8 Leopard.

I've tried it with just the stock 512 RAM. (can you believe these machines used to ship with only half a gig of RAM?) And that didn't change anything.

I'll run some more tests on the new card tonight and see if I can get it to work.

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Sigs should be pictures.
Sure, people put their computer specs here,
but specs say nothing about who I am therefore have no place in my "signature."
hardhatmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2010, 12:47 PM   #17
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Test other RAM pairs. Maybe this stock pair is going bad?
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA card for a quad 2.5 G5 rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 40 Apr 15, 2014 08:54 PM
Which Nvidia Card for Quad Monitor Setup? mseth Mac Pro 18 Apr 2, 2013 06:12 PM
Resolved: What're the difference between a t-mobile compatible & AT&T compatible ST sim card? jackwills iPhone 1 Mar 4, 2013 10:08 PM
Compatible data card with ML rupam.db OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Aug 12, 2012 04:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC