Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2010, 02:53 PM   #1
yahya4k
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Unhappy Help!!! My iPad screen goes black for no reason.

This seems to be a common enough problem coz Safari and Gooogle autocomplete the phrase 'ipad screen goes black' when i start the search, but i hav yet to find a solution.

It doesnt matter what I am doing.. Whether I am watching youtube, or just going through the settings... or doing nothing...the screen would go black and then the Apple logo will appear, then it would go pure black .

Anyone had this problem and please does anyone hav a solution that doesnt include packing it up and sending it off for repairs? Thnx
__________________
iPhone 5 16 gb Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB Ram

One Nine Seven One/
yahya4k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 03:02 PM   #2
AR15MBP
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
This seems to be a common enough problem coz Safari and Gooogle autocomplete the phrase 'ipad screen goes black' when i start the search, but i hav yet to find a solution.

It doesnt matter what I am doing.. Whether I am watching youtube, or just going through the settings... or doing nothing...the screen would go black and then the Apple logo will appear, then it would go pure black .

Anyone had this problem and please does anyone hav a solution that doesnt include packing it up and sending it off for repairs? Thnx
i would do a restore, and if that doesn't fix it, it is probably a hardware problem and will need to be replaced.
__________________
Macbook Pro iPhone iPad
AR15MBP is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 01:42 AM   #3
yahya4k
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Well there are several reset options on the ipad, none of which worked, except for deleting iTunes which then practically made the device worthless. So I hooked it up to my Dell's iTunes where it synced and told me that there is a reset option that includes a 456mb iPad software update. I am downloading that now and in a few hours will install. If that doesnt fix the problem, then this afternoon I will head to the shop I bought it from and beat the manager and the sales guy who sold it to me with it.

However if anyone else can provide me with an easy fix solution before then, it will be appreciated.... I am sure this problem doesnt require a replacement or extensive repair; its freaking new for goodness sake. *Shakes fist at imaginary Steve Jobs*
__________________
iPhone 5 16 gb Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB Ram

One Nine Seven One/
yahya4k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 03:06 AM   #4
Czicks
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
Well there are several reset options on the ipad, none of which worked, except for deleting iTunes which then practically made the device worthless. So I hooked it up to my Dell's iTunes where it synced and told me that there is a reset option that includes a 456mb iPad software update. I am downloading that now and in a few hours will install. If that doesnt fix the problem, then this afternoon I will head to the shop I bought it from and beat the manager and the sales guy who sold it to me with it.

However if anyone else can provide me with an easy fix solution before then, it will be appreciated.... I am sure this problem doesnt require a replacement or extensive repair; its freaking new for goodness sake. *Shakes fist at imaginary Steve Jobs*
How did you even manage to remove iTunes from the iPad itself?

To do a restore you have to connect the device to a PC/Mac and complete a restore via iTunes on the PC. See below:
Thumb resize.

Last edited by kainjow; Jul 13, 2010 at 08:39 PM. Reason: timg
Czicks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 04:00 AM   #5
yahya4k
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Ok ignoring the name calling bit... itunes was removed on one of the reset options (i think it was the reset all content button)... and seeing that reseting things gets most things to work, i pressed that button.

Anywayss... ur screen grab is exactly the procedure I spoke about when i connected it to my Dell's iTunes. The device is working again, but screen still blacks out. I am still downloading the update as i type this now...
__________________
iPhone 5 16 gb Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB Ram

One Nine Seven One/
yahya4k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 12:44 PM   #6
donlab
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
Ok ignoring the name calling bit... itunes was removed on one of the reset options (i think it was the reset all content button)... and seeing that reseting things gets most things to work, i pressed that button.

Anywayss... ur screen grab is exactly the procedure I spoke about when i connected it to my Dell's iTunes. The device is working again, but screen still blacks out. I am still downloading the update as i type this now...
Mine too, the screen went black then iPad rebooted. I restored immediately and haven't seen the issue since.
donlab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 01:09 PM   #7
yahya4k
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by donlab View Post
Mine too, the screen went black then iPad rebooted. I restored immediately and haven't seen the issue since.
I have taken it back to the shop. I didnt bother restoring it coz I wanted their engineers to see that problem as it is, in case it happens again. They said its software has been corrupted so they have to wipe and install an upgraded operating system (or some technobable). Since they didnt hav the software at hand and the process takes time to complete, they told me to come back on thursday to pick it up.

Oh well...
__________________
iPhone 5 16 gb Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB Ram

One Nine Seven One/
yahya4k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 01:39 PM   #8
c20ona
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Send a message via AIM to c20ona
I had the same problem occur with my one week old iPad too. Being a little bored, I proceeded to p1ss about with the speech setting. Soon as it activated, it refused to let me turn it off or make any other adjustments. Then two mins later my screen decides to go black never to return.

So plugged the little tike up to iTunes and clicked on the access tab so as to deactivate the speech thingy. Next min, it's working fine again. ****e thy self was an understatement.

So does anyone know if this is supposed to happen with this program or was it simply down to being a buggy app ?.

Cheers

KC
c20ona is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 02:44 PM   #9
AR15MBP
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
I have taken it back to the shop. I didnt bother restoring it coz I wanted their engineers to see that problem as it is, in case it happens again. They said its software has been corrupted so they have to wipe and install an upgraded operating system (or some technobable). Since they didnt hav the software at hand and the process takes time to complete, they told me to come back on thursday to pick it up.

