128mb of VRAM or 256mb of VRAM on a MBP? Plus other questions....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SavageLLama77, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. SavageLLama77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I plan on buying a MBP. I also plan to connect it to a 30'' ACD. I am not sure which configuration of MBP to get to run this giant display. Note that I don't plan on running any professional applications. Just Mail, iWork, Microsoft Office, and iTunes (all running at the same time). But my most important application is SAFARI. I love to have lots and lots of open tabs and videos running. Smooth streaming video is priority one. as well as SMOOTH 1080p video. Given this information, if I connect my MBP to a 30'' display, will I need 128mb of VRAM or 256mb of VRAM? What are the effects of VRAM or lack thereof (sp?)? What is VRAM???? Thanks!
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    vram is video ram in the video card. Since your running a 30 inch screen and want 1080p video....i think you need all the help you can get. my 2 cents.
     
  3. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
  4. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    Get 256MB To Be On The Safe Side

    I concurr. Why scrimp on video ram when it costs only a few dollars more to have the most offered?
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
  6. SavageLLama77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #6
    But there's a $500 price difference between the 2.16ghz 128mbVRAM MBP and the 2.33ghz 256mbVRAM MBP...

    Please, could you elaborate a bit more? Please?
     
  7. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #7
    You've gotta share that video ram with a 30"screen so get the 256 model

    Sounds like you don't want to spend that extra $500. So don't. You'll be OK. 128MB Video RAM is still minimum for HD playback at 1920 x 1080 but on the 30" it's gonna want more. and remember you are SHARING the ram between both screens. So I think you are going to have to buy the 256MB model to be safe.
     
  8. SavageLLama77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #8
    What if I closed the MBP screen?
     
  9. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    two screens? Just use it with the lid closed.
     
  10. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #10
    Than (If you have an external keyboard or mouse to wake it) it wil lbe like you are at a desktop computer with the laptop being the "desktop" id still sugust 256 mb to be on the safe side
    I have a macbook (not pro) and use an external 20" though it looks aqward I find it VERY nice to run extended desktop.
     
  11. JPP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #11
    Hey there

    But I thought that VRAM which is the graphics card RAM (am I right) has nothing whatsoever to do with video streaming at all. VRAM is to do with 3-D graphics and rendering and the like.

    I may be wrong so please correct me if so but I posted a query about 128 or 256 of VRAM and was told by loads of people on this board that for video VRAM made not difference at all...

    Best

    J
     
  12. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #12
    It isn't unless the "video" you're trying to view is massive. 3D work just happens to need a lot of vRAM because the video card needs to do a lot. I'm guessing 1080p is the same.

    And why do you have a 30" ACD if your most important app is Safari? Also, if you can afford a 30" ACD and a MBP, why are you worried about $500? There's no point in buying the craziest, top-of-the-line Apple gear and then skimp on the vRAM.
     
  13. JPP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #13
    So - can I just hijack this thread for a moment! Sorry! Are you guys saying that to play or manipulate HD video at 1080i or 1080p that the VRAM DOES make a difference? If that's the case I'm in a bit of a bind as I will be using a lot of HD video to watch and possibly manipulate but won't be doing any 3-D graphic work. So should I have gone for the 256???

    Oh LAWD!
     
  14. SavageLLama77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #14
    That's the thing, I can barely afford this setup. I wanted a 30'' because it would last me years and years as a great monitor, which means that I would want to spend as LITTLE as I can on this MBP. I just want to find a balance, I don't need all that 3D rendering pro apps power on the MBP. And I want the 30'' because I like the big screen:)
     
  15. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #15
    I wouldn't worry to much. The x1600 card is the most important thing..the extra vram is nice but the reason we're all saying to go for the 256 for this guy is due to his massive 30" screen.

    I think if you closed the lid you'd be ok for 1080p video. Open for everything else prob. Then again..i've never seen a mbp with a 30" screen so I really can't say for sure either way.
     
  16. zign macrumors 6502

    zign

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #16
    You could get yourself a 24" iMac with 2GB Ram and GeForce 7600 GT 256mb and a MacBook Pro if you decided to skip the 30".
     
  17. JPP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #17
    Thanks Freyqq!

    Best wishes

    J
     
  18. moreover macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #18
    or you could get a Dell 30in

    for around $1200 and use the money for the 256VRAM. Also note that you may get away tax free on a Dell but likely not on the 30in Apple, unless you get it elsewhere.
     

Share This Page