640MB of Ram enough?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by iBunny, Apr 18, 2004.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    I still am debating on my mac purchase as some of you know. however I am waiting until i see the updates comming tomarrow. my question is, I was looking at iBook or Powerbook and was wondering. The iBook max ram is 640MB... is that enough?
    In my windows PC, I have 1GB of ram and love it. Best purchase I ever did... but thats running windows...

    I am not sure how OSX handles memory... and if it is enough to ensure a smooth fast computer expirance...

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    I don't own an iBook, but yes, I would say that 640 MB is enough. If, for some reason, it isn't enough for you, there are upgrades for 1GB of RAM. However, it is not supported by Apple and costs alot of $$$.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #3
    for basic and moderate tasks, 640MB will be plenty. If you have crazybig apps/files - 640 will be fine, but may be a little slow.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    1 GB iBook SO-DIMM . There's a link to crucial's site with a 1 Gb SO-DIMM. It's $425, which is the difference between an iBook and a powerbook.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    wow... thanks man, thats what I sorta was looking for.... :D But will it work for sure in the iBooks?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    Yes, it will work. Make sure that you scroll down to the bottom of the page and buy the SO-DIMM. Someone on these boards accidentally bought the regular old DIMM, lol.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    I never had a problem with my G3 iBook on 256MB. I've got 640 now and I really don't notice a difference unless I've got a lot of things open at once--and even then it's slight. So at the very worst you can "get by" with 640.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    well with what i will be doing... maybe you all can decide what i need and what i dont...

    I will have at all times have... iTunes open, Multiple instances of Internet, chat, MS word and encourage....

    then whatever program i will decide to be working on such as excel for File Maker pro 7.0.... or soundtrack... or even the iChat thing witht the video
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy part of the Pacific NW
    #9
    Well, according to no less an authority than Bill Gates: "640KB ought to be enough for anybody".

    Oh, wait, you said MEGAbytes... nevermind. :D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #10
    640 will be fine for what you're planning on doing- all at the same time...
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #11
    seriously, for what you want to do, there is NO reason to buy a super expensive 1GB stick. Even that would give you 1GB plus whatever is preloaded in the other slot - maybe 1.25GB - that is ridiculous for your needs. Pop in another 512MB at most and you'll be fine.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #12
    i am running an 800 mhz ibook g3 with 640mb, and it run just wonderfully. if you think the computer is up to the tasks you want to throw at it, 640 should be plenty for ya.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    germany
    #13
    Actually, no.
    At least Crucial Europe told me it won't. They said iit will fit, but then only 512MB will be recognized. They even gave me the exact technical reason, if I remember correctly it was somehting about the RAMs density per chip, I will look it up when I have access to my home computer again(which will be about Tue.)

    I usually work all day with Illustrator, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Xpress, Flash etc..., and there is a speed bump compared to 640MB noticed when e.g. opening large tiffs (20MB+) or having all of the above mentioned apps running at once.
    HOWEVER 640 will be ABSOLUTELY sufficient for normal tasks, so think about what you will actually be doing before spending the money.

    best,
    Phil
     

    Attached Files:

  14. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #14
    I've heard that people have had success putting a gig in an iBook G4. That being said, if the 1 GB stick doesn't work, he can return it to crucial....
     
  15. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #15
    in a matter of weeks i went from 128mb to 256mb to 384mb in my iBook G3, running 10.3.3. Its just getting better and better. But still slow.
    Let me just say that imho neither 128mb nor 256mb should be the OS X minimum (128 is bare minimum, 256 is recommended minimum), 512 should be :\

    If I were you i'd get the 1 gig stick, because I still think 384mb sucks. I'm looking for cheap deals on 512mb/1gb sticks for my iBook now :)
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #16
    The price difference between 512 and 1GB is still an awful lot. If it were roughly twice the price of 512, that would be one thing. As before with whatever is preloaded - adding 1GB is serious overkill for most users. If a 512 is added to 128 - that will run extremely well.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #17
    Other World Computing has a 1GB stick for $350. I've bought all of my RAM from them... it's all worked well save one, and they quickly and painlessly replaced that one bad stick. That 1GB stick is here:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/Catalog_Item.cfm?ID=6114&Item=OWC2100DDRSO1GB
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    kirk26

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #18
    You might be able to open Safari and browse the internet.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #19
    is that really all? funny, because on my machine (with 640mb) i constantly leave open about 8 apps (including safari, word, and photoshop) and very rarely run into noticeable slowdowns.

    if you're going to be negative, at least be more informative/constructive.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    MacRAND

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ USA
    #20
    512mb RAM for G3 iBook is fine

    I agree with baby duck monge
    The 512mb I bought from Fry's and installed myself for 640 total made a serious difference when I replaced the 128mb chip they gave me free when I bought my 700MHz iBook. Do it.

    I have also replaced the 4200 rpm 30GB hd with an Hitachi/IBM Travelstar 7200 rpm 60 GB and it rocks!
    While you can easily install RAM yourself,
    get a pro to replace the HD if you decide to do it, too many things can (and did for me) go wrong.
     

Share This Page