Oh well...
wow. i can't tell if this is all a joke or something. upgraded software? we all have access to the same software. where did you buy this ipad? didn't have the software on hand? it's the same software you used to restore the ipad. i think you are getting taken for a ride. you need to research a little better or you may be taken advantage of. good luck.
__________________
Macbook Pro iPhone iPad
AR15MBP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 03:23 PM   #10
bassanoclapper
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
I have taken it back to the shop. I didnt bother restoring it coz I wanted their engineers to see that problem as it is, in case it happens again. They said its software has been corrupted so they have to wipe and install an upgraded operating system (or some technobable). Since they didnt hav the software at hand and the process takes time to complete, they told me to come back on thursday to pick it up.

Oh well...
Something fishy somewhere
__________________
3.4 GHz 27" iMac | iPhone 5 | iPad | iPad mini | TV
bassanoclapper is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 07:41 PM   #11
yahya4k
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
I assume the software restore was the lengthy one I was downloading but aborted as I dont have time to play tech with my iPad. Since they are the ones who sold it and say they know what is wrong, I will let them deal with it.

Whatever the issue is, they'll have to replace the device or refund it if they cant fix it anyway, so thats not a worry for me. My main beef is that I will be without it for a couple of days
__________________
iPhone 5 16 gb Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB Ram

One Nine Seven One/
yahya4k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 01:24 PM   #12
Magic!
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Lightbulb I had the same problem, but fixed it(:

Soo..hold your home and power/wake button together until the apple icon shows up. It worked for me(:

YouhrWelcome
Contact me!
Magic! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 07:50 AM   #13
rmadd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Memphis, Tx
Help!!! My iPad screen goes black for no reason.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic! View Post
Soo..hold your home and power/wake button together until the apple icon shows up. It worked for me(:

YouhrWelcome
Contact me!
That seems to have worked for me also. Thanks
rmadd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:38 AM   #14
Stealthipad
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
Ok ignoring the name calling bit... itunes was removed on one of the reset options (i think it was the reset all content button)... and seeing that reseting things gets most things to work, i pressed that button.

Anywayss... ur screen grab is exactly the procedure I spoke about when i connected it to my Dell's iTunes. The device is working again, but screen still blacks out. I am still downloading the update as i type this now...
Sounds like this is UIE! (User Induced Error)
Stealthipad is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 09:00 AM   #15
M87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by c20ona View Post
I had the same problem occur with my one week old iPad too. Being a little bored, I proceeded to p1ss about with the speech setting. Soon as it activated, it refused to let me turn it off or make any other adjustments. Then two mins later my screen decides to go black never to return.

So plugged the little tike up to iTunes and clicked on the access tab so as to deactivate the speech thingy. Next min, it's working fine again. ****e thy self was an understatement.

So does anyone know if this is supposed to happen with this program or was it simply down to being a buggy app ?.

Cheers

KC
That feature is for blind users. It's not a bug.
__________________
I <3 
M87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 08:48 AM   #16
rbtlc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
ipad going black

thanks for the idea of holding the home button and power button at the same time it is working great now.
rbtlc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:17 AM   #17
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Couldn't you just have clicked restore and went about your business for 20mins and then picked it up to check if it was back on? That was more trouble than packing it up and bringing back to the store?? WOW!
Defender2010 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 04:39 PM   #18
Hukumhard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
iPad goes black

No comment on foregoing.
I had same problem and none of the above suggestions worked.
I went to ITunes as if to sync and found an option to allow iTunes to reset the iPad to factory default settings while backing up,all stored data, apps etc. I followed the instructions and that worked the problem. It took about an hour or so. There will be intervals when you wander if anything is going on. Be patient. It worked for me.
Hope this helps someone.
Hukumhard
Hukumhard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 09:54 AM   #19
preyan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
It's what happens when you close your eyes or blink
preyan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 09:22 AM   #20
ITALIAN9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Plugged the little tike up to iTunes and clicked on the access tab so as to deactivate the speech thingy.Why you said that it feature is for blind users.[img]****************65pFOd[/img]
ITALIAN9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 09:28 AM   #21
L T
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
This happened to my iPad mini yesterday, I was seeing how it could handle apps loading. I went through my home screen opening all my apps 1 after the other. The screen went black, Apple logo appeared and then it went straight to the lock screen.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" 2013 iPhone 5 16GB iPad air 32GB 3G
L T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 01:42 PM   #22
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahya4k View Post
Since they didnt hav the software at hand and the process takes time to complete, they told me to come back on thursday to pick it up.

Oh well...
What shop? It doesn't take days to do restore and reinstall even if you have to download the software. Half an hour, hour tops.

Sounds like someone went to a third party that wanted to jack you with some labor fees.

Folks be careful of this kind of thing. There are shops that try those kind of stunts. If you find one and they claim to be an Apple Authorized shop, report them to Apple.
charlituna is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac screen going black for no reason Dr. McKay iMac 6 Nov 20, 2012 05:43 AM
Light goes bright for no reason? CalebWynn MacBook Pro 0 Jul 2, 2011 07:42 PM
My memory goes down for no reason? iPowers OS X 0 Apr 5, 2009 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC