2 Hard Drives in an eMac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 76ShovelHead, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    76ShovelHead

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Floriduhh
    #1
    So I've had my eMac all apart for the past week in hopes of swapping the hard drive to a bigger one i have lying around.. Well, the CD ROM drive doesn't work anymore, so i decided to take it out today, and to my realization i found that the Optical drive has the exact same hook up as the Hard Drive does... So instead of putting the thing all back together just to take it all apart again, i was wondering will it work? will replacing the optical drive with a Hard Drive work? Thanks in advance :D
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    If configured in the same master slave configuration it should work just fine - plenty of people with professional macs stick HDDs in the Optical Bay, so cant see why it wouldnt work on the iMac or eMac.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    It will work OK, but do not use it as boot drive. Optical drive is on ATA 33 controller, HDD is on ATA 100 (eMacs have 2 independent ATA controllers).
     
  4. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    Does the 100mhz bus support 2 drives like the Powermac G4's? Then he could install 2 7,200 rpm drives on the faster bus and setup a software RAID0 for best performance.

    Otherwise using the slower ATA33 for a HDD would be fine if you are only using it as a storage device.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    I have definitely heard of people daisy-chaining several HDDs from the optical drive's ATA bus. Not sure how many drives the faster stock HDD bus can handle though.

    It's also worth pointing out that more HDDs mean more stress on the stock power supply. I'm sure it could hande two HDDs, but I'm not sure if the PSU has the juice for more than that.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #6
    What kind of optical drive goes in an eMac?

    Is it tray load or slot load?
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    eMac's use the PATA/IDE bus for their optical drives, they are full sized tray loading 3.5" desktop ones. The eMac can support four hard drives on it's PATA buses. Two on the optical and two on the HDD controller. The optical is ATA 33 and the HDD ATA 66 or 100, depending on the age of the eMac. You can use a faster, ATA 133, on the optical bus. But it'll be limited to ATA 33 speeds.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #8
    Desktop optical drives are 5.25". :) You might need a longer cable or a cable with 3 IDE connectors to daisy-chain from the ATA133 port.
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Opps, you're right, desktop drives are 5.25".

    eMac's don't have ATA133, it was part of an example of what would happen if a faster drive was used in one.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #10
    Jeez. And I don't even have the guts to open up my eMac to get to the damn HDD to replace it (It's dead)
     
  11. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    The HDDs are pretty deep in them. Its a fun weekend project. Just make sure you have a anti-hernia plan in place.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #12
    dont be afraid of taking the eMac apart , it sounds difficult , but actually is straightforward , just remember where all the screws inside have been, not that many to remember and hands away from the crt part ,as that crt holds a bit of a charge

    there are adapters available to fit a 3.5 hdd in the optical 5.25 bay very cheap to find on ebay

    i have 3 eMac's(1.42ghz) one is my ripper to get my entire dvd/cd collection on harddrives , and the other two have been converted with second harddrives in the optical bay so each of the 2 holds 2x750gb harddrives and acting as servers and for all the other tasks , one has a tv usb stick to record tv , and final cut in the other to cut out the tv ads ,while the ripper makes a backup of the finished film /tv show on dvd , just multitasking on a different level , but wasn't that apples slogan "think different"
     
  13. 666sheep, Jan 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    Possibly, if it's dual channel controller. I've never tried that.
    Some difficulties may happen with routing ATA ribbon from HDD bay to optical bay. HDD and optical drive (and their connectors) are on opposite sides of logic board. Much easier should be placing 2x 2.5" 7200 HDDs (with adapters) in HDD bay. In my 1.42 eMac I have 7200 WD BEKT (SATA with SATA->IDE adapter) in HDD bay and it's fast, much much faster than stock Seagate drive.
    I imagine how fast would perform 2 of those in SW RAID 0 :), but unfortunately I don't have second one to try.

    Whole job shouldn't take more than half an hour. For the first time, 45 mins maybe :)

    Update:
    Leo Bodnar on his site confirmed that's possible to connect 2 drives to each IDE controller: http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/eMac/eMac-upgrade.html

    Another helpful (and well known) site with disassembly guide: http://www.wilko.com/emac/
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #14
    I took it apart some time ago to replace the Superdrive which had died, and that was no problem, and a few months back I was going to tackle the HDD, but I got about halfway in before I got nervous that I wouldn't be able to get the damn thing back together.

    It's something I'll have to get around to doing one day I guess, and if I ruin it, I ruin it, simple as that, not like the damn thing's worth much anyway.
     

Share This Page