Adding RAM to new Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by rayvrwc, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Valley Park, Missouri
    #1
    I recently read that if I wanted to add RAM to a Macbook that I should NOT buy it from Apple, but from some other vender because Apple charges too much. If that's the case, is it easy for a consumer to add RAM to one of the new Macbooks? If not, then maybe I should spend the extra $$$ and have Apple install it.

    If I can add RAM, does it void the warranty?

    If I do nothing more then surf the Internet, load photos, burn DVDs with Handbrake, do I need more then 2 GB of RAM?
     
  2. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    1. Its easy.

    2. No, it doesn't void the warranty.

    3. You probably don't need more.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #3
    Great - next question:

    I have a MacBook coming with 1 Gigs RAM.

    Can I get a 2 Gig chip so I can get 2.5 Gigs?

    Does having the different chips in the slots actually slow down graphics performance?
     
  4. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    1. Yes you can.

    2. Yes it will. 5-8% overall. But the improvement from more RAM will outweigh the loss of dual-channel mode.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #5
    I'll comment on the need for more...

    RAM, 2GB should be enough for those applications to all be running at the same time and have 5-6 webpages open. Unless you are doing heavy media/graphics via InDesign, Final Cut Express 4, or Logic Express 8, you shouldn't have a huge problem. Also, list your specs for us if you could. Thanks :cool:
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #6
    rayvrwc: You're fine

    For the usage you listed, you will be ABSOLUTELY FINE with the default config.

    later on, as OS X develops and craves more RAM, you can add it then, and for cheaper than now.


    For what you listed as usage, you really don't need more than 2GB
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #7
    I was thinking of upgrading my RAM. As of now I just use my MB for web surfing, and when I occasionally decide to do homework :rolleyes: In the future I hope to be doing some Graphic Design on it, but that's a few months away. Anywho, I'n thinking upgrading to 2 is good, right?

    Also, what is the best RAM. I've read some of the brands on here but I don't remember. And do I have to order online or are there some major chain stores (Fry's, Best Buy, etc.) that sell RAM?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #8
    gkarris

    ask around, but you'd be better with 2GB balanced (about 50 bucks from crucial.com or macmall or others 2x 1GB modules) than you would unbalanced RAM of 2GB + 528

    Unbalanced RAM setups are not recommended.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #9
    RAM is RAM is RAM


    there are not massive performance differences amongst RAM Modules, especially for the Macbook.

    anything from crucial.com or newegg should be fine--wherever you get the best price.

    (PS: Don't listen to the benchmark geeks on this one: they'll spend $60 of your money for something you'll never ever notice)
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #10
    2 gigs is good

    Your RAM looks good at 2 gigs... to me thats all you need ... but then again... you might
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #11
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qozs6KZoarA this is how its done (looks very easy, I have not done it myself so far though).

    I just ordered a Macbook Pro and bought 2GB ram of amazon (Kingston). I'd say go for an extra 2GB since ram is really very cheap right now.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    nickXedge

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #12
    Macsales.com

    Get OWC ram, its inexpensive and has a great reputation.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    kamm

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #13
    I'd love to see a link to these results... it sounds way too high.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #14
    Do they solder one of the dimms to the MOBO? Will ordering a blackbook with 2 x 1GB prevent me from ever installing 2x 2gb?
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #15
    Yes, it is. However, you will need a jeweler's phillips head screw driver. You will also need to push the new chips firmly into place. They come out easier than the go in.
     
  16. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    Barefeats did some test a while back but I can't find them now. The bottom line was that, overall, dual-channel added about 5% of a performance improvement. Video intensive things were about 8% since the MBs GPU used the system RAM. I confirmed the 5% on my iMacs using 2X1GB and 1X2GB and running Geekbench. Scores where about 5% lower on the 2GB single stick.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Matched_RAM_on_Intel_Macs

     
  17. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #17
    No.

    It's quite simple to add RAM to the MacBook.

    I upgraded my Santa Rosa (Late 2007) MacBook with 1GB (2x512MB) to 4GB (2X2GB).
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #18
    Thanks, that's good news.
     

Share This Page