Adding "Quit" Item to Finder?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diomedes, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. Diomedes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Does anyone know of the command to issue in Terminal to provide the Finder with a "Quit" menu item?
     
  2. stronghand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    So Cal
    #2
    to add:
    defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem 1

    to remove:
    defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem 0
     
  3. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #3
    The app Cocktail can add the menu item (among doing other things)
     
  4. King Crimson macrumors member

    King Crimson

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    #4
    OnyX

    Check out OnyX, this app adds the QUIT command to the finder and also does other cool stuff :D
     
  5. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #5
    Why would one need the quit option in finder? :confused:
     
  6. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
  7. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #7
    Especially on slow computers, you don't need the Finder running while browsing, or sending email.

    I quit the Finder when I play games like Halo, or when using VPC. There's no point in having it running taking up system resources.
     
  8. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #8
    Worried for 0,5% while idle??? I can understand ... No I can't, but I can imagine that some people get bothered because of the little arrow under the icon the whole time :rollleyes: ...

    I just tried the quit option in finder and followed every single process and the only change as before said, was the little arrow under the icon, yeah, I know there are people running Photoshop with Panther in an iMac G3 233 MHz ;)
     
  9. Jalexster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    #9
    Let me guess, you reopen it by clicking it's icon on the Dock? Why did I post this? I know it's obvious, but if I'm gonna do it, I want to know how to reverse it.
     
  10. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #10
    Well, there's also the issue of memory. I'm (unfortunately) using windows, but quitting explorer frees up about 20megs of the sytem memory. I only have 384, but I have shared video memory of 48megs. So its not just the CPU time, as you say, but also the memory.
     
  11. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #11
    Some people also use Finder replacements such as Path Finder :rolleyes:
     
  12. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #12
    no idea that such a program existed... pathfinder, can you get rid off the finder icon in the dock once is disabled? if yes, what happen when you restart the computer? do you need to do the whole process again? does pathfinder it for you?
     
  13. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #13
    Disabling the finder gives me 4 MB free...
     
  14. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #14
    I didn't say *I* used it ;)

    Learn more here - http://www.cocoatech.com/pf.php
     
  15. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #15
    Yeah, I was reading about it but I personally have better ways for 34 bucks... looks promising though...
     
  16. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #16
    I use the Terminal when I have my Finder quit, since I almost always have it open.

    And quitting the Finder when your on a G4 iMac with 256MB RAM while running Photoshop does make a noticeable difference in speed.... some of us don't have enough moeny to buy 512 or 1GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page