05.19.03 it all changes

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by britboy, May 14, 2003.

  1. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
  2. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #2
    Looks like more "Matrix" hype. Or maybe they're just copying it. Whatever it is, it's pompous and pretentious.
     
  3. Tomasz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    Berkeley, California
    #3
    It looks like gromacs is the streaming word in the film.... but i could just be seeing things.
     
  4. britboy thread starter macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #4

    I somehow doubt that it's anything directly linked to the matrix. 'Reloaded' comes out in the states tomorrow (the 15th), whereas the date from stanford's banner is the 19th.

    Someone's probably just having some fun and was allowed a bit of leeway when designing this.
     
  5. maradong macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #5
    I hope you are right, i really am not interesting in making a trip through the country to install everywhere a new client.:( But sooner or later it s what s gonna happen.
     
  6. noel4r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  7. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    sorry if i sound stupid by saying this, but i don't get it. i understand it has something to do with the matrix, but i don't get the rest. why is 19th?
     
  8. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #8
    it's for folding. a similar banner is on my individual folding stats page.

    plus, you can see folding@home in the flash thingy linked to in the first post.

    so i'm guessing it's a folding software release for that date.
     
  9. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    ok thanks for clearing that up.:D
     
  10. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    We already have gromacs via -advmethods, so I'm not sure this is gromacs related...
     
  11. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #11
    All of them are gromac?

    Or maybe they acually made the code better, maybe folding update?

    I doubt its folding v3...

    BTW, bigger= better.
    You can see gromac in there.
     
  12. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    True, they are not all gromacs. They are randomly assigned.

    Actually, it would be v4, wouldn't it?
     
  13. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #13
    what are gromacs?
     
  14. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    Gromacs is a diiferent core from the standard (Tinker) one that is used by the F@H clients.

    It is supposed to enable Altivec processing on Mac clients.

    There's quite a bit of discussion about it here.
     
  15. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #15
    oi. i should get that for my pmac. thanks for the link.
     
  16. britboy thread starter macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #16

    True, you *can* access gromacs, but it requires a little twiddling. Perhaps the 19.5 release will bring it to everyone else, who perhaps isn't quite as comfortable in terminal.

    Or perhaps what you currently get is a beta test, and we're about to see the final released? Whatever though, it'll be nice if this really does bring more power :)
     
  17. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #17
    Absolutely. My interest is definitely piqued...
     
  18. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #18
    I'm thinking its the gromac 2

    key words in the animation

    foldiing@homecoregromaccyou!

    2coregromac

    Looks like an update using the Matrix reference due to timeliness of the new movie release.

    D
     
  19. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #19
    So basically folding will get Altivec support?

    Well that's good. :)
     
  20. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #20

    You missed a couple of important letters:

    sse2coregromac

    So definitely optimized for PCs (at least)...
     
  21. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #21
    and?

    okay, it's 5.19.03. where's my new happy?
     
  22. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #22
  23. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #23
    Re: Re: and?

    "the long awaited sequel is finally here."

    uhhhh... is it?

    i found this faq

    that's good, but i'm not sure how to check to see if i've got it, or if i'm even supposed to have it now. hm.
     
  24. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #24
    Check your FAHlog.txt and see if you've got "Folding@home Gromacs Core" at the top of the current WU.
     
  25. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #25
    [04:50:30] Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.47 (June 14, 2002)

    doesn't look like it. but it d/loaded version 3.25 about half an hour ago. it was 3.24. dunno if that makes a difference.

    oh, and i'm running GUI client. don't know if _that_ makes a difference.
     

Share This Page