A8 Chip From 4.7-Inch iPhone 6 Appears to Carry 1 GB of RAM

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Last week, a wiring schematic said to be for the iPhone 6 was initially interpreted to be referring to the device's RAM, showing the same 1 GB of memory for the A8 as found in the current A7 chip. That was quickly determined to be an incorrect interpretation of component being shown in the schematic, however, and Apple's plans for RAM in the iPhone 6 have remained uncertain.

    A new photo leak from Feld & Volk [Instagram page] and Sonny Dickson showing an assembled logic board from the 4.7-inch iPhone 6 has revealed a number of pieces of information already, and it appears from one of the photos that the A8 chip on the board does indeed include 1 GB of LPDDR3 RAM.

    [​IMG]
    As pointed out by MacRumors forum member commander.data, a silk-screened part number on the A8 reveals that the package-on-package contains Hynix RAM. Based on Hynix's part number format, the character in the eighth position reveals the amount of RAM in the package, with an "8" denoting 8 Gb (1 GB) and a "B" denoting 16 Gb (2 GB). While it is a bit difficult to read the part number clearly given the distance and angle in the photo, our staff and several posters in our forum agree that the character very much appears to be an "8", indicating 1 GB of RAM.

    Article Link: A8 Chip From 4.7-Inch iPhone 6 Appears to Carry 1 GB of RAM
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
  3. macrumors 65816

    TroyBoy30

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
  5. macrumors 65816

    Trapezoid

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
  6. macrumors 601

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    That's highly disappointing, but maybe iOS 8 will introduce some of Mavericks memory compression technology.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
  8. macrumors 6502

    Dilster3k

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Location:
    Frankfurt, Germany
    #8
    Noooooooooooo! NoOoooOoo0oo00ooooo... Noooooooo. #
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #9
    So hope this is false!!! But it wouldn't surprise me with Apple!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    1GB to balance cost and functionality. must be magic in there.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    Unfortunate, but not actually surprising though.
     
  12. AngerDanger, Aug 29, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014

    macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #12
    I'm sure there could be a nice spin on this:

    "Enjoy the same, familiar one gigabyte of RAM experience that you've grown to love!"
    "One gigabyte of RAM per screen—just the way it was meant to be."
    "Get to the heart of your content more directly without all of that pesky, quickly accessed memory."
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #13
    As disappointed as I am, it's important to note that the iPhone operates fine on 1 GB. It's really the iPad that needs more for safari. But I agree, this will hold the iPhone back from becoming more than it is currently. Software can only be so advanced when running with limited RAM.

    If Apple keeps being stingy on RAM, it would be really nice if virtual memory was added to iOS.
     
  14. HobeSoundDarryl, Aug 29, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014

    macrumors 601

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #14
    First obvious "hold back" for the 6s?

    But hey: we're going to get "thinner" again! ;)
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    SMIDG3T

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #15
    1GB of RAM on an iPhone is no issue. On an iPad, it's an issue.

    Luckily, I only have the iPhone so this doesn't bother me!
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #16
    It actually already includes that technology in iOS 7.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #17
    Can't give customers 2 GB ram, cause the incremental cost of that extra GB of ram would ruin the margins, and shareholders would not be happy.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Sven11

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
  19. macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Between this and the 16GB of storage, I feel Tim Cook is a miser.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
  21. macrumors 601

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #21
    I wasn't aware of that. Then i wonder why the iPad Air's can't hold more than one or two Safari tabs. (I don't own one, but many on this forum complain about it).
     
  22. macrumors G5

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #22
    How many people run into RAM issues with their phone? I have no issues with my 5s but my iPad Air is another story. That's what needs more RAM.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
  24. macrumors 601

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #24
    So would there be any precedence of Apple releasing an alternate A-series chip about one month after rolling out a new one so that the coming iPads can go to 2GB while these new iPhones stay at 1GB.

    Or do we see this as it implies: that the new iPads will use the same chip?
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013

Share This Page