Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2004, 10:58 AM   #1
TEST4ECHO
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Don't Laugh

Ok you can laugh since I do. I recently took over a job at my company that required I now how to use Mac/Apple computers. I know nothing about them. Fortunate for me it my job is to repalce the few Macs we have. My problem is the oldest of our computer that ran an outdated machine that I am currently building a PC replacement for, uses an apple 2e. It has a 5 1/4 floppy drive. I need to move the data from it's stored 5 1/2 in disk a 3 1/4 in order to move it to the current Mac. Then later to data storage on a PC.

So my question. I have found several Apple 5 1/2 in external drives on e-bay, but none of my apples have 3 drives but my Macs do. So is an Apple drive compatible with a MAC computer?

Jeff
TEST4ECHO is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 11:09 AM   #2
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Sorry, had to get that out. You have old Apple //e computers THAT YOU STILL USE?! Wow! Who knows, those might even be worth something.

I don't know that you can use a disk written on a //e with a Mac, but it's worth a try. It will probably work.

Otherwise, you can download an Apple emulator for the PC. Never used it, can't vouch for it's effectiveness, but may be worth it to transfer data.
__________________
Think. Then post.
emw is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 12:01 PM   #3
AmigoMac
macrumors 68020
 
AmigoMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: l'Allemagne
aren't the disks 5 1/4 , 3 1/2 ?
__________________
No Mac no fun...
AmigoMac is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 12:55 PM   #4
wHo_tHe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: :: sfbay.ca :: All bay, all day.
And why are you replacing the Macs with PCs??

Apple II-series hardware is basically incompatible with Macs, even old ones.

But don't worry. Your task isn't impossible. You'll need to spend a little bit of money, though, on some old hardware, namely a 3 1/2" drive (and maybe a controller card) for your IIe, and possibly an older Mac with a floppy drive to read the data. Once it's on even a System 7-era Mac, you can re-write the data to new floppies and use a USB floppy drive to move the flies over, or network the old Mac and move them off that way.

Do you know if the files are stored in Dos 3.3 or ProDOS format? I'm pretty sure ProDOS disks at least were readable at least through Mac OS 8 or 9, and I'm not sure about X. 3.3 I'm less sure about, but maybe someone can chime in.

I'd presume less than $500 in hardware will give you a workable solution to your problem. If there's valuable data there, it will be well worth it.
wHo_tHe is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 01:00 PM   #5
wHo_tHe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: :: sfbay.ca :: All bay, all day.
Oh, and here's a better link for Apple II emulators:

http://www.emulation.net/apple2/
wHo_tHe is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 01:24 PM   #6
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigoMac
aren't the disks 5 1/4 , 3 1/2 ?
Aww man, I was going to rag on him for that one.
jared_kipe is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 02:02 PM   #7
sgarringer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEST4ECHO
Ok you can laugh since I do. I recently took over a job at my company that required I now how to use Mac/Apple computers. I know nothing about them. Fortunate for me it my job is to repalce the few Macs we have. My problem is the oldest of our computer that ran an outdated machine that I am currently building a PC replacement for, uses an apple 2e. It has a 5 1/4 floppy drive. I need to move the data from it's stored 5 1/2 in disk a 3 1/4 in order to move it to the current Mac. Then later to data storage on a PC.

So my question. I have found several Apple 5 1/2 in external drives on e-bay, but none of my apples have 3 drives but my Macs do. So is an Apple drive compatible with a MAC computer?

Jeff
I'll never understand why companies do this. We replaced all of our dumb terminals with P4 PCs at the last job I had, and while the dumb terminals NEVER crashed the PCs go down weekly.

If it ain't broke...
sgarringer is offline   0
Old Nov 19, 2004, 03:09 PM   #8
*Y*
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
______________________don't try to fix it!!
*Y* is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
don't laugh..how do you copy and paste without having to go up to edit? wishmaster Mac Basics and Help 5 Feb 4, 2009 12:48 PM
don't laugh to much....... mocman Design and Graphics 86 Apr 28, 2008 07:19 PM
Don't laugh, but...iMac G3?? stevep Buying Tips and Advice 43 Feb 7, 2007 03:26 PM
Don't laugh... Philips Keychain Camera Driver? EMKoper Digital Photography 9 Nov 13, 2006 06:10 PM
Don't Laugh. AOL Mail Extraction? reed23 Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 8, 2006 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC