Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2004, 10:46 PM   #1
MrMacMan
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
iTunes Freezes when Open when iPod connected.

So I plug in my iPod, open up iTunes.

:beachball:

... hmmm

I right click iTunes, its frozen, though it didn't show that the application didn't respond right away, it took a whole 3 minutes for that menu to open, so I force quit it.


When iTunes is tried to open when my iPod is not connected there is no problem, iTunes can open and play regularly.

Once I plug the iPod in and iTunes is already open, it goes through the same thing, it freezes up.


Anyone know what the problem is?

--MrMacMan
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2004, 11:36 PM   #2
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
i had a similar problem, including the ipod not mounting. the problem was the PCI firewire card i had installed, even if that's not how i'd plugged in my ipod.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2004, 12:23 AM   #3
aplasticspork
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle Wa.
Send a message via AIM to aplasticspork
might be unrelated, but i had about 7 kernel panics in the space of 30 minutes whenever i would plug in my ipod. i solved the problem by repairing the ipod hard drive with disk utility. it had a lot of errors
--andrzej
aplasticspork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2004, 12:23 PM   #4
varmit
macrumors 68000
 
varmit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
If you have any other Firewire things pluged in, unplug them. Especially if it is an iSite. It conflicts still for some reason on some macs. It happens on my mac too.
varmit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2004, 10:54 PM   #5
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Yeah I don't have any other Firewire devices connected to my computer.

I'll check out disk util tho.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 04:35 PM   #6
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Disk util showed nothing wrong...



Advice?
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 06:41 PM   #7
tech4all
macrumors 68030
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Just some thoughts....

....maybe if you restored the iPod? Repair permissions? Latest version of iTunes?....
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 08:04 PM   #8
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Restoration? Doesn't that wipe the drive clean (can't do it, I have songs on the iPod that were somehow deleted on my computer itself)

I tried repairing, but it said the drive was fine. (permissions are only for Mac Os X systems, which the iPod doesn't have)


I just got 4.7 ... and its the latest.


I had 4.6 and it didn't work then either.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 08:36 PM   #9
MacAficionado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: An awesome place
This happenned to me this past weekend, I did everything said here, I changed the cable and all is fine now.

Hopefully that is all it is for you.
__________________
17" iMac Intel Core Duo 1.5Gb RAM
MacAficionado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 09:31 PM   #10
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Changed what cable?

The firewire cable for the iPod looks good...
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 09:50 PM   #11
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Help please?


I can't upload my new songs...
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 10:13 PM   #12
tech4all
macrumors 68030
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMacman
Changed what cable?

The firewire cable for the iPod looks good...
It may look good, but it's not working (I think thats what you meant ). Not sure which iPod you have but if you have the non-dock one, try another firewire cable. If you do have a dockable iPod, you'll need another one of those. Maybe the cable has a cut in it that doesn't allow iTunes to fully see the iPod? Maybe the firewire port has a loose/bent pin? Have your tried updating the OS on the iPod itself? I'm not sure if that would erase the song or not though. Not sure if you keep you computer on all the time, but if so, try restarting it? One time iTunes wouldn't open when I connected my iPod and a restart fixed that. I know this must be frustrating for you, but I'm just saying things that I would do.

Best of luck to you
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 11:49 PM   #13
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
I believe I have a dock.

I put my iPod into small white basestation, which connects to firewire.

The cable is not broken or bent, and is connected properly.

I updated the iPod recently.

I've restarted my computer several times, no effect.


__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2004, 02:22 PM   #14
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Anyone please?

This is a really really annoying problem.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2004, 04:56 PM   #15
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
I hate triple posters.

Please please please.

Solution needed.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2004, 09:52 PM   #16
nosewaxx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
iTunes Freezes when Open when iPod connected

I've been having the same problem! I'm sure itís the PCI card. I thought it was the ipod, then I thought it was the software, then I thought it was the cable... But all of these things have been checked out. I can use my ipod on other machines with the same version software using the same cable. The only thing I'm not using on the other machines is the firewire card. I haven't been able to solve this problem with the card so I can use it on my machine yet.. But this should narrow it down a little bit'. If anyone knows why this is happening, pls drop a line'
nosewaxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2004, 10:56 PM   #17
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
The firewire port is busted?


Anyone else know more info?
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2004, 11:07 PM   #18
Pittsax
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I had a similar problem as well. I think the problem is from when I updated my OS to 10.3.6. Someone on the board sent me to the apple website where I downloaded the combo update. Once I did that, everything seemed to run fine.

Here's the link:

http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...te_10_3_6.html
Pittsax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2004, 03:41 PM   #19
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
...

But I'm on 10.2.7

__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2004, 04:08 PM   #20
nosewaxx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I just got a new card and tried to open up iTunes and the same thing happened (just so you know, I'm using a PC). Someone recommended using EphPod, so I downloaded that program and tried using it with my iPod.

EphPod and my IEEE card are happy together . No crashes, and the same features as iTunes (minus the nice look of iTunes). I have no idea why iTunes wont work with this machine and IEEE card, while working well with my other machines, but EphPod is just as good, and its free: ww.ephpod.com.. Let us know what happens'.
nosewaxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2004, 08:12 PM   #21
MrMacMan
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
...

So why is this problem happening.

So far I got:

If you have a windows or Linux comp, I have a fix for you.

If you use a mac, do the steps you already said you did, and do them again.


Where does this leave me again?
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2008, 11:31 AM   #22
garrxxx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
this is so dumb

ok well i had this same thing happen to me. i downloaded itunes whatever and ipod would cause itunes to freeze. i tried a ton of stuff and even reset my ipod and had everything deleted which i thought worked and it came up on itunes and didnt freeze. but then i bought some more stuff and added them to my ipod and it was still fine until i unplugged and tried to plug it back and the same old thing happened. then i decided to just try to download the older version of itunes i had that worked. so i searched old itunes downloads and found a list of em and downloaded one and now i can connect my ipod with itunes again finally. GOD, freakin apple is retarded...yeah so just try to find the older version of itunes to download. it should work.
garrxxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2009, 01:02 AM   #23
BadNumberBoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
So could you please tell me which itunes version you're using ? I want the latest but free-bug version
BadNumberBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes (new Mac) freezes when I connect old iPod swedefish Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 24, 2011 02:41 AM
itunes freezes when connecting iphone/ipod Assman Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 31, 2011 02:16 PM
Itunes freezes when connecting Iphone/Ipod Axelq iPhone 0 Jan 19, 2011 02:49 PM
Itunes freezes when Ipod Video is connected snowman65 iPod 1 Mar 3, 2009 09:21 PM
iTunes Freezing when connecting my iPod. Xjett iPod 2 Aug 2, 2008 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC